Leave me a topic to write a post about. Serious, funny, anything in between. Comments are screened!
These will probably be done when I'm back from vacation. In related news, I'm in Florida, and it is AWESOME. Spent yesterday and today at Universal, tomorrow, Disney!
So, everyone else is weighing in on this, and while I don't have a whole lot of connection to Milliways anymore, I know there are still characters/players there who used to be very involved with me and mine.
Personally, I'd find it bizarre in the extreme to see another Caspian, Jack Twist, or Anne Shirley. They are far and away the characters I played most and was most involved with. My characters are largely retired-by-default since I haven't played there in so long, so theoretically I could move pretty much any of them over. Still, I can't see myself dropping back into the whirlpool that is Milliways with the same characters, although the chance to bring back Caspian from a retirement I never really wanted to push him into, or an alternate version...ahaha. That is tempting.
I guess this is really just me looking at this and saying....now that's interesting. If any of y'all who were closely involved with my characters have an opinion, I'd be happy to hear it.
Shamelessly stolen from wanderlustlover, partially because I am ashamed of giving her the same two characters over and over again. (Can I be blamed if I love Caspian and Marian?)
Comment with a pair of characters (one has to be mine) and I'll give you a paragraph from my character's POV on how they view yours.
All characters are fair game: OC's, Milliways, Outpost 12, I Did What With Who? and any others. I'm sitting here at work trying to pretend that if I drink enough water and stay warm enough I can avoid getting very sick, so I need a distraction!
In distinctly more awesome news, Z and I are going to DISNEYWORLD! I can't wait! We've never had a for real vacation together that wasn't due to needing to visit one of our families. It's going to be AMAZING.
I watched Trigun: Badlands Rumble today after giving it to my brother in his stocking, and I LOVED it. If you liked the show, you'll dig the movie. There's a lot less silliness, awesome action, and, of course, everybody's favorite black sheep priest being a badass and making snarky comments behind shades and a perpetual bent cigarette.
Aside from that, it's been a fabulously lazy vacation, where I recovered from work and baking by writing ALL OF THE WORDS and baking even more. So, win/win?
Being home always makes me realize how little I want to go back to Philadelphia, though. That's probably something I ought to think about a little more carefully, but...things are what they are, eh?
Oh, and I got like, every Sims 3 game and expansion. My family is a little concerned about the way I've been maniacally giggling at my computer.
Naturally, after spending last weekend baking and candy making, my mom figured the thing I want to do most once I got home for break was: bake a cake for Christmas Eve dinner. Traditionally we have this with our family friends, and we always bring a cookie platter, but Mum wanted a cake or something else to go along with it, so here I am, melting more chocolate and crumbling more chocolate cookies.
Okay, you got me, I love it!
Another family tradition is listening to the Clancy Brothers Christmas album. It's a mad collection of Irish Christmas songs, but they also, apparently, love to bake, and there's a recipe for an Irish Pudding in the CD cover, though their directions are a bit...unorthodox. For example, the first ingredient on the list is: two bottles of John Jameson Irish Whiskey. Not for the pudding! Well, a splash of it is. More to brace the baker for the task at hand, like so:
First, pour yourself a strong two fingers of the creature and sip it while you contemplate the ingredients and generally get yourself together. (Note: a member of the opposite sex is always nice to have around when making a pudding and there is enough whiskey to be thoroughly convivial.)
They seem to have the right idea to me! Now it's watching episodes of Father Ted with the brother while my cake bakes. Merry Christmas Eve eve!
I'm having so much fun getting treats together to send out in my holiday packages! Pandora oldies station + baking + pajamas = a good time for Lorna. I hope to have them all out in the mail on Monday! After that, it's up to the elves...
I wish Z were around to watch Christmas movies and be silly with me, but he's working, like he has been most nights for the last two weeks. It's great that he has so many events, but it's kind of lonely over here. Fortunately, I have Max to keep me company. When he's not sleeping, that is.
Leave a comment here and I'll pick five of your icons for you to explain, describe, or otherwise comment on.
And I thought this was adorable, so I'm stealing it from wanderlustlover:
Leave a ship here that I know, any ship (canon or AU, realized or unrealized), and I will tell you my opinion on:
who is the big spoon/little spoon what is their favorite non-sexual activity who uses all the hot water in the morning what they order from take out what is the most trivial thing they fight over who does most of the cleaning what has a season pass in their DVR who controls the netflix queue who calls up the super/landlord when the heat’s not working who steals the blankets who leaves their stuff around who remembers to buy the milk who remembers anniversaries
Ask one, ask both, put a different meme in the comments, whatever. I just feel like a little interaction.
Hmmm, I guess I should have an actual update, aside from just offering up baked goods, huh? (But seriously, if you want some, sign up!)
My life is being taken over by my submission for this. Come December 1st, I'll actually have time for other pursuits again. I have a list of shows to watch, including Earth 2 and Sanctuary, and a slew of presents to make. Christmas is going to be a handmade one, by and large, this year.
I'm getting back to the gym, starting tomorrow. I'm sniffing out patterns to modify for various COSPLAYS OF AWESOME (yes, I need the entire nine months til D*Con to make the one I'm thinking of). Writing writing writing. I've got plenty to read once I have time for that, too, though first I have to suffer through Shiver for my Writing for T(w)eens class. It is AWFUL.
I wish I had something super exciting to report, like moving or getting that fellowship or whatever, but nope. My life = super boring.
LJ has eaten this comment TWICE but I am determined. I fail so hard for not seeing this earlier, but I'm seeing it now, so I wanted to tell you that even though I'm sure my advice wouldn't be all…
Oh, L. That is a whole lot of difficult plus some awesome and a lot of change and potential and general scary and stress crammed down on you at once. I'm so sorry.
Comments
I want to second basically…