? ?
A lady of no particular repute
20 November 2011 @ 07:24 pm
Hello!

So I am playing a French woman in a partially-scripted Murder Mystery evening in a couple of weeks - the trouble is that while my half-arsed accent is consistent enough to pass muster, it is highly likely that some bastard will try to question me in French during the interrogation rounds. (We have three rounds where the suspects go up to audience tables and answer any question in-character.)

Can anybody give me a quick-and dirty phrase or two that I can use to acknowledge 'yes you're very clever, this character is indeed fluent, but we'll be doing this in English'? Some other characters also have sections in German, but we do at least have a fluent German-speaker on the production team. I don't want to resort to Babelfish!

What I would like to say:

I think this investigation should be conducted in English for the benefit of your fellow detectives, don't you?

Your accent is terrible.

I think we should speak English.

This is not relevant to the investigation.


At a pinch, I could just keep everything in English, but the whole idea is to immerse the audience as far as possible - even in an emergency we do not break character (there are 'assistant detectives' wandering about who intercede instead).

Any help will be met with utmost gratitude! And a favour back, if it's in my power - icons, drabbles, threads. I will try!

Cheers!
Tags:
 
 
A lady of no particular repute
08 July 2011 @ 01:34 pm
Thieved from apiphile.

Give me a character's name and I will tell you three reasons why it would be terrible to try to date them, have sex with them, or be in a long-term relationship with them.

For an extra challenge, pick characters you know I'm fond of. Anyone can tell you reasons not to date Cthulhu, after all.


Because I'm home from work today, and procrastinating rather than... doing anything at all.
Tags:
 
 
 
A lady of no particular repute
10 June 2011 @ 12:23 am
You know, I kind of love my Dad.

We were talking about social issues and how my brother's doing with his cricket and stuff (getting on well with his Surrey boys team, but having some problems with puberty and associated growth) when he comes out with this:

"You know, I wish I hadn't done the sexist thing and not thought to get you involved with the local cricket groups. I think you would have liked it, and you're good at that kind of thing, I've seen you, but I never made the connection to take you to one of the local groups. And the Surrey girls' team is doing so well! Sorry I didn't think of that."


... <3

Oh, Dad. My problems are not made of lacking sport. But I love that you come out with that kind of realisation entirely unprompted, truly I do.


----

Thought for the day:

I was often very upset by the indication that magic or religion was only available if the belief was already there. Just believe in [insert mystical force/deity/self here] and all will be well! Um, what if you are naturally wary, or have been burned in the past, or just have a scientific turn of mind, is that it - no magic for you?

I refuted this! If magic/religion is real, surely it must exist without the need for baseless belief? Therefore baseless belief does not equal magic, right?

And then I learned about the placebo effect, and that it was actually a thing.

And was very sad.

No magic for me, I guess?
 
 
A lady of no particular repute
23 March 2011 @ 06:52 pm
So yes, Love Never Dies: Unfortunately, Since We All Wish It Would Already.

Let's do that.

I have seven pages in my notebook, all written in the dark, and I will try to expand on each note to give you a flavour of just what bookelfe and I sat through. (Her review, for she is swifter and more industrious than I am, is here!)

IN FAIRNESS: On a certain level, I did actually have a good time at the show. The cast were excellent; even Christine's actress, who valiantly strove against some horribly written music. (Dear composers: Just because a singer can reach certain notes, does not mean she should constantly be doing it. Especially when the lyrics are kind of important and now really hard to understand.)

Also, if you name your musical after one singular song contained within, for the love of god, could it not be... boring? Seriously. MORE ON THAT LATER.

Review cut for length, incoherency and far too much punctuation!Collapse )


In conclusion:

Becca: Gustave has two Daddies and A ROBOT MOMMY. - So he has.

Come on, fess up. Who linked Andrew Lloyd Webber to the Pit of Voles?


EDIT: I cannot believe I just wrote 4,000 words about an Andrew Lloyd Webber Musical.
 
 
Current Mood: frustratedfrustrated
 
 
 
A lady of no particular repute
Christmas!

Thaaaaat happened. I've got the traditional lurgy, so I'm taking it easy. But I've managed to eat plenty, and the reduced drinking has probably been a bonus, health-wise, so it is OKAY.

And yesterday there was the Doctor Who Christmas special!

That has to have been easily the best episode I can remember for a long while. It was spooky and pretty and creepy, and really made headway on the issues that usually make me facepalm!

Let's ramble as I rewatch (and drink Peroni now I feel a bit steadier):

The Spoilers of Christmas PastCollapse )

Anyway.

Good form, show.



Halfway out of the dark.
 
 
 
A lady of no particular repute
27 July 2010 @ 11:17 am
So! Ye Olde Cousin (Stephen Fry Jr. to those of you that have met him) has started a petition to protest the closure of the UK Film Council.

(In case you don't believe me about him being a mini Fry, I copied his email to me here:

Dear heart,

If you're tweeting at the moment, you may have seen the petition I started yesterday to protest the closure of the UK Film Council. It's gained over 3700 members since 2pm yesterday, and BestForFilm is poised to go to the press with it.

I'm just a little worried that the campaign is losing momentum, and I'm desperate to keep it at the forefront of people's minds until we can launch it properly. With that in mind, I wondered if you'd mind mentioning it to people at work / spreading the word on Milliways? Just remind them we'd have no Christopher Nolan...

Hope you're well and the review passes muster. See you at the weekend!

Love,

J x
)

It's a good cause - and he has a point about Christopher Nolan. D: So please take a look if so inclined?

Thanks everyone!
Tags: ,
 
 
 
A lady of no particular repute
04 July 2010 @ 12:56 am
Ssssso.

Guess who just learned and performed a full-length musical without knowing a word beforehead in just over 24 hours with no sleep?

Guess who also thought it would be great to take an hour out to perform an entirely unrelated concert a few hours in to said rehearsal process?

Go on, GUESS.




All loud noises are now indistinguishable from the cast rehearsing and talking just out of earshot. It is driving me crazy.
 
 
Current Mood: exhaustedexhausted
 
 
A lady of no particular repute
18 June 2010 @ 08:56 pm
Ugh. Staying an hour and a half late at work on a Friday is nnnot great. But better I did that than freak out on Monday morning, I guess. I did not cry from frustration today, but it was a close-run thing.

OH WELL.

...My thirteen-year-old brother just asked if I would watch Glee with him tonight. AWWW. I kind of lucked out when he was born, I sometimes think.

Let's see - I might go audition for Little Shop of Horrors tomorrow. *Ponders* I was in it when I was fourteen, and I'd love to do it again. Trrrouble is, I got in last time because they needed two children, one boy and one girl. Still, no harm can come from auditioning, and god knows I need the practise. :S

I've been pretty busy with drama stuff recently, actually - I'm in the Murder Mystery of supreme poorly-written datedness, which is nevertheless one hell of a lot of fun since the cast all get on so well. Then there's the drama festival in two weeks - we're doing a musical medley half-hour slot on the Friday and then a twenty-four-hour musical directly after that which will be awesome, if deadly. That's probably enough to be going on with for now.

Hmm. Glee time, I think. Can't disappoint the brotherlet.
 
 
 
A lady of no particular repute
29 May 2010 @ 09:56 am
khdkhafshkjfk omg.

Heh. Sleep to laptop time ever decreases!

Ohhh, I'm not even really awake. Memetime!

Check my fandoms, my favorite characters, the pairings I like the most, my kinks, my fictional crushes, anything. Now, in a friendly and possibly teasing way, point out the obvious and not so obvious trends or fetishes you see in my tastes. Maybe I'm nuts for all vampire stories, or have a thing for men who smoke, or I'm fond for the tsundere archetype, or I'm into rival slash. Let's point out all of those you've noticed I tend to squee about during our friendship.

THREE-DAY WEEKEND! :DDDD
Tags:
 
 
A lady of no particular repute
03 May 2010 @ 12:06 am
Okay, so EVERYONE is doing this.

THE RP USERNAME MeME


BECAUSE ITS IS AWESOME.

Might take me a while to go around you guys, but I shall do my best!
Tags: