So, this is a bit of an incomplete list because I suck ass at keeping track of anything of my own on LJ. O_o;; Still, gotta start somewhere.
The WIPs, are just, well...I like starting things that I don't finish. They're there for the curious, but don't expect a lot of come of them. ( Read more...Collapse )
So! The awesomely amazing Q (or, maderr as she usually is known by) entered ARe's Just One Bite Contest. She wrote an awesome story that is totally made of win called Taste of a Werewolf. It's made it into the last round of voting and it totally deserves to win.
So, for those who haven't seen, holidaysmut comm is having an anniversary. mechante_fille and newtypeshadow have done a lot of planning and have decided to celebrate this milestone in style. :D
We turn four this year! W00t! So, in honor of that, we're having a Fourplay Festival! :D Starting this Thursday through Sunday (June 23-26) post a story (fic, comic, or art) to the comm to participate!
Not only is it fun to have all the stories to read, but there's a raffle as well. For each story (fic, comic, or art) that you submit, you get one entry into the raffle to win a $15.00 gift certificate to LT3: Less Than Three Press!
That ought to get you a few of the ebooks that you've been craving or, for those of you who have been putting off buying your favorite story in dead tree format, an extra $15.00 might finally be that little bit that helps you order what you've really wanted to see sitting on your shelves at home. ^_~
Do you think a romantic relationship can ever be equal or will one partner always love and/or compromise more than the other? Given the choice, would you rather be the one who loves more or is loved more?
??? How do you get into a romantic relationship and stay there if you're not equal and equally in love? Is this a trick question? Is it a Twilight thing? Because that's totally fiction, people. One person might be more demonstrative than the other, one person might have a more dominate or more outgoing personality, but again, if you're not both in it equally, it's not a relationship that's going to stand the test of time...
As for compromising...I was reading this article for the fun of it, and I think they have the right of it. When arguing, it comes down to a basic, 'do you want to be right, or do you want to love and be loved'. And I think it's completely right in that the end goal of any argument can't be in finding out who is 'right', because there are just too many shades of gray in most arguments between couples for it ever to be that clear cut. You'll make yourself nuts trying to paint it that black and white.
To the peeps who got me the St.Patrick's and Easter v-gifts,
You rock and they totally made my days when I got them. ^_^ Always a good way to start out a day. Seeing something cute and happy in your in box. <33333
Wanted to post, but have nothing of import to say.
Went clothes shopping with J on Sunday. Realized why it is that I hate clothes shopping. We went real upscale and did the Target thing. (Ooh! With a gift card that I'd found while cleaning from my sis-in-law. That she'd given us at Christmas...I also found $15 dollars. This is either proof that you can find good things while cleaning, or that we're just horribly unorganized pigs.)
I needed tops to wear to work this summer that 1) were long enough that I'm not giving everyone that lovely plumber shot when I bend over 2) did not make me look fat, frumpy or dumpy and 3) were not in some obnoxious super bright color. (Seriously? Who runs around in neon pink with lime green, orange and turquoise accent cardis? And really? Is there seriously a huge drive on the market for shirts that are completely see through? I don't know about you, but the last time I went looking for a good top, 'Mmm, this one just doesn't accurately show off my bra for the whole world to see' was not the first thought that came to mind...)
To show how much I severely dislike clothes shopping, I found one top I liked. I found one cardigan I liked. I bought the cardigan in black and in white. I bought the top in three different colors. Thus endth the need to buy summer work tops.
Well, I have a whole list of things that I want to get done today, so I better get to it.
I've been pretty silent lately. Mostly it's a case of not knowing what to say or knowing that most of what I want to say is just meaningless bitching about work, life or the universe in general and the thing about negativity is that it's often contagious.
So, you know, while bitching and venting can be cathartic, I try to use it sparingly these days? ^_^;;
In between reading all my CTNs (cheap trashy novels, because while they are junk food for the brain, I crave them and they have that salty sweet goodness, and well, what else is new? I like what I like.), I've been reading 1491 Last night's chapter should have been entitled "Smallpox comes, everyone dies". It's an interesting book and I don't fall asleep reading it like I did (constantly) while attempting to read Guns, Germs, and Steel.
"Nobody knows how many died during the pandemics of the 1770s and the 1780s, but even if one had a number it wouldn't begin to tally the impact. Disease turned whole societies to ash. Six Cree groups in western Canada disappeared after 1781; the Blackfoot nation, blasted by smallpox, sent peace emissaries to Shoshone bands, only to find that they had vanished. "The country to the south was empty and silent," Calloway wrote. So broken were the Omaha by disease that according to tradition they launched a deliberately suicidal attack against their enemies. Those who did not die quit their villages and became homeless wanderers." --1491, p.123
I like history. Even if I'm not all that great at it. Plus, it's usually good fodder for story thoughts.
-If you're still around/even visit livejournal - thanks! I am so happy that you tagged this! :D I've been searching for this prompt list for the better part of two days (which involved desperately…
Sometimes I wonder why I submit myself to the agony of rereading something when I know there's no more. T^T Then I think.. maybe it's been so long that I might get lucky... but mainly I just like…
OMG, Rachel, look! It's the birth of our friendship! <33333 Awww, this should be scrapbooked or something. You know, if I was one of those scrapbooking peeps. ^___^
Comments