unfinishedidea: Have been unavoidably detained by the world. (expect me when you see me)
...hi: I have pretty much not been on any kind of social media at all for the past two years since twitter imploded the first time around. On the one hand, I think it's done wonders for my mental health. On the other hand, I miss being part of a fannish community.

If I'm really being honest with myself, though, I've never been terribly good at building and maintaining close friendships online or being consistently active in fandom, so it's definitely rose-tinted nostalgia.

gateway drugs: I have somehow in the year of our lord 2025 gotten into Generation Kill. Specifically, Brad/Nate. Listen, I don't even fucking know. It was huge among many of my mutuals when the show first came out, and I had zero interest in it at the time. All I can say is that it's The Pitt's fault (speaking of: yes, I did binge all of it; yes, I do ship Robby/Jack; yes, I'm a little appalled that I appear to be in the Old Man Yaoi phase of my fannish life).

I am sure a ton of good fic has either disappeared into the ether (insert obligatory complaint about how whoever said nothing dies on the internet has never tried to find old fic for a long dead fandom) or is in the bowels of LJ, so if anyone has any non-AO3 recs, 👀. I am devouring pretty much everything on AO3.

I still don't really have any interest in watching the show or reading any of the books, so we'll see how long this obsession lasts.

not quite like riding a bike: uhhh, what else. I want to write fic?

Screenshot of Eleanor from The Good Place saying, 'Well, I tried to want to.'

In all seriousness, I do, but I never developed healthy methods of writing. Most everything I've written that I've ended up posting has been completed in either bouts of hypomanic productivity or under extreme stress due to deadlines.

I have a bajillion WIPs that I haven't worked on for years. I've been flirting with the idea of posting some 75% completed fics on and off for a while. No promises, though.

and now for something completely different: I've been obsessively watching this dance choreo on repeat. It's enthralling, mostly likely due to some combination of the song, the chemistry between Sean & Kaycee, and Kaycee's performance in general.

unfinishedidea: (Default)
YULETIDE NOMS ARE OPEN!!! Maybe my brain will stay in a good place, and I'll actually be able to participate this year.

There are so many fandoms I want to nominate, all of which I cannot think of. I used to keep a running list throughout the year and just didn't do that this year, because my brain has been all over the place. Nimona was definitely one of them. Oh, someone already nominated it, yesssssss.

boop

Sep. 11th, 2023 09:39 pm
unfinishedidea: Have been unavoidably detained by the world. (expect me when you see me)
I didn't mean to not post for three years, but, well, you know. Everything.

Lots of stuff has happened this year, half of it terrible, half of it great. May write about it more later. I've managed to adjust my sleep schedule so that I start getting tired around 9:30, 10, so I'm fading a bit.

Since the start of the pandemic, I've watched very, very few films in theaters. None in 2020 or 2021.

— 2022 —

• Everything Everywhere All at Once: I cried a lot and immediately bought it when it came out.

• Top Gun: Maverick: A friend wanted to see it, okay.

— 2023 —

• Dungeons & Dragons: Honor Among Thieves: Utterly delightful.

• Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse: I was not warned that this ended on a huge cliffhanger and so was VERY irked the first time I watched it. Still a great film.

• Barbie: Loved it. Exceeded all my expectations.

• Bottoms: Hilarious, and also way more violent than I was expecting (not in a bad way, just in a "wow, did not see that coming" way).

I've watched a bunch more not in theaters; may or may not write about it later.

I, like the majority of the fannish internet, have watched the second season of Good Omens, and while I didn't think it was good, exactly, it was entertaining, and I'm reading a ton of fic.
unfinishedidea: (Default)
WELL HOW ABOUT 2020, HUH?

I have read...no books. I have probably read several million words of fanfic, though—mostly CQL/MDZS and other MXTX fandoms, because I finally gave in earlier this year.

I'm going to try and do my end-of-the-year movie write-up because I did watch a fair amount of movies, though less than I would have expected for being stuck inside most of the year.

I tried getting back into [community profile] mini_wrimo this year and have been doing terribly, but I have written more than zero words, so I count it as a success. My stretch goal is to finish something before the end of the year. (Just one fanfic, self! Please.)
unfinishedidea: (Default)
I definitely haven't watched 23 new movies since my last movies post, but I think I've done reasonably well?

Drumroll... )

14 new movies and 17 total! Definitely respectable, considering my average was like two new movies a month before this. I'm going to try and squeeze at least one more in (I still need to see Knives Out, I do want to watch The Rise of Skywalker despite the very mixed things I've heard, and I have Jennifer's Body from Netflix DVD).
unfinishedidea: (Default)
One of the bingo squares for a reading challenge I'm doing is Book you last read in high school, which somehow led me to reading private LJ posts I wrote when I was seventeen: a traumatized, hormonal, unmedicated bundle of insecurity grappling with being in my first romantic/sexual relationship while simultaneously applying to college and living under my dad's emotionally abusive thumb. It's not quite as bad as watching a slow motion train wreck, but it's. It's a lot. The Urban Dictionary entry of Everything Happens So Much should have a picture of my teen self next to it.

I just want to go back say, things aren't going to get better for a long time, but you'll get there; I promise. (Also, you're not going to believe me now, but you're way too fucking good for him and he isn't worth your time or energy or emotions.)

Also, can I just say, holy shit I'm glad I'm not seventeen anymore. I've never more acutely felt relieved and grateful that I am 31 and a mostly functioning adult who pays bills and has a job and can just do pretty much whatever I want whenever I want. Sometimes you need a small reminder of what freedom feels like.
unfinishedidea: (Default)
I feel like I've been absolutely terrible about watching movies this year; I guess we'll see how many I have to pack into the next three and a half months.

I really need to find a movie buddy. )

Oof, only 17 new movies. What are the chances I actually get through 23 new movies by the end of the year?

*rewatch
**Fannish Movie Night movie
unfinishedidea: (Default)
It’s entirely possibly that I’m missing something, but I’m not sure why Rivers of London couldn’t have started in 2011? (Aside from Ben Aaronovitch’s say-so, of course). That would take care of the anachronisms in The Home Crowd Advantage, no?

Putting the rest of this behind a cut just in case, though there’s only the vaguest of spoilers through Broken Homes. )

Crossposted on tumblr.
unfinishedidea: (Default)
I told my therapist that I missed journaling, so I suppose I should put my money where my mouth is, though this may not be the best time to start again because my brain is currently pretty fried due to jet lag.

thing one: the jet lag is from being in Cape Town for a week and half for Alex & Alex's wedding. Cape Town was spectacular. It was surprisingly easy to adjust to the time difference, possibly because I had to get up early to go do planned things. It's been a lot rougher readjusting to Boston time for some reason. Possibly due to the thing where traveling west tends to trigger depression in bipolar folks.

thing two: quoting what I said on twitter: "My life is currently that distracted boyfriend meme where I'm the distracted boyfriend, Good Omens fandom (nice, large, prolific) is the outraged girlfriend, and Rivers of London fandom (tiny, rare, pretty dead) is the girl I'm checking out."

So yeah, I've fallen into a Rivers of London Peter/Nightingale hole, and I can't get out. Help. Their relationship just hits SO MANY of my id buttons. But of course they're a rarepair, which is something I seem to be masochistically drawn to. I have read all the good AO3 fic and have even resorted to reading abandoned WIPs, which I usually avoid like the plague.

There's also the thing where Beverly/Peter/Nightingale (in various combinations) seems to be getting more popular, which is fine, I have nothing against poly/OT3 relationships even if they're not my thing, but I'm currently listening to Broken Homes and idk if this is spoilery but I'll cut it anyway. )

Nightingale and Peter deserve being emotionally dense at each other and shouldn't inflict that on anyone else, is all I'm saying.

thing three: hmm, what else. I binge-watched all of Broadchurch, which was fantastic, and started watching New Who, which has been...an experience. I watched the first, hmm, five episodes? Some years ago. I didn't really get into it, but Good Omens has unfortunately launched me into having a David Tennant Moment in the year of our lord 2019, so.
unfinishedidea: Katara, Avatar: The Last Airbender (not amused)
I am still processing my Thoughts and Feelings about The Magicians, so this will probably mostly be word vomit.

Oh, yeah. Surprise! I watch The Magicians. I'm not sure I've talked about it at all on social media until now? I watched the first and second season in December and was too emotionally exhausted to watch/lost interest in watching more than the first episode of season 3—I think I was tired of Margo and Eliot fucking up ruling Fillory and making so many mystifyingly bad (and internally inconsistent/poorly written) decisions. I found the latter half of the second season clumsily written and probably the weakest section of the show, aside from the beginning of the first season. I'd figure I'd catch up at some point but didn't really think much about it.

But then last week my twitter timeline was full of people furious and upset about the season 4 finale, and I asked [twitter.com profile] ziusik and [twitter.com profile] traceynick to spoil me for the ending. I was intrigued despite myself and spent Saturday bingeing season 3 and Sunday bingeing season 4. Yeah, I know, I'm ridiculous.

Spoilers ahoy. )

Here are some articles/essays that I thought were great:

• On Fannishness, Intersectionality, & a Whole Other Grab-bag of Entitled Millennial Bullshit: An open letter to Sera Gamble, John McNamara, Henry Alonso Myers, and the rest of the creative team for SyFy’s The Magicians by greywash on Medium

• ‘The Magicians’ Finale Broke My Heart, and I’m Not Sure I Can Go Back by Anna Menta on Decider

• The Magicians' Season Finale Missed the Mark on a Huge Mental Health Issue by Amanda Prahl on Popsugar

• Quentin Coldwater is bisexual. Did anyone tell his writers? by Madelyn Glymour
unfinishedidea: (Default)
not to be an asshole, but: I couldn't have picked a better week to go to LA if I'd tried. I flew out at noon on Saturday, just in time to miss the snow-turned-rain-turned-ice hellscape that Boston/New England became.

E & I got an Airbnb in Hollywood (funny story about that later) and did some touristy things and some bumming around, which was perfect. I showed her a bunch of BuzzFeed Unsolved because I'm super predictable. She got me to watch the first two episodes of Sex Education, which I thoroughly enjoyed. Also, I mean, Gillian Anderson, c'mon.

We went to the Santa Monica Pier early Sunday morning, which I'd never been to, and then spent Monday morning at Universal Studios (but really at The Wizarding World of Harry Potter; we did a quick loop of the rest of the park, but Harry Potter was the only real reason we were there). I dropped her off at the airport yesterday morning (she didn't have enough vacation time to take the entire week off), and now I'm at Alex and Alex's place until Saturday.

THIS WAS NOT PLANNED: Sooooooo, after we left Universal, we went downtown because E wanted to see the upstairs of The Last Bookstore (she missed it the last time she'd been), and I was about to keel over from exhaustion, so I plopped down in one of the chairs and dicked around on the internet while waiting for her. I then had the brilliant idea to look up where the BuzzFeed office was, mostly for curiosity's sake, and it turned out that it was TWO BLOCKS AWAY FROM OUR AIRBNB. I may have died a little bit inside.

So, I am now unintentionally and uncomfortably familiar with the area immediately surrounding the BuzzFeed office. Ha ha ha, I definitely won't be using this knowledge for fic purposes.
unfinishedidea: (Default)
blast from the past: lmao, you guys, I started doing this meme (meme? meme used to have a different meaning in LJ/DW lingo, right? it's vaguely pinging something in my memory) over five years ago and never finished, but there's nothing I love more than completing ancient projects, so you're welcome I guess.

day nine / what are your worst habits?

1. My number one worst habit is probably still procrastination even though I'm no longer in school, although it doesn't affect me as much now that I don't have to write papers. Brain drugs have also helped.

2. I struggle with inertia in the physics sense (but metaphorically), i.e. task switching.

3. I don't get rid of as much stuff as I should. Some of this is due to growing up in a household where we didn't waste anything and reused as much as possible. Some of it is due to the fact that I like to obsessively categorize and organize things, but I never have enough time or energy to do all of the organizing that I want to, so stuff accumulates in piles in my room and is a constant low-grade annoyance. I've gotten better at just getting rid of shit as I've gotten older, but it's definitely still a work in progress.

I'm sure there are more, but those are the ones that come immediately to mind.

maybe I will finally write something????: Ever since Ryan posted this photo on his Instagram, I have been OBSESSED with the idea that Ryan texts it to Shane while Shane's out having drinks with coworkers/friends/his bro, and he promptly chokes on his beer and it becomes A Problem.

unfinishedidea: Have been unavoidably detained by the world. (expect me when you see me)
I think New Year's resolutions are bullshit, so here are my goals for 2019:

1. Read/listen to 30 new books / I think this is a realistic number; I read 27(ish) last year and definitely had the time to read/listen to more, but I took several month-long breaks.

2. Watch 40 new movies / I watched 41 new ones last year, so this should be attainable.

3. Participate in Yuletide / This will mostly depend on how my mental health is around September/October, but I haven't participated the last two years and really want to this year.

STRETCH GOALS /

3a. Post one non-Yuletide fic / The last time I posted a non-Yuletide fic was three years ago, christ.

3b. Participate in [livejournal.com profile] mini_wrimo / I managed to participate a number of times, but haven't the past few years.


4. Finish a vid / I have a few that I've been fiddling with on and off on for a while. I'm probably most motivated to finish my Hunger Games vid.

Okay, that's probably good for now. I'm looking at some goals I've set for previous years, and it's like, lol, I've lowered my standards (in a good way!) on some of these things because I've never managed to stick to them.
unfinishedidea: (Default)
If you follow me on twitter or tumblr, you may have noticed my recent crazed descent into the BuzzFeed Unsolved fandom. For the life of me, I can't remember when I started watching the show or how I stumbled upon it—I think it was late 2016-ish or early 2017-ish because the second season of True Crime hadn't been released yet? Hilariously, I wasn't fannish about it at all back then and was way more into the True Crime episodes than the Supernatural episodes (I think I only watched from 3 Horrifying Cases Of Ghosts And Demons to The Spirits Of The Whaley House before I stopped).

I'm pretty sure I first became aware of the fandom about a year ago when [archiveofourown.org profile] thefourthvine wrote a BuzzFeed: Worth It fic for Yuletide, and I thought, huh, I wonder if there's fic for Unsolved, which of course there was. I wasn't blown away by any of the ones I read at the time, though, so I kind of forgot about it until this past September when someone on my twitter feed linked to the sex pollen fic (🔒) by [archiveofourown.org profile] beethechange, and I promptly lost control of my life.

[personal profile] siria created an excellent primer here in which she states, "the best way to describe [Shane] is to imagine what John Sheppard would have been like if he'd been raised without any kind of masculinity issues, with Benton Fraser and Ray Kowalski as his dads," which is distressingly accurate.

Alternatively:



Recs! 7 Ryan/Shane fics/series. )

In conclusion: y'all should join me in this haunted dumpster.
unfinishedidea: (Default)
OOPS, I MISSED WRITING ABOUT A BUNCH OF MOVIES. Apparently the schedule view in Google Calendar doesn't show you the whole month, WHO KNEW.

Additional movies from January thru June )

July )

August )

September )

October )

November )

December )

ETA: Spider-Man: Homecoming: I watched this at some point this fall but forgot to put it on my calendar. I enjoyed it immensely! MJ is my fav, obviously. I do get the Tom Holland appeal now.

*Easy A: Also forgot to add this to my calendar, but I'm pretty sure I watched it during my sad autumn phase. Mostly holds up. Still love the writing.

*Jumanji: Welcome To The Jungle: Honestly this was the perfect sequel to Jumanji, which I was O B S E S S E D with when I was a kid.

The Kissing Booth: I can't remember when I watched this (and probably left it off my calendar in an attempt to forget that I'd watched it), but I think it was when I was trying to get rid of my TATBILB hangover. Not a good movie. I think I read somewhere that Noah Centineo was originally supposed to play Noah Flynn, which may have made the movie more enjoyable, but I definitely can't see him as anyone other than Peter Kavinsky now.

Nappily Ever After: Not great, but I like that it exists.

ETA 12/30/18: I CAN'T BELIEVE I FORGOT TO INCLUDE VENOM, which I have seen three (THREE) times this year. First time was with [personal profile] hermionesviolin and we both enjoyed it immensely, though I thought they could have skipped the first 45 minutes of the movie or so. Second time was with [personal profile] serenadestrong and [personal profile] thedeadparrot (I can't remember if anyone else came us?) and it was amazing to watch them experience it. Third time was yesterday at a special Fannish Movie Night with [profile] seascribe.

I'd been interested in seeing Venom since I saw the trailer earlier this year because it looked like it'd be full of body horror, which I'm super into, and also Tom Hardy, but then I saw a tweet about how it was basically a romcom and I was like, I need to see this IMMEDIATELY. I was not disappointed.

Total movies watched in 2018: 50
New movies: 41

Definitely respectable.

*rewatch
unfinishedidea: (Default)
YOU GUYS I SAW INTO THE SPIDER-VERSE LAST NIGHT AND IT WAS POSSIBLY MY VERY FAVORITEST MOVIE THAT I'VE SEEN THIS YEAR.

Also, Chris Pine gets more and more endearing/hilarious every year.

Obviously this means I have to review every single movie I've watched this year because 1) I love doing end-of-year posts!!! and 2) I am very out of practice re: writing DW posts and that's an easy way to crank out something.

January )

February )

March )

April )

May )

June )

July through December coming up later because I'm pretty sure my mom will straight up murder me if I don't go eat lunch right now.

*rewatch

Free stuff

Aug. 11th, 2018 08:57 pm
unfinishedidea: (Default)
ETA 08/26: Added kitchen table set.

ETA 08/19: Added pea coat.

Hi Boston locals! I am moving to a smaller apartment and need to get rid of some of my furniture. I figured I'd offer them to local fandom folks for free before trying to sell them on craigslist.

1. Twin-size sleeper sofa:

Condition: Good
Notes: I've only really been using it as a couch for the past three years, but I have slept on it before. Not the most comfortable mattress, but it'll do in a pinch. Comes with (washed) fitted and flat sheets.

Pictures under the cut. )

2. IKEA dining table and 4x chairs w/cushions

Condition: Fair
Notes: I've had the set for about seven years and it's definitely seen some use.

Picture under the cut. )

3. Catit Flower Fountain

Condition: Like new
Notes: See Wirecutter review here. It's missing the yellow cap, but otherwise is fairly new.


4. Black pea coat (M)

Condition: Like new
Notes: I've worn this maaaaaaybe once, and it is too small for me now.

Picture under the cut. )

Everything needs to be gone by August 31 (but ideally before August 18). Please bring a friend if you'd like the couch or the table/chairs.
unfinishedidea: (Default)
I have been so awful about being present on DW this year. I used to be semi-good about updating and reading people's posts, but ever since I had my major depressive episode in mid to late 2015, I haven't really had the energy or mental capacity to post regularly. Even though I want to! Even though I miss talking to people and being active in fandom.

CW: mental health stuff )

Part of it is also that I fell out of hockey RPF in a big way, and there wasn't a fandom that took its place. And I miss the style of writing that was popular back in LJ times? I am just not super into a lot of the fic that's being written nowadays, with the exception of new stuff from authors that I've been following for years.

Anyway, I should do a goals update in a separate post since this one is long enough. Things have happened! Books have been read! Movies and TV shows have been watched! Etc., etc.
unfinishedidea: (Default)
I am currently in L.A. for my annual get-the-fuck-outta-Boston-when-it's-cold-and-snowy trip to visit Alex, except IT'S CURRENTLY COLDER IN L.A. THAN BOSTON. >:( Don't get me wrong, I'm really enjoying the 50° weather here right now, but goddamn.

We watched Moonlight on Saturday, and I was -- enchanted? Deeply moved? It's so, so beautiful. I wasn't expecting to like it as much as I did: I was told that it was slow, and I don't do terribly well with slow movies in theaters, so I was waiting for it to be released on Netflix or DVD. But Alex had a screener copy, because, you know, L.A., and her friends are in guilds and other fancy things. (I think this may have been the first time I've watched a legitimate screener, as opposed to one acquired via the interwebs.)

Anyway. I absolutely loved it and want to watch it again. (Note: I started writing this post on Saturday, which is when I actually arrived in L.A., but since I procrastinated so long and the Oscars were last night, I just wanted to add on: HAHAHAHAHAHA.)

Sunday night we went to see Game of Thrones: The Musical, which some of Alex's friends wrote/directed, and it was actually really funny. I didn't quite know what to expect, but it was irreverent and silly and I laughed a bunch.

Yesterday we went to a flea market and I got super absorbed at a stall that was selling old/found postcards and photos. I've never looked through found photographs before; it was...an interesting experience. Sad isn't quite the right word, but I'm not sure there is one word to describe how I was feeling. Wondering about the history of the photos, who these people were, who took them, how they got to this plastic bin at a flea market in the parking lot of a high school in L.A. There were slides and film negatives and Polaroids. Sonder might be the closest.

Then we went to Daiso (*____*), which I'm very glad doesn't exist in Boston because I'd spend all my money there, and a REVOLVING SUSHI BAR, which was magical. It's also probably a good thing that those also don't exist in Boston.