[travel] canada | when it's clear

[el] camino | “tell my heart i told you so...”

OMFG.

Is there even anyone left here to flail with me?

...

I can’t remember how to hide my spoilers so that’s all I can say. For now.

Not that I have words just yet, anyway.
[ga] mere + cris + izzie |

[real life] and again | "in a cab on a weeknight..."

It's a pretty miserable day here today, but a good day to drop back into LJ.


I'm still on University holidays and only working the same day and a half that I was during the teaching year as that's my contract these days. It means lots of spare time. Last week I re-grouted the shower in my ensuite. The excitement is real.

OH! But for real excitement, I PASSED FIRST YEAR! I didn't know that for sure last time I posted, but I do now. We only get ungraded passes so until we get individualised exam feedback in a couple of weeks via email, I don't know how well I passed, but the beauty of ungraded passes means it actually also doesn't matter, so *shrug*. One foot in front of the other, I guess. We open up year two with cardio and resp. I shall attempt to channel my inner Cristina Yang.

Cristina screw beautiful.gif


I had been entertaining fanciful notions of getting back into fic writing over this break, but, LOL. #unlikely. I just... don't know how anymore? Perhaps the lack of a show and, more importantly, a fandom that captivates me in the way Grey's and TVD and Rookie Blue did once isn't helping either. Who knows.

If anyone knows of a ficathon or some other challenge happening at the moment, please link me and I will see what happens. Do these things still happen at LJ? Or are they the realm of tumblr or other locales these days? Or not even a thing at all?

[ga] george | regrets collect

[real life] hi | "and our slurring turned to crying"

I've started and deleted double digit opening lines here. What to say, what to say, in a place that used to be everything and now I barely remember how to use! What is html? How to gif?

I miss you, and this. Maybe that's where I start?

Every now and then I go on nostalgic spirals and re-read comment threads full of capslock flail and outrage and gifs and inside jokes and think... take me back.

For those who chimed in following my last post: an update. Nothing ever came of the AO3 plagiarism thing. The 'author' never responded to my attempts to communicate and hasn't posted on AO3 under that username again. I decided I was only obsessing because it was exam time and I needed to move on, so I did. AO3 moderators did eventually reply and offered to step in, but I was kinda over it by then and I would have needed to trawl through and provide them with some additional examples, and I just really didn't have the time, so... yeah. Anyway!

In that previous post I also mentioned the fact it was likely 21st birthday parties were going to be (once again) on my social calendar. Well, guess where I'm going tonight?! Fun and crazy times, indeed.

Perhaps the most exciting (to be honest, only exciting!) thing that's happened recently is the fact I've finished first year Medicine. Woot. I am still loving it and not regretting it for a single moment, but I did get a hold of the draft timetable for first semester of year two and... holy yikes. We didn't need stethoscopes in first year, so I put off investing in one a year ago, but we definitely need them in first semester next year so I finally get to buy one without feeling like a bit silly! Despite the twelve months that have elapsed since I solicited opinions, and the fact there are new options available, I'm still pretty locked in on miss_blanche's suggestion! By the way, for those of you familiar with her, she just finished her intern year! WHAT A CHAMP, OMG. Though, that said, I'm still at the stage where I'm convinced intern year is a mythical fantasy created to keep us turning up to cell biology lectures!

What else is happening? I still watch TV and read books and obsess over music, because somethings never change. The only difference is I have completely lost the ability to write, or even conceive of potential plots for, fanfic. This makes me very sad, but also kinda glad because I have strong memories of writing 6000 words in a day and barely stopping to take a breath and while it was exhilarating, it would also make studying Medicine a lot more difficult than it already is!

Shows I have recently watched? Younger (Team Josh/Liza and not even sorry about it, also, I over-identified with Liza to a degree that was kinda troubling!), Bodyguard, Deadwind, Maniac (what even WAS that?! OMG.), and Better Call Saul (continued brilliance).

Books I have recently read? When the Night Comes by Favel Parrett (set between Hobart and Antartica and really beautifully written), and Girl Running, Boy Falling by Kate Gordon (a local Tassie author. I wanted this to be better than it was). I have many things on my to read shelf and given I have almost four months until Uni starts up again, I plan to give them a good shake (though, don't get me wrong, studying this year did NOT in any way shape or form, stop me from reading novels! It just made me feel guilty about it!). The ones I'm most excited to get to are Milkman by Anna Burns (recently won the Man Booker Prize), A History of Seven Killings by Marlon James (I know, I know, I'm behind the times on that one!), and Bridge of Clay by Markus Zusak (think The Book Thief). They will no doubt keep me busy and mostly outta trouble!

Concerts I have recently been to? I went to Gang of Youths on Wednesday night this week and it was such a strange experience. Moments of definite 9-10/10, which is what I'd been expecting, but also some 2/10 times. In fact, lots of 2/10 times. Way too much chit chat that could barely be understood and an emphasis on ballads that sounded really, realllllly mumbly. Their big anthemic numbers were freaking amazing and I wish they'd concentrated more on those, if only because they sounded so much better. But oh well. Next up is Ministry of Sound with the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra, which should be awesome. And then Falls Festival, as per usual. Next year I already have Nick Cave tickets lined up, oh, and... FATBOY SLIM. Say what?! Gonna get my interpretative dance on for that shit, don't you worry!

Have some GRAACE in the meantime!



Once again, this entry is dedicated to crickets who seems to have an uncanny knack of posting at just the right time!
[ga] mere + cris + izzie |

[AO3] plagiarism | "tell 'em all I said hi, have a nice day..."

Hello, hello, anyone who might still be here! I have been disgustingly AWOL and even now am really only popping back for advice, which is incredibly presumptuous of me, but if anyone's going to be able to answer my questions, then it's LJ people!

I've discovered that a person on AO3 has plagiarised a heap of my Grey's Anatomy and Rookie Blue fics. I lodged an abuse report 2 weeks ago and have not heard anything back yet from AO3 (which is fine, I realise they're no doubt flat out!). But I just had another read through the FAQs and discovered it encourages people to try and sort out any issues themselves first, which I have not attempted to do.

Does anyone have any experience with fanfic plagiarism and how best to deal with it? I would very much appreciate the help!

In other news, I have my first proper lot of Medical School exams in three days (which is probably, at least partly, why I'm obsessing/procrastinating with this plagiarism thing!). Most of my classmates are literally half my age, but it hasn't been an issue and I've made some awesome friends. I see 21st birthday parties in my future (again)!



PS: Thanks to crickets for the timely reminder that LJ is still here, even when I am not... <3
[ga] izzie + mere &#124; i won for some

[stuff] and nonsense | "savour all the little pieces..."

we could have a small reunion
for all the people that we knew
we'll all get drunk and celebrate
here's to me and here's to you...


17.04.2007

(812 posts, 26.5k comments made, 21.3k comments received)


I created this journal exactly 10 years ago today. Prompted by ice_whisper and a new found discovery of fan-fiction (writing it and reading it!), I signed on, innocently, and promptly Lost. My. Mind. Not to mention, whole hours, weeks, months of my time! I have zero regrets.

Grey's Anatomy and its glorious, circa season 4,5,6 (ish) fandom full of some of the most amazing and inspiring women I've ever come to know. THANK YOU. Hardly any of you are still here, some of you I'm now friends with on other platforms, or even face to face, but this is where it all started. With Alex and Izzie and Lexie and Cristina, and MAGIC, and SHE SHAVED HER LEGS FOR YOU! sigh. I'm up to mid-season 6 of my latest re-watch. I love Lexie more than I ever imagined possible. This is relatively new. The Izzie feels, and the Alex/Izzie investment is still going strong, but Lexie. My bb girl, Lexie. ♥. I will never be over this show. Or the people who made it the experience that it was.

Then came The Vampire Diaries and some of the same faces, but a whole lot of new ones, too! And seriously, whoda thunk it? The little show that could. And did. For a while. Oh, Katherine Pierce. My Queen.

Breaking Bad, Orphan Black, The Killing, Rookie Blue, Chicago Fire, fic, gifs, yuletide, memes, books, fandomaid, ficathons (OMG, the ficathons!), friending frenzies, comment fics, road trips, big bangs, femslash, music recs, photo spams, frog porn, a whole lot of growing up, and growing out, and this is starting to feel so much more like goodbye than I intended...

we used to fall apart together
you had me from the start, remember
and i saw you playing in the dark
putting out the fire in my heart

let's go back to the start...


[ga] mere + cris + izzie &#124;

[2016] a year in television | "we hid under blankets of ignorance..."

The TV show meme thing that's doing the rounds at the moment, what better way to make something of a comeback to LJ?

Which TV shows did you start watching in 2016?
The Kettering Incident, Billions, Stranger Things (only one episode so far though), Midnight Sun, Skam, Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life, Shadowhunters, Happy Valley, and No Activity.



Collapse )
[ga] izzie + mere &#124; i won for some

(no subject)

friends only - dream-fairytale

... well, mostly

comment to be added...

(fic is unlocked and cross posted where appropriate... fangirl shrieking and other random items of disinterest are locked up tight... we can't have the boss finding out after all...)

 
[ob] alison &#124; life in plastic

[television] orphan black | "let these waves wash over me..."

I have this forever unfulfilling habit of falling in total curiosity and sometimes even love with television characters who are rarely, if ever, given any actual screen time. They might be mentioned as having been significant to an actual character but they, themselves, are not ACTUALLY CHARACTERS. To varying degrees. I'll fic them, sometimes at length, and typically develop intense head canons about them that are forever doomed to be nothing more than just that.

See... Amber Karev. Also, Andrew Darden.

And Beth Childs... Collapse )

Sidenote: Aussie band, Serpents of the She had one of their songs featured in the episode! And another is going to be in episode two, I believe. WOOT WOOT. Represent.

[ga] izzie &#124; you&#39;ll be a city girl too

[nostalgia] grey's anatomy | "I need your grace to remind me to find my own..."

Okay, so. I've been watching. Steadily. Savouring the freaking journey that is Season Two of this stupid, STUPID show, with its FREAKING CHARACTERS that still have the most RIDICULOUS hold over me. And I just finished the finale...



They say 'fore-warned is fore-armed', right? And I believe it, I do. In which case... HOW THE HELL DID I MAKE IT THROUGH THIS SHOW WATCHING WEEK TO WEEK?! Spoiler free and clueless and hopeless and in love with it all.... I mean, I barely made it through this re-watch knowing full well what was coming. And maybe THAT'S the problem? It's the knowing what's coming that's the problem. It's not Doc dying and Denny dying and Alex stepping up and Izzie, my bb girl, and all the rest of it... it's none of those things. It's knowing that, as bad as things are right now, this is not rock-bottom. This is not even close to rock-bottom. This is barely even half-way to rock-bottom...

Bring on season three?

But first. The state of the union. As per usual: take everything here with a LARGE GRAIN OF OVERLY EMOTIONALLY INVESTED SALT.



How utterly life-like are these characters? I mean, set aside the situations for a moment, I recognise the largely unrealistic nature of so much of what goes on, at the end of the day, this is still a television drama, after all... BUT HOW LIFE-LIKE ARE THESE CHARACTERS ALLOWED TO BE? Izzie is bitchy and petty and ridiculous and excitable and genuine and all the things that I know and understand and believe. And Meredith could be unfathomably emotionally immature. And she is. But she's not. Unfathomable. She's probably depressed. And she definitely has attachment issues. And she IS emotionally immature. But she's not unfathomable. Not even close.

Even Derek Freaking Shepherd, egotistical asshole that he is, is painfully, beautifully, realistically ALIVE.

And don't even get me started on Alex Karev. He tells the truth, okay? He tells the truth and Denny stopped being Denny and he loved Izzie and she loved him, but he's not Denny anymore, OKAY?!



(And 12_12_12, this could absolutely have been one of those situations where parts of fandom* raved about the White Dude's Death being all about The Lady Character only because it freed The Lady Character up for The Other White Dude, but you know what? Shonda Rhimes, that's what. BECAUSE IT WASSSSS ABOUT THE LADY CHARACTER. And, in a slightly smaller way, about the other two Lady Characters (Meredith and Cristina). And everybody else was still 4986% in character and there, including The Other White Dude. But it wasn't about him now being free to Get the Girl. He says so himself IN CANON. And those (inevitable?) parts of fandom can be as gross as they want somewhere ELSE. TYVM.

* I don't actually know what those parts of fandom did as I wasn't involved at the time... I suspect there was plenty of this happening though because *cynic*)

Shonda Rhimes. For all that you have (see Cristina .gif above), you are glorious when it comes to writing PEOPLE FIRST. I wish I was more eloquent. I wish I had the patience required to properly address exactly what Shonda has given us. I wish I wasn't quite so emotionally invested and had the headspace to be objective. I wish I'd liked some (any!) of her other shows enough to be able to write something meaningful. But Shonda Rhimes/Writing Female Characters is probably my favourite OTP of all the OTPs! Shonda Rhymes writing storylines is a different matter when it comes to this show!!

OMG STOP ME. I CAN'T EVEN MAKE SENSE.



Actually, no. Don't. Stop me, that is. The events surrounding Denny's death? The fall-out of those events? The lead up to them? They were about everyone. They were about MAGIC, and friendship, and loyalty and how each of them reacted to that. Those parts were about Cristina being able (or not) to be there for Burke. About Meredith making plans (or not) with Finn. About George loving (or not) Callie. THE REST OF IT was about them all, as a group. But actually KILLING DENNY? That was about Izzie.



Stick a fork in me, I'm done...