Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

Required fields*

6
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ My interpretation of this is that adding to "your list of domain spells" when you don't have a list of domain spells simply means that you add them to an empty list, thus resulting in you having a list of domain spells. The issue here is that I don't think the originally-written Cleric description expected that there would eventually be a class which could have domain spells without actually being a Cleric. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Jul 24, 2019 at 12:53
  • \$\begingroup\$ @JohnClifford Ah that seems like a reasonable way to arrive at the second interpretation as well, I will include that \$\endgroup\$ Commented Jul 24, 2019 at 12:56
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Doesn't the Arcane Acolyte feature at level 6 grant "your chosen domain's first level benefits", which includes the domain spells feature? The details of the domain spells feature are described in the base cleric rules, but they explicitly claim that "Each domain has a list of spells [...] that you gain", which sounds to me like "the domain gives you these domain spells, and this is how they work" - simply to avoid having to repeat the rules for every individual domain. Or am I missing some minutiae that makes domain spells something that is not granted as a first level domain benefit? \$\endgroup\$ Commented Jul 24, 2019 at 16:21
  • \$\begingroup\$ @cpcodes I can see what you mean but that's not the way I read it. The Domain Spells feature, telling you that domain spells are always prepared and are cleric spells is a cleric class feature and not a Domain Benefit in itself. That is, the domain determines a list of domain spells, but that is meaningless unless you have the cleric feature that tells what to do with them (or the Theurgy Wizard Arcane Initiate feature). \$\endgroup\$ Commented Jul 24, 2019 at 16:29
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Reading back over these, I'm tempted to say that to begin with the cleric domain spells gained are not always prepared (because you don't have the Domain Spells feature) but the wording of Arcane High Priest causes your domain spells to gain the same benefit because Arcane Mastery just says "Like your other domain spells, they are always prepared". I would argue that at this point the other domain spells you've copied into your spellbook gain the same effect. Only question is, do they count as cleric spells or wizard ones? XD \$\endgroup\$ Commented Jul 26, 2019 at 10:51