Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

Required fields*

4
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Range is normally measured from the caster of the spell. Does Glyph of Warding say that the spell is cast from the glyph's position? \$\endgroup\$ Commented Oct 21, 2019 at 22:45
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ @MarkWells It says the spell is stored in the glyph, so I think it can reasonably be extrapolated that the spell is released from the glyph's position when triggered. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Oct 21, 2019 at 23:17
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ What about spells that have a range of self? Would those work with your "12,000 miles away" trigger? \$\endgroup\$ Commented Jul 10, 2020 at 19:48
  • \$\begingroup\$ Agreed: Spells with a Range of Self seem problematic. Since the spell glyph treats the triggering creature as the target if (& only if) the spell has a target (what spells don't?), & the glyph is a proxy for the caster for the purposes of determining who the caster is, the glyph or the glyph's caster could be the Self affected when a creature fulfills the trigger, if spells with a Range of Self, are indeed ruled to be the spells that don't have a target implied by Glyph's wording. Are there spells that don't have a target, if not spells with a range of Self? \$\endgroup\$ Commented Jun 11, 2024 at 0:25