Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

Required fields*

6
  • \$\begingroup\$ I ask this to TimC, but if you think time stop affects only the caster, would you say that other creatures can use legendary actions and reactions during the caster's turns granted by time stop? My answer would be no - because time has stopped. To be consistent with your answer though, you would need to answer yes. Do you agree? \$\endgroup\$ Commented Mar 26, 2020 at 23:11
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ It probably turns on whether you count the turn as "ending" when it is followed by another turn by the same creature. It's pretty hair-splitting, and I'm pretty sure that allowing legendary actions between time stop turns is not RAI. But this is moving into Cosmic Encounter territory. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Mar 27, 2020 at 4:46
  • \$\begingroup\$ Time stop says you take 1d4 + 1 turns in a row. That means you have to take one turn, end it, and then take another turn. Without ending a turn, you can't start the next one. The reason this is significant is because, if time stop truly doesn't affect other creatures, as you say, then legendary actions would be allowed. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Mar 27, 2020 at 6:03
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ As you say above, it's probably a new question. My short answer is that RAW is unclear but I'm pretty sure RAI is to not allow legendary actions to interrupt a time stop. The reason I say RAW is unclear is that if game rules (for any game) say "You take n turns in a row," I think both (a) your turn doesn't "end" until, well, The End, and (b) your turn "ends" multiple times before it finally ends, are defensible interpretations. In any event, since that's not what the current question is about, I'll leave it there. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Mar 27, 2020 at 15:22
  • \$\begingroup\$ I've decided not to ask it as a separate question - it will be marked as duplicate, like this one. To your reply, I'd say only the second one is a defensible position, not the first. Legendary actions can be taken at the end of a turn, any turn, without qualification. Also, reactions can be taken at any time if triggering conditions are met, even during your own turn. I think you must agree it follows from your answer they can both be used during time stop. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Mar 27, 2020 at 17:30