Skip to main content
clarified phrasing; minor copyediting
Source Link
V2Blast
  • 50.9k
  • 10
  • 228
  • 309

You already answered your own question: 6 seconds  (1 round) and 120ft120 feet.

Per the descriptionThe Range section of casting spellsthe spellcasting rules says (emphasis mine):

Range: The target of a spell must be within the spell's range. [...] Once a spell is cast, its effects aren't limited by its range, unless the spell's description says otherwise.

and the Duration section says (emphasis mine):

Duration: A spell's duration is the length of time the spell persists. A duration can be expressed in rounds, minutes, hours, or even years. Some spells specify that their effects last until the spells are dispelled or destroyed.

So we'll look at the easy one first. The duration of MessageMessage is "1 Round"round". Once that round is up, the magic stops and the communication link is severed. There can be no reply. Of course, DM'sDMs can extend this to fit the narrative, but generally it should be an immediate reply.

Range is a little trickier, as the general description says the target must be within range. However it ends with, "its effects aren't limited by its range". This does not mean that the target can be at the edge of 120ft120 feet and start walking away and still be considered "in range". It means that if you cast a Fireball which has a range of 150ft150 feet, the 20-foot radius can extend past that point. So you can effectively hit a creature 170ft away;170 feet away - but the point of impactorigin must be within 150ft150 feet.

You already answered your own question: 6 seconds(1 round) and 120ft.

Per the description of casting spells:

Range: The target of a spell must be within the spell's range... Once a spell is cast, its effects aren't limited by its range, unless the spell's description says otherwise.

and

Duration: A spell's duration is the length of time the spell persists. A duration can be expressed in rounds, minutes, hours, or even years. Some spells specify that their effects last until the spells are dispelled or destroyed.

So we'll look at the easy one first. The duration of Message is "1 Round". Once that round is up, the magic stops and the communication link is severed. There can be no reply. Of course, DM's can extend this to fit the narrative, but generally it should be an immediate reply.

Range is a little trickier, as the general description says the target must be within range. However it ends with, "its effects aren't limited by its range". This does not mean that the target can be at the edge of 120ft and start walking away and still be considered "in range". It means that if you cast a Fireball which has a range of 150ft the 20-foot radius can extend past that point. So you can effectively hit a creature 170ft away; but the point of impact must be within 150ft.

You already answered your own question: 6 seconds  (1 round) and 120 feet.

The Range section of the spellcasting rules says (emphasis mine):

The target of a spell must be within the spell's range. [...] Once a spell is cast, its effects aren't limited by its range, unless the spell's description says otherwise.

and the Duration section says (emphasis mine):

A spell's duration is the length of time the spell persists. A duration can be expressed in rounds, minutes, hours, or even years. Some spells specify that their effects last until the spells are dispelled or destroyed.

So we'll look at the easy one first. The duration of Message is "1 round". Once that round is up, the magic stops and the communication link is severed. There can be no reply. Of course, DMs can extend this to fit the narrative, but generally it should be an immediate reply.

Range is a little trickier, as the general description says the target must be within range. However it ends with, "its effects aren't limited by its range". This does not mean that the target can be at the edge of 120 feet and start walking away and still be considered "in range". It means that if you cast a Fireball which has a range of 150 feet, the 20-foot radius can extend past that point. So you can effectively hit a creature 170 feet away - but the point of origin must be within 150 feet.

Source Link
MivaScott
  • 41.9k
  • 5
  • 103
  • 222

You already answered your own question: 6 seconds(1 round) and 120ft.

Per the description of casting spells:

Range: The target of a spell must be within the spell's range... Once a spell is cast, its effects aren't limited by its range, unless the spell's description says otherwise.

and

Duration: A spell's duration is the length of time the spell persists. A duration can be expressed in rounds, minutes, hours, or even years. Some spells specify that their effects last until the spells are dispelled or destroyed.

So we'll look at the easy one first. The duration of Message is "1 Round". Once that round is up, the magic stops and the communication link is severed. There can be no reply. Of course, DM's can extend this to fit the narrative, but generally it should be an immediate reply.

Range is a little trickier, as the general description says the target must be within range. However it ends with, "its effects aren't limited by its range". This does not mean that the target can be at the edge of 120ft and start walking away and still be considered "in range". It means that if you cast a Fireball which has a range of 150ft the 20-foot radius can extend past that point. So you can effectively hit a creature 170ft away; but the point of impact must be within 150ft.