Timeline for What is a damage roll?
Current License: CC BY-SA 4.0
23 events
| when toggle format | what | by | license | comment | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jun 26, 2024 at 0:04 | history | edited | Jack | CC BY-SA 4.0 | minor clarity |
| Jan 26, 2022 at 9:00 | history | tweeted | twitter.com/StackRPG/status/1486262660115177472 | ||
| Jan 19, 2022 at 20:33 | history | became hot network question | |||
| Jan 19, 2022 at 15:29 | answer | added | Fie | timeline score: 4 | |
| Jan 19, 2022 at 14:36 | answer | added | Darth Pseudonym | timeline score: 8 | |
| Jan 19, 2022 at 13:55 | comment | added | Akixkisu | There is a lot that we could refine about this question, at the same time it is clear and detailed, and the distinction (e. g. concentration saving throws, critical hits etc.) is an actual problem, so I'm not convinced that we should close this question —from review. | |
| Jan 19, 2022 at 13:19 | comment | added | Exempt-Medic | Let us continue this discussion in chat. | |
| Jan 19, 2022 at 13:12 | comment | added | WakiNadiVellir | @Exempt-Medic I removed that part entirely, since I didn't immediately find an example quote from the rules to clarify it (and it doesn't invalidate any current answer). | |
| Jan 19, 2022 at 13:09 | history | edited | WakiNadiVellir | CC BY-SA 4.0 | deleted 69 characters in body |
| Jan 19, 2022 at 12:03 | comment | added | Exempt-Medic | Also very related: "Handling the Ranger's proficiency bonus with multi-component Beast Companion attacks" and "Does a concentrating caster damaged by Ice Knife require two concentration checks?" and "If an attack causes additional damage after a saving throw, is it counted as a separate source of damage for the purpose of failed death saves?" and "Does Uncanny Dodge halve poison damage?" | |
| Jan 19, 2022 at 11:56 | review | Close votes | |||
| Jan 19, 2022 at 20:29 | |||||
| Jan 19, 2022 at 11:54 | history | edited | Eddymage | CC BY-SA 4.0 | deleted 1 character in body |
| Jan 19, 2022 at 11:38 | comment | added | Exempt-Medic | "Which of them are weapon damage rolls, and which are something else?" Could provide an example where this distinction matters? Also, I personally believe your middle "contrived" section warrants its own question. I see this as needing both more details and more focus and potentially a dupe, so I've voted to close | |
| Jan 19, 2022 at 11:17 | comment | added | Exempt-Medic | At least related: "If I roll 2d8 and 1d6 for damage, how many "damage rolls" is that? 1, 2, or 3?" and "Does "flat" damage count as a "damage roll"?" and "How do the damage from the Hexblade’s Curse feature and the Hex and Bestow Curse spells interact/stack with one another?" and "If I cast Thunderous Smite and Booming Blade, hit, and use Destructive Wrath to maximize damage, how many uses of Channel Divinity are expended?" | |
| Jan 19, 2022 at 11:07 | comment | added | WakiNadiVellir | But maybe a general rule can't be derived from RAW, and the best we can have is a list of features and case-by-case ruling (ie. separate question here) for each. | |
| Jan 19, 2022 at 11:06 | comment | added | WakiNadiVellir | Well, that directly references the rules quote (the "0 damage" rule). If you can think of a way to reword other parts of the question to match that better, feel free to edit. What I'm trying to ask here is general rule about this, which could be applied to any situation, including but not limited to Combat Inspiration after negative damage, and Grave Touched like damage type changes. | |
| Jan 19, 2022 at 11:00 | history | edited | WakiNadiVellir | CC BY-SA 4.0 | added 23 characters in body |
| Jan 19, 2022 at 10:47 | comment | added | enkryptor | The combat inspiration example is interesting, but it doesn't actually depend on what "Damage Roll" definition is. It depends on the fact if combat inspiration is applied before or after the minimum damage rule. I think this deserves its own Q. | |
| Jan 19, 2022 at 10:40 | history | edited | WakiNadiVellir | CC BY-SA 4.0 | added 661 characters in body |
| Jan 19, 2022 at 10:34 | history | edited | WakiNadiVellir | CC BY-SA 4.0 | added 661 characters in body |
| Jan 19, 2022 at 10:17 | comment | added | WakiNadiVellir | Critical Hits are one obvious thing where this matter: which dice are doubled. This has been ruled inconsistently in the games I've been in, even in the same campaign when previous ruling has been forgotten. Then it matters for that linked Grave Domain Cleric's feature, though it has not come up in the games I've been playing. | |
| Jan 19, 2022 at 10:15 | answer | added | enkryptor | timeline score: 13 | |
| Jan 19, 2022 at 9:01 | history | asked | WakiNadiVellir | CC BY-SA 4.0 |