Skip to main content
wrong link
Source Link
Tarod
  • 13.6k
  • 1
  • 37
  • 79

In Tasha's Cauldron of Everything and the Artificer from Unearthed Arcana 2025: Arcane SubclassesUnearthed Arcana 2024: The Artificer, the Spellcasting feature has a section titled "Tools Required".

TCoE, p. 11:

Tools Required

You produce your artificer spell effects through your tools. You must have a spellcasting focus—specifically thieves’ tools or some kind of artisan’s tool—in hand when you cast any spell with this Spellcasting feature (meaning the spell has an “M” component when you cast it). You must be proficient with the tool to use it in this way. See the equipment chapter in the Player’s Handbook for descriptions of these tools.

UA 2025: Arcane SubclassesUA 2024: The Artificer, pg. 2:

Tools Required

You produce your Artificer spells through tools. You can use Thieves’ Tools, Tinker’s Tools, or another kind of Artisan’s Tools with which you have proficiency as a Spellcasting Focus, and you must have one of those focuses in hand when you cast an Artificer spell (meaning the spell has an "M" component when you cast it).

The Sage Advice Compendium states that you can perform the Somatic components of a spell with the same hand that holds the Material component, assuming you use a Spellcasting Focus:

What’s the amount of interaction needed to use a Spellcasting Focus? Does it have to be included in the Somatic component?

If a spell requires Material components, the spellcaster must have a hand free to access or hold them, but it can be the same hand used to perform Somatic components, if any. This latter rule holds true for using a Spellcasting Focus, which a spellcaster must hold unless its description says otherwise.

For example, a Cleric uses an Emblem on a Shield as their Holy Symbol. When in combat, this Cleric likes to wield a Mace in one hand and the emblazoned Shield in the other. This Cleric must have the Shield in hand when casting a Cleric spell that requires a Material component. If the spell, such as Aid, also requires a Somatic component, the Cleric can perform the Somatic component with the hand holding the Shield, allowing the Cleric to keep wielding the Mace. However, if this same Cleric were to later cast Cure Wounds—which has Somatic components but no Material components—they would need to unequip either their Shield or Mace to free a hand for the Somatic components.

If my Artificer's hands are full, holding a Tool in one hand and a Shield in the other, would they still be able to cast Cure Wounds?

Like the SAC example given, the spell would have both a Somatic and Material component, and thus unlike the Cleric they wouldn’t need a free hand to deliver the spell’s touch.

In Tasha's Cauldron of Everything and the Artificer from Unearthed Arcana 2025: Arcane Subclasses, the Spellcasting feature has a section titled "Tools Required".

TCoE, p. 11:

Tools Required

You produce your artificer spell effects through your tools. You must have a spellcasting focus—specifically thieves’ tools or some kind of artisan’s tool—in hand when you cast any spell with this Spellcasting feature (meaning the spell has an “M” component when you cast it). You must be proficient with the tool to use it in this way. See the equipment chapter in the Player’s Handbook for descriptions of these tools.

UA 2025: Arcane Subclasses, pg. 2:

Tools Required

You produce your Artificer spells through tools. You can use Thieves’ Tools, Tinker’s Tools, or another kind of Artisan’s Tools with which you have proficiency as a Spellcasting Focus, and you must have one of those focuses in hand when you cast an Artificer spell (meaning the spell has an "M" component when you cast it).

The Sage Advice Compendium states that you can perform the Somatic components of a spell with the same hand that holds the Material component, assuming you use a Spellcasting Focus:

What’s the amount of interaction needed to use a Spellcasting Focus? Does it have to be included in the Somatic component?

If a spell requires Material components, the spellcaster must have a hand free to access or hold them, but it can be the same hand used to perform Somatic components, if any. This latter rule holds true for using a Spellcasting Focus, which a spellcaster must hold unless its description says otherwise.

For example, a Cleric uses an Emblem on a Shield as their Holy Symbol. When in combat, this Cleric likes to wield a Mace in one hand and the emblazoned Shield in the other. This Cleric must have the Shield in hand when casting a Cleric spell that requires a Material component. If the spell, such as Aid, also requires a Somatic component, the Cleric can perform the Somatic component with the hand holding the Shield, allowing the Cleric to keep wielding the Mace. However, if this same Cleric were to later cast Cure Wounds—which has Somatic components but no Material components—they would need to unequip either their Shield or Mace to free a hand for the Somatic components.

If my Artificer's hands are full, holding a Tool in one hand and a Shield in the other, would they still be able to cast Cure Wounds?

Like the SAC example given, the spell would have both a Somatic and Material component, and thus unlike the Cleric they wouldn’t need a free hand to deliver the spell’s touch.

In Tasha's Cauldron of Everything and the Artificer from Unearthed Arcana 2024: The Artificer, the Spellcasting feature has a section titled "Tools Required".

TCoE, p. 11:

Tools Required

You produce your artificer spell effects through your tools. You must have a spellcasting focus—specifically thieves’ tools or some kind of artisan’s tool—in hand when you cast any spell with this Spellcasting feature (meaning the spell has an “M” component when you cast it). You must be proficient with the tool to use it in this way. See the equipment chapter in the Player’s Handbook for descriptions of these tools.

UA 2024: The Artificer, pg. 2:

Tools Required

You produce your Artificer spells through tools. You can use Thieves’ Tools, Tinker’s Tools, or another kind of Artisan’s Tools with which you have proficiency as a Spellcasting Focus, and you must have one of those focuses in hand when you cast an Artificer spell (meaning the spell has an "M" component when you cast it).

The Sage Advice Compendium states that you can perform the Somatic components of a spell with the same hand that holds the Material component, assuming you use a Spellcasting Focus:

What’s the amount of interaction needed to use a Spellcasting Focus? Does it have to be included in the Somatic component?

If a spell requires Material components, the spellcaster must have a hand free to access or hold them, but it can be the same hand used to perform Somatic components, if any. This latter rule holds true for using a Spellcasting Focus, which a spellcaster must hold unless its description says otherwise.

For example, a Cleric uses an Emblem on a Shield as their Holy Symbol. When in combat, this Cleric likes to wield a Mace in one hand and the emblazoned Shield in the other. This Cleric must have the Shield in hand when casting a Cleric spell that requires a Material component. If the spell, such as Aid, also requires a Somatic component, the Cleric can perform the Somatic component with the hand holding the Shield, allowing the Cleric to keep wielding the Mace. However, if this same Cleric were to later cast Cure Wounds—which has Somatic components but no Material components—they would need to unequip either their Shield or Mace to free a hand for the Somatic components.

If my Artificer's hands are full, holding a Tool in one hand and a Shield in the other, would they still be able to cast Cure Wounds?

Like the SAC example given, the spell would have both a Somatic and Material component, and thus unlike the Cleric they wouldn’t need a free hand to deliver the spell’s touch.

deleted 3 characters in body
Source Link
Tarod
  • 13.6k
  • 1
  • 37
  • 79

In Tasha's Cauldron of Everything and the Artificer from Unearthed Arcana 2025: Arcane Subclasses, the Spellcasting feature has a section titled "Tools Required".

TCoE, p. 11:

Tools Required

You produce your artificer spell effects through your tools. You must have a spellcasting focus—specifically thieves’ tools or some kind of artisan’s tool—in hand when you cast any spell with this Spellcasting feature (meaning the spell has an “M” component when you cast it). You must be proficient with the tool to use it in this way. See the equipment chapter in the Player’s Handbook for descriptions of these tools.

UA 2025: Arcane Subclasses, pg. 2:

Tools Required

You produce your Artificer spells through tools. You can use Thieves’ Tools, Tinker’s Tools, or another kind of Artisan’s Tools with which you have proficiency as a Spellcasting Focus, and you must have one of those focuses in hand when you cast an Artificer spell (meaning the spell has an "M" component when you cast it).

The Sage Advice Compendium states that you can perform the Somatic components of a spell with the same hand that holds the Material component, assuming you use a Spellcasting Focus:

What’s the amount of interaction needed to use a Spellcasting Focus? Does it have to be included in the Somatic component?

If a spell requires Material components, the spellcaster must have a hand free to access or hold them, but it can be the same hand used to perform Somatic components, if any. This latter rule holds true for using a Spellcasting Focus, which a spellcaster must hold unless its description says otherwise.

For example, a Cleric uses an Emblem on a Shield as their Holy Symbol. When in combat, this Cleric likes to wield a Mace in one hand and the emblazoned Shield in the other. This Cleric must have the Shield in hand when casting a Cleric spell that requires a Material component. If the spell, such as Aid, also requires a Somatic component, the Cleric can perform the Somatic component with the hand holding the Shield, allowing the Cleric to keep wielding the Mace. However, if this same Cleric were to later cast Cure Wounds—which has Somatic components but no Material components—they would need to unequip either their Shield or Mace to free a hand for the Somatic components.

If my Artificer's hands are full, holding a Tool in one hand and a Shield in the other, would they still be able to cast Cure Wounds?

Like the SAC example given, the spell would have both a Somatic and Material component, and thus unlike the Cleric they wouldn’t need a free hand to to deliver the spell’s touch.

In Tasha's Cauldron of Everything and the Artificer from Unearthed Arcana 2025: Arcane Subclasses, the Spellcasting feature has a section titled "Tools Required".

TCoE, p. 11:

Tools Required

You produce your artificer spell effects through your tools. You must have a spellcasting focus—specifically thieves’ tools or some kind of artisan’s tool—in hand when you cast any spell with this Spellcasting feature (meaning the spell has an “M” component when you cast it). You must be proficient with the tool to use it in this way. See the equipment chapter in the Player’s Handbook for descriptions of these tools.

UA 2025: Arcane Subclasses, pg. 2:

Tools Required

You produce your Artificer spells through tools. You can use Thieves’ Tools, Tinker’s Tools, or another kind of Artisan’s Tools with which you have proficiency as a Spellcasting Focus, and you must have one of those focuses in hand when you cast an Artificer spell (meaning the spell has an "M" component when you cast it).

The Sage Advice Compendium states that you can perform the Somatic components of a spell with the same hand that holds the Material component, assuming you use a Spellcasting Focus:

What’s the amount of interaction needed to use a Spellcasting Focus? Does it have to be included in the Somatic component?

If a spell requires Material components, the spellcaster must have a hand free to access or hold them, but it can be the same hand used to perform Somatic components, if any. This latter rule holds true for using a Spellcasting Focus, which a spellcaster must hold unless its description says otherwise.

For example, a Cleric uses an Emblem on a Shield as their Holy Symbol. When in combat, this Cleric likes to wield a Mace in one hand and the emblazoned Shield in the other. This Cleric must have the Shield in hand when casting a Cleric spell that requires a Material component. If the spell, such as Aid, also requires a Somatic component, the Cleric can perform the Somatic component with the hand holding the Shield, allowing the Cleric to keep wielding the Mace. However, if this same Cleric were to later cast Cure Wounds—which has Somatic components but no Material components—they would need to unequip either their Shield or Mace to free a hand for the Somatic components.

If my Artificer's hands are full, holding a Tool in one hand and a Shield in the other, would they still be able to cast Cure Wounds?

Like the SAC example given, the spell would have both a Somatic and Material component, and thus unlike the Cleric they wouldn’t need a free hand to to deliver the spell’s touch.

In Tasha's Cauldron of Everything and the Artificer from Unearthed Arcana 2025: Arcane Subclasses, the Spellcasting feature has a section titled "Tools Required".

TCoE, p. 11:

Tools Required

You produce your artificer spell effects through your tools. You must have a spellcasting focus—specifically thieves’ tools or some kind of artisan’s tool—in hand when you cast any spell with this Spellcasting feature (meaning the spell has an “M” component when you cast it). You must be proficient with the tool to use it in this way. See the equipment chapter in the Player’s Handbook for descriptions of these tools.

UA 2025: Arcane Subclasses, pg. 2:

Tools Required

You produce your Artificer spells through tools. You can use Thieves’ Tools, Tinker’s Tools, or another kind of Artisan’s Tools with which you have proficiency as a Spellcasting Focus, and you must have one of those focuses in hand when you cast an Artificer spell (meaning the spell has an "M" component when you cast it).

The Sage Advice Compendium states that you can perform the Somatic components of a spell with the same hand that holds the Material component, assuming you use a Spellcasting Focus:

What’s the amount of interaction needed to use a Spellcasting Focus? Does it have to be included in the Somatic component?

If a spell requires Material components, the spellcaster must have a hand free to access or hold them, but it can be the same hand used to perform Somatic components, if any. This latter rule holds true for using a Spellcasting Focus, which a spellcaster must hold unless its description says otherwise.

For example, a Cleric uses an Emblem on a Shield as their Holy Symbol. When in combat, this Cleric likes to wield a Mace in one hand and the emblazoned Shield in the other. This Cleric must have the Shield in hand when casting a Cleric spell that requires a Material component. If the spell, such as Aid, also requires a Somatic component, the Cleric can perform the Somatic component with the hand holding the Shield, allowing the Cleric to keep wielding the Mace. However, if this same Cleric were to later cast Cure Wounds—which has Somatic components but no Material components—they would need to unequip either their Shield or Mace to free a hand for the Somatic components.

If my Artificer's hands are full, holding a Tool in one hand and a Shield in the other, would they still be able to cast Cure Wounds?

Like the SAC example given, the spell would have both a Somatic and Material component, and thus unlike the Cleric they wouldn’t need a free hand to deliver the spell’s touch.

added 290 characters in body
Source Link
Tarod
  • 13.6k
  • 1
  • 37
  • 79

In Tasha's Cauldron of Everything and the Artificer Unearthed Arcanafrom Unearthed Arcana 2025: Arcane Subclasses, the Spellcasting feature has a section titled Tools Required"Tools Required".

TCoE Pg, p.11 11:

Tools Required

You produce your artificer spell effects through your tools. You must have a spellcasting focus—specifically thieves’ tools or some kind of artisan’s tool—in hand when you cast any spell with this Spellcasting feature (meaning the spell has an “M” component when you cast it). You must be proficient with the tool to use it in this way. See the equipment chapter in the Player’s Handbook for descriptions of these tools.

UA Artificer 2024UA 2025: Arcane Subclasses, Pgpg.2 2:

Tools Required

You produce your Artificer spells through tools. You can use Thieves’ Tools, Tinker’s Tools, or another kind of Artisan’s Tools with which you have proficiency as a Spellcasting Focus, and you must have one of those focuses in hand when you cast an Artificer spell (meaning the spell has an "M" component when you cast it).

The most recent Sage Advice for 5.5eCompendium states that you can perform the Somatic components of a spell with the same hand that holds the Material component, assuming you use a Spellcasting Focus.:

What’s the amount of interaction needed to use a Spellcasting Focus? Does it have to be included in the Somatic component?What’s the amount of interaction needed to use a Spellcasting Focus? Does it have to be included in the Somatic component?

If a spell requires Material components, the spellcaster must have a hand free to access or hold them, but it can be the same hand used to perform Somatic components, if any. This latter rule holds true for using a Spellcasting Focus, which a spellcaster must hold unless its description says otherwise.

For example, a Cleric uses an Emblem on a Shield as their Holy Symbol. When in combat, this Cleric likes to wield a Mace in one hand and the emblazoned Shield in the other. This Cleric must have the Shield in hand when casting a Cleric spell that requires a Material component. If the spell, such as Aid, also requires a Somatic component, the Cleric can perform the Somatic component with the hand holding the Shield, allowing the Cleric to keep wielding the Mace. However, if this same Cleric were to later cast Cure Wounds—which has Somatic components but no Material components—they would need to unequip either their Shield or Mace to free a hand for the Somatic components.

If my Artificer's hands are full, holding a Tool in one hand and a Shield in the other, would they still be able to cast Cure WoundsCure Wounds?

Like the SASAC example given, the spell would have both a Somatic and Material component, and thus unlike the Cleric they wouldn'twouldn’t need a free hand to administerto deliver the Touchspell’s touch.

In Tasha's Cauldron of Everything and the Artificer Unearthed Arcana the Spellcasting feature has a section titled Tools Required.

TCoE Pg.11

Tools Required

You produce your artificer spell effects through your tools. You must have a spellcasting focus—specifically thieves’ tools or some kind of artisan’s tool—in hand when you cast any spell with this Spellcasting feature (meaning the spell has an “M” component when you cast it). You must be proficient with the tool to use it in this way. See the equipment chapter in the Player’s Handbook for descriptions of these tools.

UA Artificer 2024, Pg.2

Tools Required

You produce your Artificer spells through tools. You can use Thieves’ Tools, Tinker’s Tools, or another kind of Artisan’s Tools with which you have proficiency as a Spellcasting Focus, and you must have one of those focuses in hand when you cast an Artificer spell (meaning the spell has an "M" component when you cast it).

The most recent Sage Advice for 5.5e states that you can perform the Somatic components of a spell with the same hand that holds the Material component, assuming you use a Spellcasting Focus.

What’s the amount of interaction needed to use a Spellcasting Focus? Does it have to be included in the Somatic component?

If a spell requires Material components, the spellcaster must have a hand free to access or hold them, but it can be the same hand used to perform Somatic components, if any. This latter rule holds true for using a Spellcasting Focus, which a spellcaster must hold unless its description says otherwise.

For example, a Cleric uses an Emblem on a Shield as their Holy Symbol. When in combat, this Cleric likes to wield a Mace in one hand and the emblazoned Shield in the other. This Cleric must have the Shield in hand when casting a Cleric spell that requires a Material component. If the spell, such as Aid, also requires a Somatic component, the Cleric can perform the Somatic component with the hand holding the Shield, allowing the Cleric to keep wielding the Mace. However, if this same Cleric were to later cast Cure Wounds—which has Somatic components but no Material components—they would need to unequip either their Shield or Mace to free a hand for the Somatic components.

If my Artificer's hands are full, holding a Tool in one hand and a Shield in the other, would they still be able to cast Cure Wounds?

Like the SA example given, the spell would have both a Somatic and Material component, and thus unlike the Cleric they wouldn't need a free hand to administer the Touch.

In Tasha's Cauldron of Everything and the Artificer from Unearthed Arcana 2025: Arcane Subclasses, the Spellcasting feature has a section titled "Tools Required".

TCoE, p. 11:

Tools Required

You produce your artificer spell effects through your tools. You must have a spellcasting focus—specifically thieves’ tools or some kind of artisan’s tool—in hand when you cast any spell with this Spellcasting feature (meaning the spell has an “M” component when you cast it). You must be proficient with the tool to use it in this way. See the equipment chapter in the Player’s Handbook for descriptions of these tools.

UA 2025: Arcane Subclasses, pg. 2:

Tools Required

You produce your Artificer spells through tools. You can use Thieves’ Tools, Tinker’s Tools, or another kind of Artisan’s Tools with which you have proficiency as a Spellcasting Focus, and you must have one of those focuses in hand when you cast an Artificer spell (meaning the spell has an "M" component when you cast it).

The Sage Advice Compendium states that you can perform the Somatic components of a spell with the same hand that holds the Material component, assuming you use a Spellcasting Focus:

What’s the amount of interaction needed to use a Spellcasting Focus? Does it have to be included in the Somatic component?

If a spell requires Material components, the spellcaster must have a hand free to access or hold them, but it can be the same hand used to perform Somatic components, if any. This latter rule holds true for using a Spellcasting Focus, which a spellcaster must hold unless its description says otherwise.

For example, a Cleric uses an Emblem on a Shield as their Holy Symbol. When in combat, this Cleric likes to wield a Mace in one hand and the emblazoned Shield in the other. This Cleric must have the Shield in hand when casting a Cleric spell that requires a Material component. If the spell, such as Aid, also requires a Somatic component, the Cleric can perform the Somatic component with the hand holding the Shield, allowing the Cleric to keep wielding the Mace. However, if this same Cleric were to later cast Cure Wounds—which has Somatic components but no Material components—they would need to unequip either their Shield or Mace to free a hand for the Somatic components.

If my Artificer's hands are full, holding a Tool in one hand and a Shield in the other, would they still be able to cast Cure Wounds?

Like the SAC example given, the spell would have both a Somatic and Material component, and thus unlike the Cleric they wouldn’t need a free hand to to deliver the spell’s touch.

Became Hot Network Question
Source Link
DJ PJ
  • 145
  • 3
Loading