Skip to main content
edited tags
Link
KRyan
  • 372.3k
  • 61
  • 980
  • 1.6k
this doesn't need code markup. reserve code markup for actual code, not random phrases
Source Link
doppelgreener
  • 36.8k
  • 17
  • 163
  • 259

I thought I read the answer to this somewhere but I can't find it in the rules anywhere; please help me clarify. (As this is a RAW question, please include source, thanks)

Since the Artificer is not a spellcasterthe Artificer is not a spellcaster, and his infusions are NOT arcane or Divinehis infusions are NOT arcane or Divine, can other spell casters use his "charged" items? (ie scrolls or wands?..granted, these are technically NOT created via infusions but via UMD's, this was just pointing out that he has zero arcane/divine abilities)

The book makes a point to mention that, when creating these items, even for (artificer) spells he knows, he must make a UMD check to successfully create them since they are not arcane/divine. However, I can't find anything that says that because he is using UMD's that this automatically makes them Arcane or Divine. (although it would make sense to infer such)

Furthermore,

An artificer cannot automatically use a spell trigger or spell completion item if the equivalent spell appears on his infusion list.

Logic would dictate that if he can't use an arcane item (wand/scroll) created by someone else, then his items can NOT be arcane, else he would be unable to use his own items! (Or, am I missing the point of his creations and he is infact NOT supposed to be able to use his own created items w/o a UMD check either?? That would suck but I could see where it'd make sense)

So, to simplify:

  1. Are Wands/Scrolls created by an Artificer considered Arcane/Divine even though he is not a "spell-caster" capable of casting these types of spells?
  2. If they are Arcane/Divine does this mean that other spellcasters, can use them (without UMD checks of their own)?
  3. If so, does that mean that the Artificer must roll UMDs to use his own created items?

Again, please include source material for your answers. Thanks!

I thought I read the answer to this somewhere but I can't find it in the rules anywhere; please help me clarify. (As this is a RAW question, please include source, thanks)

Since the Artificer is not a spellcaster, and his infusions are NOT arcane or Divine, can other spell casters use his "charged" items? (ie scrolls or wands?..granted, these are technically NOT created via infusions but via UMD's, this was just pointing out that he has zero arcane/divine abilities)

The book makes a point to mention that, when creating these items, even for (artificer) spells he knows, he must make a UMD check to successfully create them since they are not arcane/divine. However, I can't find anything that says that because he is using UMD's that this automatically makes them Arcane or Divine. (although it would make sense to infer such)

Furthermore,

An artificer cannot automatically use a spell trigger or spell completion item if the equivalent spell appears on his infusion list.

Logic would dictate that if he can't use an arcane item (wand/scroll) created by someone else, then his items can NOT be arcane, else he would be unable to use his own items! (Or, am I missing the point of his creations and he is infact NOT supposed to be able to use his own created items w/o a UMD check either?? That would suck but I could see where it'd make sense)

So, to simplify:

  1. Are Wands/Scrolls created by an Artificer considered Arcane/Divine even though he is not a "spell-caster" capable of casting these types of spells?
  2. If they are Arcane/Divine does this mean that other spellcasters, can use them (without UMD checks of their own)?
  3. If so, does that mean that the Artificer must roll UMDs to use his own created items?

Again, please include source material for your answers. Thanks!

I thought I read the answer to this somewhere but I can't find it in the rules anywhere; please help me clarify. (As this is a RAW question, please include source, thanks)

Since the Artificer is not a spellcaster, and his infusions are NOT arcane or Divine, can other spell casters use his "charged" items? (ie scrolls or wands?..granted, these are technically NOT created via infusions but via UMD's, this was just pointing out that he has zero arcane/divine abilities)

The book makes a point to mention that, when creating these items, even for (artificer) spells he knows, he must make a UMD check to successfully create them since they are not arcane/divine. However, I can't find anything that says that because he is using UMD's that this automatically makes them Arcane or Divine. (although it would make sense to infer such)

Furthermore,

An artificer cannot automatically use a spell trigger or spell completion item if the equivalent spell appears on his infusion list.

Logic would dictate that if he can't use an arcane item (wand/scroll) created by someone else, then his items can NOT be arcane, else he would be unable to use his own items! (Or, am I missing the point of his creations and he is infact NOT supposed to be able to use his own created items w/o a UMD check either?? That would suck but I could see where it'd make sense)

So, to simplify:

  1. Are Wands/Scrolls created by an Artificer considered Arcane/Divine even though he is not a "spell-caster" capable of casting these types of spells?
  2. If they are Arcane/Divine does this mean that other spellcasters, can use them (without UMD checks of their own)?
  3. If so, does that mean that the Artificer must roll UMDs to use his own created items?

Again, please include source material for your answers. Thanks!

Source Link
Ben-Jamin
  • 6.4k
  • 5
  • 39
  • 72

Can other casters use an Artificer's Magic Items (without UMD)?

I thought I read the answer to this somewhere but I can't find it in the rules anywhere; please help me clarify. (As this is a RAW question, please include source, thanks)

Since the Artificer is not a spellcaster, and his infusions are NOT arcane or Divine, can other spell casters use his "charged" items? (ie scrolls or wands?..granted, these are technically NOT created via infusions but via UMD's, this was just pointing out that he has zero arcane/divine abilities)

The book makes a point to mention that, when creating these items, even for (artificer) spells he knows, he must make a UMD check to successfully create them since they are not arcane/divine. However, I can't find anything that says that because he is using UMD's that this automatically makes them Arcane or Divine. (although it would make sense to infer such)

Furthermore,

An artificer cannot automatically use a spell trigger or spell completion item if the equivalent spell appears on his infusion list.

Logic would dictate that if he can't use an arcane item (wand/scroll) created by someone else, then his items can NOT be arcane, else he would be unable to use his own items! (Or, am I missing the point of his creations and he is infact NOT supposed to be able to use his own created items w/o a UMD check either?? That would suck but I could see where it'd make sense)

So, to simplify:

  1. Are Wands/Scrolls created by an Artificer considered Arcane/Divine even though he is not a "spell-caster" capable of casting these types of spells?
  2. If they are Arcane/Divine does this mean that other spellcasters, can use them (without UMD checks of their own)?
  3. If so, does that mean that the Artificer must roll UMDs to use his own created items?

Again, please include source material for your answers. Thanks!