Timeline for Who can use magic scrolls?
Current License: CC BY-SA 3.0
8 events
| when toggle format | what | by | license | comment | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mar 4, 2019 at 0:26 | comment | added | emery.noel | Where is the rule mentioned above? I've looked through the PHB and DMG index for scroll, spell scroll, or anything like that. All I can find is the useless info on DMG 139. EDIT: NM I found it, on page 200. Would have been nice to put that in the index. | |
| Jan 5, 2015 at 0:43 | comment | added | Dale M | This is again an example of more specific trumping less specific. | |
| S Jan 4, 2015 at 19:43 | history | suggested | sadaqah | CC BY-SA 3.0 | fixed quote and typos |
| Jan 4, 2015 at 19:38 | comment | added | sadaqah | An exception to the rule is the Use Magic Device feature of the 13th-level or higher Thief (Roguish Archetype): "You ignore all class, race, and level requirements on the use of magic items." D&D 5e designer Jeremy Crawford clarified, "The intent is that Use Magic Device does allow a rogue to try to use a scroll." [Emphasis added] While the tweet exchange uses scroll and not spell scroll, there would be no need to clarify a "regular" scroll since the general rule allows all classes to attempt their use. | |
| Jan 4, 2015 at 19:28 | review | Suggested edits | |||
| S Jan 4, 2015 at 19:43 | |||||
| Dec 11, 2014 at 3:50 | history | edited | Dale M | CC BY-SA 3.0 | Typo fixed |
| Dec 11, 2014 at 3:03 | vote | accept | Jason K | ||
| Dec 10, 2014 at 23:44 | history | answered | Dale M | CC BY-SA 3.0 |