Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

3
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ In your penultimate paragraph, I would rule that the readied action is to attack a seen target rather than an unseen one. This is because the attack's hitting or missing is part of the attack, and at that point the attacker reveals his location - before he can move back into cover. Because the attacker had to have line of sight to make the attack in the first place, a creature with a readied action will also have line of sight back to him when the attack is resolved. So they can see the attacker when he attacks and don't suffer disadvantage for it. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Feb 27, 2017 at 15:26
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @ClearlyToughpick The rules only say that he gives away his location. Not that he is automatically discovered. Think of a creature with darksight firing from a dark room at a creature without darksight. To fire blindly, you need to 1) guess location 2) attack at disadvantage. Only the first one is automatically lifted if you make an attack. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Feb 27, 2017 at 15:42
  • \$\begingroup\$ Yes, but the original question makes no mention of heavy obscurement; it doesn't even mention light obscurement, so in that circumstance, when the attacker takes its shot, it reveals itself to the creature. Also, giving away your location means you are disovered, and it means you are no longer hidden. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Feb 28, 2017 at 19:52