Timeline for Can you ready an action to attack a hidden creature before it attacks you?
Current License: CC BY-SA 3.0
4 events
| when toggle format | what | by | license | comment | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Feb 28, 2017 at 13:52 | comment | added | Bloodcinder | It says you have to come out of hiding and approach a creature, not that when you approach a creature you come out of hiding. In the example, I don't think the enemy is coming out of hiding. They are still maintaining stealth. It's the intent of the player to want to focus on Perception in this case, at least as I would rule it at the table. Otherwise, it doesn't appear to me that it would ever be possible to move while hiding. At the very least, I'm recommending you elaborate in the post on your justification to make it more convincing and dissuade ruling disagreements from other DM's. | |
| Feb 28, 2017 at 12:50 | comment | added | Bruno Gutierrez | @Bloodcinder as rules says (PHB, p. 177): " In combat, most creatures stay alert for signs of danger all around, so if you come out of hiding and approach a creature, it usually sees you." So, if the enemy rouge comes out of hiding to approach you, you should see him, no perception check needed. | |
| Feb 27, 2017 at 16:42 | comment | added | Bloodcinder | "Declaring that when you see your enemy pass by, you attack him" probably requires an active Perception check, which itself takes an action. So I'm not sure many DM's would rule that you can get a free Perception check as part of a Ready trigger. | |
| Feb 27, 2017 at 15:46 | history | answered | Bruno Gutierrez | CC BY-SA 3.0 |