Linked Questions
12 questions linked to/from What is a damage roll?
65 votes
3 answers
413k views
How does extra damage work for critical hits?
I'm a bit confused on how extra damage works for critical hits. Let's take the following example: A thief with sneak attack rolls a crit. I'm under the impression he rolls double his normal attack ...
23 votes
3 answers
48k views
How do the damage from the Hexblade’s Curse feature and the Hex and Bestow Curse spells interact/stack with one another?
Hex requires concentration, while bestow curse at a high level and Hexblade’s Curse do not. This allows all three things to stack. Hex deals damage whenever an attack hits Bestow curse deals damage ...
42 votes
3 answers
4k views
Does a concentrating caster damaged by Ice Knife require two concentration checks?
As the ice knife spell can do damage in two separate ways, with one defined to happen after the other, would a caster damaged by both need to make multiple concentration checks?
33 votes
2 answers
14k views
Are there critical hits for spells?
According to PHB p. 194 you always score a critical hit on any attack roll. Does this rule also apply to magical attacks, e.g. the inflict wounds spell?
18 votes
2 answers
7k views
Does Uncanny Dodge halve poison damage?
Related: Can you use Uncanny Dodge against extra damage effects? In the cited question, the consensus is that Uncanny Dodge halves all damage from an attack including damage inflicted by elemental ...
18 votes
1 answer
4k views
If I cast Thunderous Smite and Booming Blade, hit, and use Destructive Wrath to maximize damage, how many uses of Channel Divinity are expended?
How many uses of channel divinity should be expended in the following example? Example: A character is using that a weapon that deals 2d6 thunder damage on a hit. They cast Thunderous Smite, using a ...
26 votes
3 answers
5k views
If an attack causes additional damage after a saving throw, is it counted as a separate source of damage for the purpose of failed death saves?
If an attack causes additional damage after a saving throw, is it counted as a separate source of damage for the purpose of failed death saving throws? In other words, does it cause another failed ...
17 votes
1 answer
5k views
If I roll 2d8 and 1d6 for damage, how many "damage rolls" is that? 1, 2, or 3?
I'm playing a Shadow sorcerer/Hexblade warlock and I am rather confused about the Hexblade's Curse feature (Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 55). It says, on the first bullet point of the curse ...
11 votes
2 answers
2k views
Is damage from multiple damage types cumulative for death and massive damage?
Scenario 1: A grimlock hits Alice with a Spiked Bone Club, dealing 5 bludgeoning damage, plus 2 piercing damage. Alice's HP was 12. Using the optional Massive Damage rules on page 273 of the DMG, ...
8 votes
2 answers
1k views
Does "flat" damage count as a "damage roll"?
Hexblade's Curse has several bonuses applied to when an enemy suffers a damage roll from you. Does damage from something like Armor of Agathys, or an unarmed strike, count as a "damage roll", despite ...
10 votes
2 answers
3k views
Handling the Ranger's proficiency bonus with multi-component Beast Companion attacks
In D&D 5e. the Ranger's beast companion has a lot of special benefits, one of which is: Add your proficiency bonus to the beast's AC, attack rolls, and damage rolls, as well as to any saving ...
5 votes
1 answer
882 views
Can you change the damage type of Poisons via Grave Touched?
If I hit a creature with an attack using a poison coated weapon (for example Purple Worm Poison) could I, rules as written, change the poison damage type to necrotic via the lvl 6 Undead Patron ...