Questions tagged [kings]
Questions relating to the King
75 questions
5 votes
2 answers
323 views
Checkmate with king moves only
What is the quickest way to get a checkmate under the following conditions: The winning side moves the king on every move The starting position is Chess960?
5 votes
3 answers
686 views
King-and-pawn endgames: Is it usually best to move your king first?
Is it true that, at the start of a king-and-pawn endgame, players should generally advance their kings to the center prior to any pawn moves? I wouldn't expect this to be true in every case, but is it ...
1 vote
1 answer
493 views
Checkmate with two bishops of same colour
Is it possible to checkmate King with two bishops of same colour in the endgame?. Is it possible in Chess to get this position in reality? Position: King with Two bishops of same colour V/S King.
2 votes
0 answers
90 views
Double steel king
For a few examples of a king walk, see Tim Krabbe's site. Do you have an example where both kings go haywire? (Found this own game in my old chess zines, but since the heavy material is just a Q plus ...
1 vote
2 answers
255 views
If I remove a king from one side, which side has an advantage?
If I remove a king from one side, which side has an advantage? Say, the losing condition will change for that side to "no pieces left". Removing king = one less way to lose, but an extra ...
7 votes
2 answers
1k views
What is the required material to force a king move checkmate?
A fun thing to do is to try to achieve specific "achievements" (like these) in real games. One such achievement is to checkmate with a king move. As the king itself obviously can't deliver ...
0 votes
1 answer
561 views
Can a king capture a piece in front of the enemy king [duplicate]
Can I eat a piece in front of the enemy king with my king? For example: My king was on b6, the enemy knight was on b5, and the enemy king was behind the knight on b4. So can I capture the knight with ...
7 votes
1 answer
717 views
With regards to the safety of the king when castling kingside
Basically, I want to keep my king safe after a kingside castle. I want to avoid this: 8/8/8/8/8/8/5PPP/2r3K1 w - - 0 1 The configuration is such that none of my pieces can access the f1 square. I ...
2 votes
0 answers
116 views
I don't understand why this scenario is checkmate. The black rook cannot move, as it's protecting black king. Can someone explain? See photo [duplicate]
So in this scenario the White Queen put the black king in check, which was then blocked by the black rook. So, how is it that the black queen moving to the position of F1 is considered checkmate? The ...
4 votes
1 answer
507 views
History of convention for king & queen placement
As stated in this question, the convention that the player with the lighter-coloured pieces makes the first move was not established until fairly late in the 19th century. Before then, what convention ...
7 votes
5 answers
5k views
Is endangering the king a good strategy in some positions?
According to Wikipedia, "any chess piece except the king may be sacrificed". However, I am wondering,if in some rare situations, whether endangering the king can also be a good strategy. ...
1 vote
2 answers
194 views
Is this king in checkmate?
Consider this chess board set up: Is the black king allowed to move to B4 or D4? The knight on C6 would put their white king in check if it moves. I haven't really read any rules about this so ...
10 votes
1 answer
1k views
Developing the king before developing most of your pieces
I saw this opening for the first time and was amazed by the position of the white king. [FEN "?"] [startply "21"] 1. e4 c6 2. d4 d5 3. e5 Bf5 4. h4 h6 5. g4 Bd7 6. h5 e6 7. f4 c5 ...
0 votes
0 answers
87 views
Can someone explain why this is checkmate for white? Can a king put another king into checkmate? [duplicate]
I am just learning to play chess so bear with me please :). I understand that the black king cannot move to d8 or f8 because of the white rook, nor d7 or f8 because of the white bishop. But why can it ...
11 votes
1 answer
2k views
Series of illegal moves in check
This question falls under FIDE rules (USCF answers/comments welcome). If I make an illegal move leaving myself and my opponent in check, hit the clock and my opponent misses it and then continues play ...