[personal profile] goddess47
Okay, I've decided to focus on the '3 weeks' part of the '3 weeks for Dreamwidth' and focus on making 21 posts, even if they are not daily.

Although that should be a bit easier going forward, since the jury duty is over. I, personally, went into deliberations unsure of the verdict I wanted to go with. In the end, that meant that I had not been convinced, beyond a reasonable doubt, that the defendant did the deed. The DA, we feel was let down by the evidence gathered, or not gathered, by the police. We didn't even get to hear from the lead detective in the case. That also presents a level of doubt about the case. The defendant did do stupid, and there was a lesser charge that we did find him guilty of. Although I did write down the name of the defense attorney, in case I ever need a criminal lawyer. ::grin::

It is a good reminder about 'innocent until proven guilty.' That the prosecutor has to prove that the person charged with a crime is guilty. The defense does not have to really do anything, but they are there to help cast the doubt. The judge was fair and worked hard to maintain the neutrality that the position requires.

It was a good feeling in the end. That at least some part of the justice system does work. I have done my civic duty for this round, which is also a good thing.

Date: 2025-05-11 11:09 pm (UTC)
From: [personal profile] timespirt
Back to fandom from real life. Sounds like it was a simple case?

Date: 2025-05-12 12:01 am (UTC)
From: [personal profile] timespirt

Was the person charged with anything?

Date: 2025-05-12 02:19 am (UTC)
From: [personal profile] timespirt

Thank you for explaining that.

Date: 2025-05-12 09:38 pm (UTC)
From: [personal profile] timespirt
Well, here's to hoping the child is looked after.

"HUGS"

Date: 2025-05-12 02:05 am (UTC)
adafrog: (Default)
From: [personal profile] adafrog
Good.

Date: 2025-05-12 09:10 am (UTC)
nagi_schwarz: (Default)
From: [personal profile] nagi_schwarz
Kudos to you for serving! Way to go. Trials IRL are typically way more tedious and boring than on TV, and due to the CSI effect people expect things to happen during a case that are unlikely or unfeasible or sometimes impossible. Also people really do forget “innocent until proven guilty” for reals. Glad you got to see it in action! Also your phrase “do stupid” reminded me of my undergrad criminal justice professor who often used the made-up crime “stupid in a no-stupid zone” for hypothetical scenarios.

Profile

goddess47: Emu! (Default)
goddess47

March 2026

S M T W T F S
12 3 4567
89 1011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 06:52 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios