schneefink: Dracula's castle (Castlevania castle)
My mom is currently doing a no-smartphone-challenge with her students, and I decided to do the light version and set myself a goal of 1.5 hours of smartphone time per day (normal phone calls don't count.) I did well the first few days but then failed the last three, and right now I'm realizing the limit means I can't use my phone to listen to streams while doing the dishes. Boo.

Other effects: I read books on my e-book-reader on my commute instead of fics on my phone. And I really wish my radio wasn't broken but it hasn't reached the necessary annoyance level yet to get it fixed.

I'm not behind on my study plan for my next exam yet! (The upcoming exam is mostly VAT so both important and relevant and hard.) We'll see how long it lasts, but I'm in week 3 and that's pretty good especially for my standards. And that's despite me being sick one weekend and having a bad cold the next.

I told myself I'd combine it with finally starting the Hades 2 1.0 playthrough I've been planning for months, and for the first two weeks I actually managed to stick to my "one run per study session" rule but, uh, not anymore. Ahem. Good news, still having a lot of fun playing Hades 2. And thanks to playing over 130 hours in Early Access I'm so much better than when I started my first playthrough.
(I started now because the plan was DD would start the week after and then we can talk about it, but she had a schedule change and still hasn't started so that didn't work out either ^^)

But since I started playing Hades 2 I mostly stopped playing Vampire Survivors - not completely, I have done a few more runs to get some of the very last unlocks/secrets, but mostly. So have the remaining notes for now, directly continuing from last time.

More Vampire Survivors: more bats, still no vampires. )


I should stop procrastinating and do the dishes.
schneefink: River walking among trees, from "Safe" (Default)
This is the first weekend in a long time for which I had no outside plans, and it was sunny and I was so looking forward to going for a walk, but instead I was sick in bed. Uuuuugh.

But it is the last day of February so have some last-minute recs for some of my favorite Yuletide 2025 fics with no canon knowledge required.

6 fics with no canon knowledge required: Chalion Saga, Dangerous Crow Boy Whose Job It Is To Destroy Plastic, The Lottery/The New Yorker, Sieben Jahre/18th century Prussia RPF, FAQ: The Snake Fight portion of your thesis defense, Knives Out movies )
schneefink: Dracula's castle (Castlevania castle)
I did it, I got to the credits and unlocked the Queen :D

Notes, spoilers everywhere )

I definitely want to continue playing and discover more, at least for a bit (until DD finally has time to play Hades 2, most likely, because we decided to start an 1.0 playthrough at roughly the same time.) But I'm glad I got to this point now because that'll make it much easier to take a break.
schneefink: Caduceus Clay in shiny light (CR Caduceus glowing)
Oh no I fell into Vampire Survivors again. A few days ago I said I had no idea where to go for game progression, but there is an actual "unlock" menu so I followed that for a bit and now I have ten different things I want to do next, and I definitely want to complete the 1.0 achievements because of the cool prize - and after that there is a very cool Castlevania DLC as well! Spoilers )

Last weekend my gf and her friend L and I tried out Hanabi (I had only played it online before) and that was a lot of fun. We also baked four different kinds of Vanillekipferl because why not?, and they were very good.

On Monday together with more friends we watched Wake Up Dead Man, the third "Knives Out" movie, and had a great time. It was in turns (and sometimes all at once) tense, exciting, emotional, and very funny. All of us suspected the murderer from the beginning but it was still great to see it all play out. I would like several more movies in this series please.
This one felt a lot more, hm, grounded than the second one, not "rich people on a remote island" but instead a small community with characters that felt like they could be anywhere. (Unfortunately, in some cases.) I suspect that there were some things implied that I missed because I think in the US religion is very closely related to social class, and also I'm pretty sure Catholicism has different connotations, but it still worked very well.

I'm still watching a lot of Hermitcraft and some other MCYT. Season 11 is a lot of fun, and can barely wait for Decked Out 3.
Mid-Offs 3 is soon, and the draft on Friday! It's an event where top Minecraft speedrunners coach people with little to no MCSR experience through a tournament. Scar is in this one and I'm excited, and I think False could do really well too. Though afaik neither of them have any MCSR experience, unlike e.g. Ludwig who's been playing for the past month or so. I saw a couple of clips and enjoyed that people made dozens of parody songs for him.
Then the Hermitcraft charity event is in April again (Cleo will participate IRL this time, yay!) - the weekend before my exam unfortunately >.< But what if I'm really really well prepared... And didn't get distracted by MCYT Battleship in March either...
schneefink: Gail from Phoenotopia: Awakening standing in front of the Anuri temple (PHOA Gail at Anuri temple)
I finished books 1-7 of Dungeon Crawler Carl in two weeks, and more importantly I managed to drag both my gf and DD into it too - I think that's one of my strengths :) I had a great time.
spoilers )

Slight downside, DD and I haven't started our Hades 2 1.0 playthroughs yet, since we planned to start at the same time and she just got to book 6 of DCC ^^ Hopefully soon though.

Instead I played a few runs of Vampire Survivors again. Good for occasional short play sessions that don't require much brainpower (though it is easy to forget to look at the time...) I don't unlock something every run but almost, which feels very cool and like I'm getting somewhere even though I have no idea what to do/where to go for actual game "progression." I might look it up at some point, idk.

(I also considered exploring the new Minecraft updates - I want to find a happy ghast! And ride a nautilus!, among other things - but I lost one set of good armor/tools in the End and another in the Nether a few months ago, and both are very possible to retrieve but I haven't found the motivation yet to either get one of them or make myself new gear. Possibly keepInventory would have been a good idea after all.)

Speaking of games, specifically board games: in early January with L and two of her friends we played Wingspan, which was a lot of fun, and then we tried out Earth, which we also enjoyed a lot. That one we tried first in single player, and then we decided to try the version where you play in teams but quickly switched back because it gets a lot more tactical quickly. The third long game the three of them played was Forest Shuffle - I detect a theme ^^
We also played a quick game of Pandemic. And this reminds me that L and I didn't get a chance to play Hanabi yet, hopefully soon.

It's also been ages since I gave an update on my group's TTRPG games and our current Stars Without Number campaign! We got to level six, which means I can now do "normal" teleports without Committing Effort and it feels fantastic. And I got some other cool abilities too, like imprinting on a party member to teleport back to their side even when they are out of sight.
Recent adventures )
schneefink: Scarland castle (Hermitcraft s9) with the sun shining through it (Hermitcraft Scarland)
The new year has started and I almost forgot about monthly recs already.
To start with, three Hermitcraft fanworks, 1 animation and two fics: fusions with Slay the Spire, Uma Musume, and Pokémon (knowledge of other fandoms not required.)

Slay the Citadel by [tumblr.com profile] cocoabats
Animation, Hermitcraft s10/Slay the Spire
Summary: i spent way too much time on this but hey! decked out 2 in the style of slay the spire!
slay the citadel?
Why I love it: This is so cool! I know nothing about Slay the Spire but all the Hermitcraft parts are so fitting and look so cool and the atmosphere is so great.

and two fics )
schneefink: Hornet walking in Moss Grotto (Silksong Hornet Moss Grotto)
I think this is the last year I do [community profile] fandomtrees because like last time I didn't make as many gifts as I wanted and feel bad...

But I did write a post-canon Silksong drabble I'm quite proud of:
Silk Snare for [archiveofourown.org profile] knave_of_swords
post-canon Lace(&Hornet) drabble
Summary: Much Silk was needed to see her sustained.
Notes: One of my favorite fannish drabbles I've written, I think it works very well.


I got pretty icons under my tree: some Hornet icons by [profile] gimmighoulcoins and some Grian icons by [personal profile] sarajayechan :D Lovely.

And I also got two other Silksong gifts recently:
Sunlight Dyed by [archiveofourown.org profile] CrushingOnGogh
stained glass art
Summary: Hornet from Silksong, depicted in stained glass
So pretty! The lights and the colors and the shapes!

reprieve by [archiveofourown.org profile] strifetxt
1k, Hornet & Shakra gen
Summary: Hornet, a conversation, and a musing.
Aaah the Hornet feelings <3
schneefink: Taako looking excited (TAZ Taako excited)
I'm behind on household chores and fandom things (my end-of-year post, snowflake challenge etc.) and the next few weeks are going to be stressful because I have weekend classes again and other plans; and yet the past few days I've spent most of my spare time (and some time when I should have been asleep) reading the first 4.5 books of Dungeon Crawler Carl by Matt Dinniman. I'd heard enough good things about it that I put a hold on the first two books immediately when my library got them, and when I was finished with them I immediately wanted to continue reading.
Unfortunately the ebook versions of books 3-7 are only available on amazon from what I've seen and I try to avoid giving them money when I can, so I joined the author's Patreon instead and am now reading the unedited versions of the other books. It's very hard to stop reading! There's always just one more thing I want to see how it goes, and then the next.

I enjoy the LitRPG and power-up fantasy aspects, but I think my favorite angle is the reality TV death game. Reminds me of the Hunger Games in that aspect, with bonus corporate politics in the background. I also like the characters, the main cast and the supporting cast, and I enjoy the crazy plans. Can't wait to see where it goes! ...except I have to because of chores and classes etc. etc. and I should also try to get enough sleep. Boo.
schneefink: River walking among trees, from "Safe" (Default)
Happy New Year!

By New Year's both L and I had recovered from being sick for Christmas; I was only a little sick but L got it pretty bad. We spent it with friends, LK and MSZ, with good food and games, and the only downside was that we didn't see many fireworks.

We finally tried out the Minecraft: Builders & Biomes board game LK and MSZ gifted me for my birthday two years ago, somehow we had not gotten around to it before. It was fun! Definitely something I can imagine playing again.
Some with Minecraft: Explorers, a cooperative card game that I enjoyed so much I am planning to buy it for myself, too. We played it twice and won once (but it was a very close loss.)
I would love to play more board & card games this year. I have two cooperative board games that I haven't played in years, "Lord of the Rings" and "Village Attacks," hopefully there'll be some time for that, and I also just bought "Hanabi," which I've only played online so far.

Then on the first day of the new year L and I didn't do much, very relaxed, that was nice. I worked on the 2nd, but only for half a day. And now I'm both working on my 2025 recap, trying to catch up on reading & commenting (so many fic updates at the end of the year & exchange reveals!), and hopefully write something for [community profile] fandomtrees. (I forgot to link my own tree, here, requesting Silksong, Hermitcraft, and Vampires SMP.)
schneefink: Scarland castle (Hermitcraft s9) with the sun shining through it (Hermitcraft Scarland)
I didn't participate in Yuletide this year, but I did write a gift for a friend:

Ghost of Christmas Fork-In-The-Road for [archiveofourown.org profile] springbeetle, Hermitcraft/Life Series
2.6k, gen, Grian&Grian, Hermitcraft s11 / Nice Life crossover
Summary: What if there were two Grians, one an admin who organizes death games and the other a prankster and builder on a mostly-vanilla server, and one of them put the other in a cage.
Notes: I had a lot of fun with this. I wish I had had space for an appearance by trivia bot (maybe could have figured something out if I had more time) but that just has to be an AU for if Hermitcraft Grian arrived a little earlier.

Life series seasons I have now written fic for:Read more... )
schneefink: River walking among trees, from "Safe" (Default)
Of the many pre-Christmas stressful things this year, an unexpected one is [community profile] ficinabox. And I didn't even participate this year! But I usually try to read and comment widely before creator reveals and this year the timing was not great for me.

I did find many fanworks to enjoy and loved many of them, and here are some of my favorites. Several of them can be enjoyed fandom-blind.

This Ao3 Author's Curse Has Got Hands by [archiveofourown.org profile] antimony_medusa
Dream SMP, 5.6k, Phil & Techno, urban fantasy AU, A/N format
Summary: Fanfic author Technoblade has been pre-writing and is excited to start posting his whumptober longfic, his trusty beta Philza at his side. Unfortunately for his posting schedule, the Ao3 author's curse hits him hard, fast, and with an intensity never before seen. Really it's starting to seem like he's cursed.
Does this mean that he gives up posting his fic?
Nah nah nah nah nah he's got this handled. Don't even worry about it. Chapters will be posted come hell, high water, hospital visit, house invasions, eviction, mob action, emergency road trip, or kidnapping. Technoblade never dies, and he never misses an update.
Why I love it: A story told entirely in author's notes: the format works fantastic, the character voice is impeccable, and most importantly it's hilarious.
Canon knowledge required: Definitely not (tested on my gf.)

More FIAB fics: 3x Hermitcraft, 1x original, 1x All For The Game, 1.5x Nirvana in Fire, 1x Nirvana in Fire 2 )
schneefink: River walking among trees, from "Safe" (Default)
I have an e-book-reader with many many unread books on it. But when I'm e.g. on the underground, taking out and turning on my e-reader would be an extra step, and it's easier to read things on my phone. Which used to be fic, but now I also have the library app on my phone so I can read books I'm currently borrowing from the library. Convenient, but a side-effect is that which books I read next is more often determined by which books I finally got from my wait lists. And sometimes it is almost stressful when I get several at the same time ^^
But they were good books :)
(Spoilers hidden separately.)

Camp Damascus, by Chuck Tingle
Camp Damascus )

The Incandescent, by Emily Tesh
The Incandescent )

Queen Demon, by Martha Wells
Queen Demon )
schneefink: Quirrel from Hollow Knight sitting on a bench (HK Quirrel on bench)
I played very little Silksong in the past 1-2 weeks and did pretty much everything I wanted to in my first playthrough (before the DLCs come out) so now is a good time to post the "epilogue" notes.

Things I did after the true ending )

Some more thoughts )

LPs I watched )

I already know what I want to play next: Hades 2, of course. (But probably not this year, I have a huge backlog of books etc.)
schneefink: Ambassador Yan staring out at enemy country (NiF ambassador Yan)
I'm feeling better, but I went to the doctor's office and to the pharmacy and to the store this morning and afterwards I was absolutely wiped.

Too tired to catch up on chores just yet, but I can start catching up on reviews, at least.

Three weeks ago, friends and I went to see Maria Theresia the musical at Ronacher. I rarely go see musicals in Vienna; the last one was the Falco musical in the same place around 1-2 years ago, both of them premiered there. I enjoyed "Rock Me Amadeus" more than expected, so I was very curious about a new one about empress Maria Theresia. A key figure of Austrian history; I only remembered bits and pieces of what I learned about her at school and during museum visits etc, but I briefly looked at her Wikipedia page beforehand just in case.

I had a good time! The beginning was the weakest part imo, but then it picked up the pace and focus. Of course they took plenty of liberties with historical facts but that was inevitable. I liked the music (not especially memorable but I am also not great at remembering music in general tbf) and staging, and especially some of the things they did with the lights. I found Falco too loud in places, but not this one, possibly because we sat further back.

Spoilers )


Afterwards I was in the mood to read a book about the Habsburgs, and the only one currently available as an ebook from the library was one about "scandalous love affairs of the Habsburgs," by Hanne Egghardt. Fortunately a quick stop to any romanticizing of the Habsburgs through sheer, hm, mundanity. It features several scandalous affairs throughout the centuries, from the wife of the emperor falling in love with and almost certainly having an affair with her sister-in-law, to Napoleon's widow having kids with a general sent to look after her, to several archdukes falling in love with "commoners" - with varying degrees of happy endings that all showcase why such relationships were viewed with much skepticism.
It was often mentioned that these nobles had allowances of specific sums of money that all sounded like a lot, but I have no context how much so-and-so thousand guilders were worth back then so I couldn't say whether they were extremely rich or just moderately wealthy for their station.
schneefink: River walking among trees, from "Safe" (Default)
I'm sick (uuugh), but it's November 30th and I don't want to fail my monthly rec challenge now. So you get four Hermitcraft recs without a larger theme. 1 art & 3 fic (1 space AU & 2 admin power games, one of them a Life series crossover.)
I don't think canon knowledge is required for any of them: definitely not the first two, and I think the important parts of the other two become clear very quickly.

in too deep by [archiveofourown.org profile] modest_starr
digital art, Geminitay
Summary: additional tags: Imminent Character Death, she is literally drowning, Hallucinations, Eye strain, highly saturated colors, Hermitcraft Season 10, Anthropologist Geminitay, Sea Monsters
Why I like it: The tags say "hallucinations" but I also really like the idea of scientist Gem looking too deep. Very cool colors.

Why is everyone sucking Farlands' dick over their new ship??? by [archiveofourown.org profile] Kaesa
6k, SF AU, implied Scar/Grian, social media outsider PoV with in-universe RPF
Summary: Hey, uh, what's with everyone losing their minds over Farlands' Good Times? I thought we all agreed Farlands was evil incarnate? Last big colony mission they launched, even half the people at Brave Voyages were like "wow so sick of Farlands' bullshit, hope Farlands explodes," but this thing has been around for less than a year and people HERE are like, writing romantic poetry about it? Can someone explain? Obviously I too am fascinated by whether they're using tuned mass dampers or something else to keep the gravity steady, and the reflex rewiring they have to do to the pilots to get something that big through hyperspace is wild, but uh. This is not that.
A forum thread from the future.
Why I love it: Reccing part 2 here so I have a good reason to rec the series when it's done; I also recommend part 1 but I like this one even better. Scar is a Pilot, which means he controls a spaceship with his brain, and Grian is his doctor. Very cool worldbuilding and very funny.

feeling a gold hand unfolding on me by [archiveofourown.org profile] springbeetle
3.3k, Grian & Xisuma, non-sexual kink (body modification, admin powers)
Summary: It was daylight, not that you could tell from the enclosed room Xisuma had teleported Grian into. A bright, fantastic Hermitcraft day, his friends bustling about the server engaged in activities, cheerfully oblivious to what Xisuma and Grian were about to do in this room together. To what Xisuma was about to do to Grian.
Most Hermits weren’t big on tradition, when you got down to it. They’d been around too long, seen enough of the universe to have set preferences about their bodies, or they had their own plans for each season. Scar and Cub had recently finished with their predatory ConVex business, for instance, and Cleo kept her zombieness– zombitude? Zombiehood?-- firmly under her own control, and the less said about Joe’s usual brand of shenanigans, the better.
So it had been unusual, having a new player such as Grian bring the concept up in the roundabout fashion he had, side-eyeing Xisuma like he wasn’t sure whether Xisuma would just snatch him up one day, like he was checking off a box on some haphazard to-do list-- like he’d smacked himself on the helmet and gone oh, silly me, that’s right! I forgot to modify Grian to my personal preferences last month!
Why I like it: Wonderful take on admin Xisuma taking care of his player even with an unusual request. I like how Xisuma needs the encouragement and reassurances to keep going but he does enjoy getting into his evil role when he feels comfortable and he is good at it, too. And Grian is very good at prodding him just enough and having to admit he doesn't not want this, delicious.

a weave that can be unpicked by [archiveofourown.org profile] strifetxt
3.4k, Scar&/Grian, Third Life
Summary: Grian's eyes widen. “Wait, did you think I’d made a plug-in to force players into turning hostile?”
Scar blinks. “Didn’t you?”
“Wh— No, of course not!”
“Oh.” Scar deflates, but then, just as quickly, perks back up. “Could you though?”

Or: Scar has some ideas to make Third Life more fun. Grian has some concerns.
Why I like it: Excellent recursive fic of the above, and another case of a player prodding an admin into using their powers on them. I love the intimacy of the admin power used on a willing subject.
schneefink: Quirrel from Hollow Knight sitting on a bench (HK Quirrel on bench)
I did it! I finished the game with 100% completion :D That was so good.

True Ending spoilers )
schneefink: Scarland castle (Hermitcraft s9) with the sun shining through it (Hermitcraft Scarland)
I found out I have iron-deficiency anemia (again.) Looking at the list of possible symptoms explains a lot about my last few weeks: I thought it was stress at first and then started to get concerned after the exam. Mostly it's reassuring because it's treatable with simple iron tablets, but a little frustrating too because it'll take a while and I would like to be cured immediately, thank you, I'm getting really sick of being so tired and struggling to focus.
And I'm feeling a bit extra whiny today because I got vaccinated and my arm hurts.

The MCSR Midoffs s2 have started and are live right now: the first match was already absolute cinema, so many plot twists in one match. I watched the first two and I definitely want to watch Cub play later, but I took a break to play more Silksong (and other stuff.) I'm practicing the final boss rn a few attempts at a time, very cool fight.

Tomorrow season 11 of Hermitcraft starts! I'm excited. Can't wait to find out what new gimmick they've come up with, who bases with who (fingers crossed for a few neighbors I'm hoping for - mostly Buttercups tbh), all their plans...
(come to think of it, didn't Joe want to post more s10 videos at some point? ^^)
Side effect, this is not going to help my "too many things and never enough time" problem at all.

I finally managed to read a book that's been on my to-read list for a long time: Project Hail Mary by Andy Weir.
Thoughts with spoilers )
Another book in the category of "if I hadn't had high expectations because I saw so many recs I wouldn't have felt disappointed." I still enjoyed it overall.
schneefink: Quirrel from Hollow Knight sitting on a bench (HK Quirrel on bench)
After playing Hollow Knight: Silksong for 100 hours, I'm at 99% game completion working toward the true ending and still having a great time.

Approaching endgame, spoilers )
schneefink: River walking among trees, from "Safe" (Default)
I read three books in the past week and a half, and all three of them non-SFF. It's been a while since that happened! And probably will be a while after that: the next couple of books on my reading list are all SFF again.

Conclave, by Robert Harris: It's always tricky to read a book after watching the movie made based on it, but in this case it felt like both a good book to the movie, and that the movie was a good adaption of the book. It was very difficult not to see the characters from the movie while reading, even the main character who was the only one who got a different name in the movie. The book had a few details the movie couldn't fit and otherwise some minor changes, and I think if I felt more fannish about it comparing them would be very interesting but I'm not quite invested enough.

Into Thin Air, by Jon Krakauer: A gripping personal account of a Mount Everest expedition that ended in disaster.
Reading this was a bit strange because I kept getting a feeling of déja vu, but I can't recall reading similar books. I think I was probably remembering a couple of documentaries I watched as a kid (several of them featuring Reinhold Messner, probably - for some reason for some time I thought he was "just" the best Austrian (actually South Tyrolean/Italian) climber and didn't realize he had so much global fame.) Very little in the book I found actually surprising, though some of the details were even harsher than I'd expected, like how difficult it even is to eat that high up.
Funnily enough I kept thinking about the post-main-story snippet for the Superstition series that recalls how Jacks almost broke up with Luc because Luc decided he had to climb Mount Everest after retiring from the NHL, something Jacks considered extremely risky and irresponsible. And with good reason!
The book did a good job showing how a couple of not-so-egregious-on-their-own mistakes that under ideal conditions would have barely mattered added together under not-ideal conditions led to disaster. One of the most interesting parts of the book for me was the interplay between "on the mountain" and "the outside world." Reading a little more about the reception of the book afterwards, it's shocking how the survivors have seemingly had to justify their actions for the next years and decades and how fixated other people who weren't there and had little if any personal connections became on who was to blame.

Slow Horses, by Mike Herron: I actually don't remember where I got this recommendation - I might have just seen it in the "new books" category from the library? It's been a while since I read a spy thriller and I was in the mood for one for some reason.
It took me a while to get into this, and at first I was not even sure I would continue because I dislike "everyone is miserable and nobody likes each other" settings. But fortunately it gave me enough hope it would get better (and eventually did get slightly better) until the exciting spy and action parts kicked in, and those were indeed fun. I put a hold on the next part of the series just in case.
schneefink: River walking among trees, from "Safe" (Default)
Canon divergence AUs are my favorite genre of Vorkosigan Saga fics, here are some I enjoyed a lot.

3 series with additional children and 1 isekai )

Profile

schneefink: River walking among trees, from "Safe" (Default)
schneefink

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
8910 11121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 23rd, 2026 02:37 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios