thena: (Channeling my inner bitch)
Thena ([personal profile] thena) wrote2010-07-08 04:01 pm

Because 140 characters is too short to vent my TSA outrage

So I know the drill at the airports. You're allowed one quart-size zip-top baggie containing your liquid products, but only up to 3 oz. You have to take the baggie out of your carry-on and put it in the bin, along with your shoes and laptop.

This morning at O'Hare, I did all of that and emptied out my pockets. They seemed to be randomly selecting people for the full-body scanner or the magnetometer. Dad and I both got flagged for the body scanner. There was no apparent reason why, but a woman who worked her way between us in line got sent through the regular magnetometer. They thought I had stuff hidden in the extra pockets of my cargo pants and pulled me aside for a pat-down, but I turned my pockets inside out to show that they were empty. Dad wasn't so lucky. He carries a small travel pill bottle with his daily meds. He got pulled aside for a pat down and got yelled at by the TSA screener because he did not fully empty his pockets.

Meanwhile, our stuff was piling up at the end of the conveyor belt after going through x-ray. The bin with Dad's stuff actually fell on the floor, so once they finally cleared me, I was scrambling to retrieve his stuff: shoes, laptop, and carry-on, plus my own bag and shoes. Thank goodness I didn't bring my laptop, too. After he was done getting his 5-minute lecture about emptying his pockets, Dad was cleared and we started walking away.

We hadn't gotten very far when I realized I had no recollection of grabbing my baggie of liquids, so I ran back to the screening area. However, the TSA agent I approached said, "Oh, no, we don't save that stuff if you forget it. It's gone. We throw it out."

So I grumbled and ranted as we went to get breakfast, and ranted some more as we walked to the gate, and then I grabbed my phone and ranted on Twitter while we waited for our flight to board. That's when Dad went to grab something out of his laptop case and found my baggie of make-up shoved in one of the pockets.

I really have no idea how it got there, but I guess in all the chaos when I was trying to retrieve his laptop and shoes, I must have grabbed the baggie. It all works out, but ugh, I hate having to deal with the TSA.

[identity profile] stargatejunkie.livejournal.com 2010-07-09 12:47 am (UTC)(link)
Ugh, the TSA. I am sorry you had to go through all of that. But yay for your bag being in the laptop case! Silver lining?

[identity profile] intaglio-road.livejournal.com 2010-07-09 03:59 pm (UTC)(link)
I LOATHE the TSA.