zeplum: (Default)
Number One Rule of this LJ: It's like Camelot...It is a silly place.

I am an Idea Girl. It's someone else's call to decide if it sticks or not.
zeplum: (Default)
Hey! So if we met at MJ and good feelings held through to the end, this is me! Same [personal profile] zeplum in ALL the places.

Had a large Give Up The Ghost moment Saturday afternoon wherein I decided that active participation in fandom might not be a decent reality any longer, or that I just need to learn to love a different bomb (ie, figure out personal fannish interaction with fellow awesome people).

ANYWHO. I have gotten waaaay out of the habit of posting at LJ/DW, and both are flocked (but I'll friend back if you're not a Cylon) though I'm trying to jump back in, and my Twitter is locked, though fair notice, a lot of it is squee about hockey ass, etc. or general crankiness because half the departments I have to work with are WORTHLESS as alas, Twitter's my outlet.

Thankfully, my tumblr is a THING OF JOY. :)
zeplum: (capital hill)
I'm basically feeling like I did exactly a year ago - angry, frustrated, despondent, ignored, alienated, incompetant, and like a general waste of space. And it makes me miss my dad so much, because he did everything he could to facilitate (in his own way) what I supposedly needed to make it day to day, even if it was just going to get my favorite cookies

Clearly, it's AWESOME. And I know it'll pass, but I feel like an asshole and wonder why I'm ignored, etc, and guess what, asshole.

At least I'm still rational, right?
zeplum: (Default)
holiday love meme 2012

my thread here


Yes, I know. But I'm actually NOT feeling misanthropic, so love spreading shall happen, whether it's anon or not! Because I've been neglectful of all!
zeplum: (Default)
If I get a bunch of new icons, that means I'm committing to posting again, right?
zeplum: (proper villains)
Last night I found this shirt and squealed because of it's relation to my long lost love, Tour of Duty.

And it got me thinking - I think we ALL have fandoms like this - multiple fandoms, even - the ones that were small, or the ones that have kind of fallen out of fashion or by the wayside, but they're fandoms that we still go back and visit from time to time.

For instance, I came to Tour of Duty WAY late, or I'd love to know who else out there still has much love for The Pretender.


ANYWAY, I had this notion that this would be a great thing to do at [community profile] muskratjamboree - have some sort of card that people could fill out and stick on a bulletin board and like some personals ad, find OTHER people that love the same shit you do, but that you've never met before, etc.

It could likely go very well in an online medium, but I really like the personal aspect to it, possibly just because in-person squee is a lovely thing to behold.
zeplum: (Default)
I need to leave for a while.

LJ and DW username addresses should work if you need to get in touch.
zeplum: (darcy lewis - fangirl spirit animal)
Y'know that point where you just need to try even though it's not what you were trying for in the first place? Yeah, well, I hit that yesterday.

The 18 millionth entry into the How Darcy Got to Work at S.H.I.E.L.D )


I'm still trying to work on the whole Steve & Darcy thing, but hi, one of the problems of having so many great writers around (and many of them that you *know*) is, sadly, insecurity locks in, even if you have something to say that's maybe valid.

So, y'know, trying. And constantly remembering that bit from Wonderfalls about GETTING HER WORDS OUT.
zeplum: (hide me)
Day 14

In your own space, ask for help. Need a beta? Always wanted to learn how to make a vid? a fanmix? icons? Maybe you'd want to have someone cheering for you while you work on an upcoming big bang or fannish bingo?


Back in the days when I was writing all the time, I also had a great little group of people to email back-and-forth-with about all manner of things, and ah, wasn't 2006 lovely in some ways.

And now people have grown up, have real jobs, and that sort of thing has stopped. Hell, we all know what happened when I got too near THAT Internet Dragon (for all those with work access and freedom, know you're lucky), and my personal interaction with people zeroed out.

Okay, other stuff too.

But the point is that if I needed a beta, or a cheerleader, I don't know who I would ask. Everyone is busy. I'm scared of how people would rake my work over the coals; they don't know me well enough to know where I was going, what I was trying for (trust me, this is a thing). And apparently, despite my lackluster-to-better efforts, I have no idea what anyone is into, much less who will beta, and I'm scared to ask.

So yeah, Avengers beta with a softer touch? General cheerleading?

It's been a shite three days, so this is all coming out way more emotionally charaged than I had intended, but yeah, the feeling is there.

At the end of the day, I need to get back into some sort of groove. Fandom-wise, life wise, EVERYTHING wise.



One more entry and we can all be done with this thing.
zeplum: (proper villains)
Day 13

In your own space, share a favorite piece of original canon (a TV episode, a song, a favourite interview, a book) and explain why you love it so much.


A sampling:

1. The Flaming Riv/Ray's Confession/Rubber Duckies scene in "Burning Down the House" due South.

Whenever I think of dS, my love for the show, or even when I just mention it to Muggles, this is the scene that pops in my head. To me, it's everything about the show - absurdity, magical realism, Canada Yay!, buddies and HEART.


2. The Farscape episode "Nerve". It was the ep that made me sit up and take notice, as it hit higher and lower brain functions all at once.

To me, this is where Farscape came into itself - it's where the arc that carried through the next three seasons was laid out, and there was a deep shift in tone. Yeah, sure, we got CARTOON episodes and cracked out everything too, but "Nerve" is representative of Farscape's strong, darker side. And it's where shit gets real. Okay, yeah, getting goose pimples just thinking about it.


3. The bit with the treats cart in Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone.

My sister was the first to read the books, and I remember her reading this scene to me and my dad in our tiny kitchen. The creativity of just that part was what got me interested. Who cared about this complex and emotional plot arc? I wanted to know more about this WORLD.

Like, 12 or 13 years later and not a bit has changed.


4. Prime/Not Prime from Stargate Atlantis. Geeks! Being fully geeky! And, I mean, we had already latched on to the show as a whole, but man, that did it for me.


5. "This is the best party EVER." - Kat Warbler, The Class

The Class. The show that no one watched, but was (and is) beloved by a faithful few. And, um, probably has the closest approximation of ME as a character anywhere. That was THE line from the pilot ep (which was pretty strong as pilots go), and well, I love it in a narcissistic way.


6. That bit in the mini of BSG where Kara's in the brig, and Lee comes to say, "Hi", and they do that bit where there's leaning and um, there's sexual tension all over the place. SCREAMING with it.

I knew I was already hooked (hi, BATTLE DRUMS), but god, there's pretty much no better way to pique my interest.

And then, years later, the finale kind of killed me (and I will never for how [personal profile] bexless knew exactly how and why, or at least remembered that I'd be distraught), and I haven't been able to re-watch it since.


7. When Miss Parker ties up Jarod during that hurricane.

You want a show with a strong female character? Check out The Pretender. There's a hurricane, snark, bondage, and no soft edges. It's awesome.
zeplum: (proper villains)
Day 12

In your own space, rec at least three fanworks that you think would make a good intro into XYZ fandom. Rec a fandom overview, a introductory picspam, stories that define and shape the fandom. Leave a comment in this post saying you did it. Include a link to your post if you feel comfortable doing so.


Typical, probably the most important question in the challenge and I can't come up with anything. Too many fandoms? To ADHD in general?


I will say, weirdly enough, I think I've fallen into many fandoms with AUs - like, completely different universes, settings usually. Maybe it's got something to do with the character. Or something.


Hi, ambitious, but RUBBISH.



Hey, only 3 more! I've got Day 13 sort of done, so there's that. Woo!
zeplum: (proper villains)
(Fandom Snowflake Challenge and master post)

Day 10

In your own space, talk about a creator. Show us why you think they are amazing.


Skipping this one because it makes me feel uncomfortable. I'm trying to get back on the feedback train (Or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Kudos Button @ AO3), and I've managed to fangirl a few authors in my day (bless, sparky77 for not thinking I was totally weird).

I will add that I'm regularly caught saying IN REAL LIFE how much I love fandom's brain (brains of individuals, and our collective brain - which makes me sound like a zombie, or something even more sinister...oops?).

I love what we can create given sub-par source material. I love what we create with fantastic source material. I am continually gobsmacked by the intelligence and heart I see everyday with fic, meta, random whatevering.

And okay, one of my favourite things is how Person B will make a little off-hand comment in response to Person A's post, and maybe it'll turn into this grand discussion regarding the nature of Ray Kowalksi's hair, or maybe Person B will realize that hey, maybe they've got a fic on their hands with this! Or that Persons C, D, and E will feel free to join in, maybe meet new people.

[However, Person F will be left out of their Reindeer Games. But not really, because there's always a comment thread running somewhere. The Fandom Fairy just has to find you the right home.]


So, that's more a little diatribe on why I think fandom is amazing, because I think we're all creators. Yes, even lurkers too - you guys help supply Zen energy too, or something!

I have seen truly great "creators" in my day. I've made friends with a few, so now I kind of look at them as hoopy froods that make cool shit. And that, fangirls and others, is my crappy answer to that question.



Day 11

In your own space, ask for recs. Something as simple as "I like XYZ (where XYZ is a kink, a pairing, a trope, etc) - please rec me some."


I love, love, love long UST stuff. Or, y'know, short UST stuff. With resolution at the end. Doesn't even have to be grand trumpets or anything, just even an acknowledgement that yeah, they know what's going on.

That stuff SO works for me.

I'm always willing to take a peek into new fandoms, but yeah, not the American Idol stuff? Maybe? I mean, I know I looked askance at bandom and then the next thing I knew there was Mikey's sparkly bass and his general GYAH, Gerard in skeleton PJs, and Wentz being a damned gateway drug to it all.

Also? Panic! in roses.

IDEK. So that just goes to prove that I am easy like Sunday morning.

HEY! See what I did there!
zeplum: (proper villains)
(Fandom Snowflake Challenge and master post)

Day 6 - In your own space, rec at least 3 fanworks you thought you wouldn't like but did. )


Day 7 - In your own space, create a list of at least three fannish things you'd love to receive. )



Day 8

In your own space, talk about a talent (or talents) you have.


- I'm really enthusiastic. Endlessly, and stupidly so. And as a matter of preference, I *try* (and poss. fail) to keep my feelings to myself when I don't like something. And my tastes are pretty varied, so there's usually something for everyone.

- I'm called the Fandom Addiction Fairy for a reason. Sure, I blather on about stuff all the time, but I think I'm also good about recommending specific things to people instead of some blanket rec.

However, I still have a mission to get someone hooked on Quicksilver, because then I can share my brilliant idea of Tom Hardy as Jack Shaftoe, Vagabond King with someone.

- If my tendencies as a polyfannish nutjob have a benefit, it's probably because of my Delicious Pinboard bookmarks. In a way, I want it to be like Portobello Road, like from Bedknobs and Broomsticks, so you can go there and find random recs. Granted, a lot of that use has been taken over by AO3, but for a while there, I think it did a service when fic was still spread far and wide across the net.

- I'm a good Idea Girl - esp. when it comes to crossovers. Not that they get anywhere, but the ideas seem to make people laugh or something, so hey, job done. Also, my true beta skills are for shit, but if you need someone to read something because you're not sure it sounds right, and not for a line edit? I'm not half bad.
zeplum: (contrary)
Had bad job related news this morning, but this has actually been a really good, confidence building exercise:

(Fandom Snowflake Challenge and master post)

In your own space, share something non-fannish you are passionate about with your fannish friends.

It's probably well known that I have a great passion for history. I was raised around it - my father has an extensive library, mostly related to military history, and so I grew up with books about Vietnam, German military history, and everything in between. My parents also made it a point to have us watch the news every night, to have NPR on all day (ah, memorably being forced to listen to the Iran-Contra hearings and Supreme Court nomination reviews), and we'd discuss it ALL.

I never knew anything different. I knew other families didn't operate like this, but never thought it was that uncommon until I was much older, and by that point the History Geek thing was firmly in place.

Now, I can look back and pick out a few things in my younger years that stick out almost in a fannish sense: Watching Johnny Tremaine in elementary school and being all, "Cute boy!, or watching Bedknobs and Broomsticks and 1) wondering what was up with that whole title sequence (the Bayeux Tapestry), because the way it was presented meant that it HAD to be important, and then 2) at the end, when she calls up all the "ghosts" from the museum, wanting to know who all those people were - Caveliers, etc. Then there's that whole business how, at 14 or so, I totally looked forward to Friday nights because Ken Burns The Civil War was on. Fourteen years old, and that was the highlight of my week. Yeah. Oh, and 1776, where I developed a actualfax crush on John Adams. [And was the only reason I was able to drunkenly recognize Independence Hall in Philly while on a pub crawl/Groundhog Day scavenger hunt with [personal profile] serialkarma. Go me.]

I got my degree in History from Florida State, and had pretty awesome professors, who, for the most part, tended to present the material in a manner I agreed with - don't worry so much about the dates, but WHY and HOW things happened. What were the circumstances, philosophies and social movements that brought about change, etc. Possibly needless to say, but I'm kind of a revolution geek too. [Side note: Just discovered an article about Subcomandante Marcos, leader of the Zapatista Army in Mexico in the mid-late 90s that I'd kept. Yeah, while everyone was mooning over Clooney (for my high school years featured a dearth of eye-candy - oh, if only we'd understood how uttlerly awesome Chris Hardwick was...I did, but couldn't convince anyone else), I was mooning over a revolutionary leader thanks to a 60 Minutes piece. Yeah.]

So yeah, to me, history is kind of less about dates, but more about PEOPLE. I can even remember the first moment I really internalized this. I was reading Patriots by AJ Langguth while I was, er, supposed to be working on actual school work (including AP US). The book's great, because it presents our hallowed founding fathers as, guess what, REAL PEOPLE, warts and all. There's a bit in there about how, while crossing a river (might've been the famous Delaware crossing), Henry Knox stood up in a boat, and it started tipping and George Washington actually told him to, "Sit your fat ass down, Harry." OMG <3

History is full of weird, and funny, and starkly human stories, because yeah, humans are the ones who made the history. Obvious. I've laughed a lot, learned a lot, and on a few occasions (Philippine Insurrection) cried a lot.

I'm going to leave off this entry with some of my favourite stories or excerpts that I've collected and posted to LJ over the years.

Alastair Horne, on the outbreak of WWI, and then a quote from during the Paris Commune )


Talk of The Magic Lantern, the Warsaw elections in the late 80s )


Ethan Allen and the (crazy-hilarious) Green Mountain Boys )


"It is very difficult in France to make reforms; we make revolutions in France, not reforms." - Louis-Napoleon

"How can you govern a country which has 246 varieties of cheese?" - Charles de Gaulle


excerpt from The Fall of Paris by Horne )


Haussman: Or, Urban Planning to decrease riots )


Plum's take on the Middle Ages: Sex, Drugs, and the mandolin, baby )


So, if you made it through all that - or just have skipped to this point - thank you for reading along as much as you have.

My history concentrations are in Medievalism (religion, mostly), France (medieval to 1940s, mostly), WWI in general, esp. from a view of the after effects - art/literature that was produced after the war, and European upheavals. I've got a fascination with Russian stuff, but have no background, and soon I'll be starting a book on the English Civil war even though I have little to no knowledge of English history outside of TV and whatever's presented in Stephenson's Baroque Cycle.



Oh, and remember how I mentioned that there were a few things that completely influenced me when I was younger (and this, at the very least, influenced me on *how* I looked at things): Stan Freberg's United States of America: Part I, the Early Years. My dad sat me down in front of the hi-fi, started the record and yeah, it's all his fault.

Washington Crosses the Delaware
Battle of Yorktown (yeah, and that's pretty much all I know about the end of the Revolutionary War. SAD, I know.


If you're interested in some book recs, let me know and I'll be happy to help out where I can.

See also: youknowyoureahistoryfanwhen, fuckyeahhistorycrushes (though caveats there), on Tumblr. My contribution would be, "when you start collecting mini-siege engines", because yeah, guilty. Not to mention my Pope Innocent II action figure, or my collection of Historical Boyfriends.

zeplum: (proper villains)
(Fandom Snowflake Challenge and master post)

Snowflake Challenge - Day 2

In your own space, post a rec for at least three fanworks that you did not create. Drop a link to your post in the comments. See if you can rec fanworks that are less likely to be praised: tiny fandoms, rare pairings, fanworks other than stories, lesser known kinks or tropes. Find fanworks that have few to no comments, or creators new to a particular fandom and maybe aren't well known or appreciated. Appreciate them.



Okay, this is the way I decided to worked this: I <3 random stories. Some of these stories do have a lot of hits, but I think there are a lot of them that might've been overlooked (at the time, or later), or exist in an universe that is not regularly ventured into. Or something.

I think the overall theme of this collection is that, to me, they represent what fanfic is all about - filling in those spaces, expanding on them, blah blah blee transformative-works cakes.


Fandoms include: Top Gun, Football RPF, Young Americans, Veronica Mars RPF, Some Kind of Wonderful, NCIS/SGA, Newsies, Drake & Josh, and Law & Order )

zeplum: (fractured fairy tales)
Life in Washington: September 2010 - June 2011 )

Upon reflection (or, that this post is long enough already), the Last Goonie Weekend retrospective will get its own post.
zeplum: (proper villains)
(Fandom Snowflake Challenge and master post)

Snowflake Challenge - Day 1

In your own space, post a rec for at least three fanworks that you have created. It can be your favorite fanworks that you've created, or fanworks you feel no one ever saw, or fanworks you say would define you as a creator. Drop a link to your post in the comments.



Two Against the World [Smallville/BSG - Chloe/Lex]

I picked this one because I think it fits as a pretty good example of my writing [crossovers, hi!], and because Chloe was one of the first characters I clung to and made work. I love how this story feels, and think it's actually well written and I love tone. It's also one that, because of when it was written, I think it was one no one ever saw.

(See also: The Purcell Dialectic [Stealth/BSG])



A friend of mine from real life, one of the very few that I've let read my stuff, said that I had at least two distinctive writing voices - screwball and creepy/spare. There was probably a third, but I've forgotten it along the way. So while Two Against the World is probably a good example of the 'spare' style, SGA was the heyday for all my screwball comedy stylings to come out and play.


Less Uncomplicated [SGA - Lorne/Novak]
Okay, so yeah, I created my own 'ship and RAN with it. Almost all my stories in SGA fall in some variation of screwball. I particularly like this story, and think it's the most creative in the bunch in terms of playing in the universe, rather than just having rom-com set in that universe.

I think, for a fandom as a whole, I wrote my best in SGA.


Personally, I really seem to find my footing in random one-offs. Like, to paraphrase [personal profile] serialkarma, I am made of Yuletide (though I don't participate]. I'm rather PROUD of being able to switch gears and play in all sorts of 'verses.

I've written stories for Buckaroo Banzai, Sixteen Candles, Goonies, Swing Kids, Memphis Belle, China Beach, Philadelphia story...etc

I love A Canker in a Hedge [Indiana Jones, pre-series Marion/Indy] because it was a story I'd been formulating in my head for YEARS, and I think I really pulled it off. Even though it's heavily MY head-canon, I think it really works in terms of what we see in the intro to Marion in Nepal, and what we see of young Indy from the tv series.

Sleep Now in the Fire [Terminator: SCC, Allison from Palmdale] was the last thing I wrote that I'm truly proud of. The Allison revelation got in my head and STUCK. [see also: A Storm is Coming - T:SCC, Savannah Weaver]


Overall, I'd count myself as extremely fond of crossovers/fusions and working with characters that are under written. I don't know if that's because I enjoy making up backgrounds for characters without one, or if it's because I'm wary of putting myself out there with trying to write popular characters.

Because of this fact, I know I lower my audience by a lot.

However, I have come to terms with certain things, and I have found great satisfaction writing things that fill holes for people - having favourite characters/source material come to life outside of Yuletide. Who cares if it's a Fandom of Two? Write what makes you happy, and if it makes someone else happy? All the better.


All of my fics can be found at zeplum @ AO3

zeplum: (Default)
Oh, tumblr, you beautiful thing - in general - but specifically for providing me with gems like this:

"I think he's different in the way everyone is different in The Avengers, in that the whole cast is building together the concept of a team. When you look at the team it's made out of rock stars, divas, and giant muscles with superpowers so somebody has the job backstage at Lollapalooza to make them all play in the same concert and super band - and that’s what Agent Coulson does."


— Clark Gregg on how Agent Coulson’s role in The Avengers compares to his role in the previous films (via fuckyeahitstheavengers)

Lollapalooza! <333



Basically, in the future, I will just be using Tumblr as story inspiration (god, the visuals) and I feel ZERO guilt about this.
zeplum: (zombie sign saftey)
This is the first of three photo sets I'm posting:
1) The Drive from Florida to Washington (August & September 2010)
2) Life in the PNW (September 2010 - June 2011)
3) The Drive from Washington to Florida (July 2011)

on the road from FL to WA )

Next, up, my days living outside of Seattle, and my solo farewell trip to the Pacific Coast and Oregon.
zeplum: (Default)
So, here's the haps:

The 7th Annual Holiday Love Meme, Secret Santa Style run by [livejournal.com profile] allthingsgood filled up QUICKLY this year and had to be split into multiple parts. The problem? Well, I know of a few people that would've really liked to leave comments, but weren't able to because the comment limit was reached very fast. Sure, a second page was posted, but unless you repeated your entry...yeah.

I don't know if anyone else has hosted a sort of "refugee" meme, but like I said, I do know people that wanted to share good tidings but were unable, so...

LOVE AND APPRECIATION MEME



You know the drill: Drop your user name in the comments and then people can respond with anon (OR NOT, it's all up to you) love and appreciation comments. Easy peasy mincemeat pie.

(I don't know why the "appreciation" part is important to add, but I'm doing it anyway, because that's how I roll.)


Sorry, no fancy coding to offer, only good will and the desire to do something nice for the community I love (and am so very thankful for, believe you me) so much.

Now here's hoping I've got all the comment permissions set right. *fingers crossed*

Profile

zeplum: (Default)
speaks in asides

November 2020

S M T W T F S
1234567
8910111213 14
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930     

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 23rd, 2026 05:28 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios