A question via Geek Feminism Blog, about
picking your battles:
Are there boundaries that you don’t have the energy to push on, or feel that you can only make so many challenges to the kyriarchy and the status quo at one time without all the challenges together meaning each individual one won’t be taken seriously?
Oh, lord, yes.
Especially in my last job, when I was one of a small handful of female engineers, the only female in my department in decades, the only woman on the Emergency Response Team [1], the only woman to have been on that team in decades, and the
leader of said Emergency Response Team. So already pushing quite hard on the being-female-in-male-professions thing. I can't tell you how often I stood at my locker in the morning and fantasized about being able to take off my breasts and hips and hang them in my locker, too. Because it could be fucking exhausting doing my job while having breasts and hips.
...and the workplace was homophobic, to boot. As in, whenever my wife dropped me off and I would kiss her goodbye at the curb, people would sidle up to me for the rest of the fucking day to tell me how "brave" I was, and didn't I worry about my job? As in, the CEO gave standing-ovation anti-gay speeches in the lunchroom. As in, I was told by a friend in HR that the reason they were two years overdue with their LGBT diversity training is because they were still looking for one that wouldn't offend employees who hated gay people. (...yeah.) So not only was I pushing the envelope in being female, but I was pushing the envelope in being out and lesbian. I was the
only -- and I do mean only! -- out queer person anywhere in management.
In that environment, there was no fucking way was I going to come out as bi and poly, too.
As it was, I was already having enough trouble getting people there to take my relationship with
grrlpup seriously. ("No, she's not my 'friend', she's my
partner. Why yes, I
do consider her my family, and I consider 'family' benefits that exclude her to
not be family benefits. Why yes, I
will talk about the cute thing that my wife did last night, in direct response to you telling a story about the cute thing
your wife did last night. Because if it's acceptable to tell stories about
your families, you're damn well going to have to listen to stories about
my family.") I wouldn't have a prayer of getting them to take that relationship seriously if they knew I was "sleeping around on" her. (Which is
not what poly means, but
good fucking luck getting that across.) They were eager for evidence to affirm their suspicions that my relationship with her "didn't really count"; like hell I was going to give it to them.
Similarly, I was also already having enough problems with being routinely and inappropriately sexualized in situations where my gender and sexuality should have been irrelevant. Coming out as a bisexual lesbian, one with multiple relationships, some of which are with men, would have intensified that immensely: forget however
you choose to identify yourself, in the eyes of many, coming out as bi means that you become an instant "hot bi babe". Or, if not "hot bi babe," definitely "available bi babe," which is no better. Either way, you are instantly and intensely sexualized.
And let's be clear here, sexualization and gender interact in a wicked way: being sexualized while female tends to erode one's apparent authority and competency. Being sexualized does not necessarily work that same way for men [2], which is one of the reasons that our boyfriend was out as poly at his workplace, while I was not out as poly at mine. As a straight man sleeping with a pair of lesbians, he got a status upgrade that at least somewhat offset whatever disapproval he got for being in a non-traditional relationship. He got
admired. For me, as a lesbian who sometimes sleeps with men, coming out as poly works out to be a universal status downgrade, yet one more reason to be viewed as a sexual receptacle instead of someone to be taken seriously.
And did I mention that I was already working really hard at being taken seriously, on several fronts? Yeah.
...so that was then. I don't work there anymore, but I'm not out as bi and poly in my new workplace, either. See, nowadays I work as a teacher. Some of my students are high-schoolers. We're talking absolutely zero tolerance for sexual-renegadeness. Sure, I keep my personal life out of the classroom, but I do not kid myself that people around the office do not use my out-of-classroom, around-the-office behavior as a yardstick for guessing at my in-classroom behavior. Being out as a lesbian, in a very low-key "meet my partner" sort of way is one thing -- and even with that one little thing, it took my boss a year to tamp down his startle reflex, and I still run into balky parents from time-to-time. Being public about one's multiple-relationships-and-genders renegade sexual life is a whole new can of worms. And yes, I know there are local anti-discrimination laws for this sort of thing, but I'm also offered work only twenty to a hundred hours at a time, which means that no one would have to do something so obvious as fire me. They would just, you know, never get around to offering me another class. Or not offer me as many as they used to.
Anyway, I'm still not out in my workplace as bi or as poly. Because really, every time I think about taking
this on, too, I cannot find the strength of will for it.
So, there's the answer to that question above: yes, there are battles that I do not take on, there are aspects of myself that I cover in some social situations, such as my workplace. And yes, I do that partly for strategic reasons and partly because I have hit the limit of my projected ability to deal.
...and you know what? I feel like shit about it. I always have. Even putting aside the way that being closeted changes you -- and it
does change you, and the ways it changes you are
not good -- I still hate having made these choices because I feel like I am letting down people I care about. There are women out there who are taking this on: women who are out and proud as bi, who are out and proud as poly, who are standing up to slut-shaming and hypersexualization and the bisexuals-are-backstabbing-fencesitters-who-don't-exist, and who are pushing back against it.
And I love those women. I have a helpless, exhausted,
I am so fucking glad you are there, I don't know what I'd do without you, thank you for wedging your body into that space and making them deal with you, thank you for taking that on, for being willing to take those hits, thank you for making just a little more space for all the rest of us kind of love for them, I couldn't tell you. Every so often, when I'm having trouble dealing, I think of you all -- all you women who are out and proud as bi and/or poly -- and it gives me a little more breath, a little more will to keep on pushing on.
I would like to be standing with you. You totally deserve that.
But I'm not standing with you. I'm standing over here, ducking some of that particular flack. I hope that the flack that I
am taking is in some way ultimately helpful to you, just as what you're doing is ultimately helpful to me. But at the end of the day, I'm not taking that flack. I'm letting you take it.
(Am I lying to myself? Am I assessing things honestly? Accurately? Am I being a coward? Should I be over there with you?
I do not know. But today, this is what it is.)
I can only make this promise to you, and I make it without reservation: I will
not knife you in the back. I will never slut-shame you in an attempt to make myself look more acceptable to the kyriarchy. And if people try to slut-shame you to me -- no,
when people try to slut-shame you to me, because they do -- I will not co-sign what they have to say about you, not even by keeping my mouth shut and pretending I didn't hear.
And if I have to out myself to make it clear that I
do not co-sign, then that is the way it is. I've done it before, and I'll keep right on doing it. Even while I'm not willing to go for broke on being out as bi or poly, I am willing make selected bigots look me in the eye and admit they were talking about me, too.
If I can't be in the front lines with you, then I'll do my damnedest to be a rear guard that you can trust.
That much, I can do for you.
...and comments are screened, because when I've talked about hypersexualization and the "hot bi babe" thing in the past in my journal, there has been a chronic pattern of that
exact same hypersexualization happening in the comment section. The fact that said comments are allegedly good-natured or from friends does
not cancel out the fact that my attempts to discuss being hypersexualized are too often met with a sexualized response.
So I am gonna say this explicitly:
do not do this. Do not speculate on what I am like in bed; do not feed others' speculations (not even if you think you're doing it in my defense); do not debate what kind of bi babe you think I am, and whether you think I deserve the apellation "hot" or not. Do
not think that
you have a license to leer in the very post where I am referencing the effect of men who feel they have a license to leer.
You do not have that license. Capiche?
----
[1] In-house fire brigade and chemical emergency response. Yes, pretty damn masculinized.
[2] Some men do have problems with hypersexualization, and with not being taken seriously because of it. From what I hear, at least gay men and black men, and perhaps some others.