milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (Default)
I've been back from Rome since friday night and since then I haven't done much except drawing and hanging around like a bum. Apart from lots of pictures, art and amazing memories I brought home 79 mosquito bites (I counted them yesterday in a fit of morbid curiosity), at least 1/4th of which are on my already sore feet ([livejournal.com profile] nasssty_slyth and I walked A LOT). I'm surprised that I haven't accidentally scratched myself to death in my sleep or had my feet fall off in spite, though it would have been totally worth it for the BEST VACATION EVER! I can't thank [livejournal.com profile] nasssty_slyth and her family enough for letting me stay with them ♥

Now, some more prompt doodles!

Colored version of the curtain!art doodle )

for [livejournal.com profile] harriet_vane who asked for: Brendon and Spencer at that 50's themed wedding
Gettin ready for a vintage wedding )

for [livejournal.com profile] wethepainted who asked for: Spencer and Brendon at the prom!
Slow dancing - beware of excessive schmoop )
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (panic - brendon/spencer smiley)
My [livejournal.com profile] bandom_hc entry.

Pairing: Brendon/Spencer
Rating: PG
Prompt: 64. Somebody (SPENCER) gets turned into a werewolf and has to be locked in a cage every full moon for his own good and patched up from all the damage he does to himself afterward.

Read more... )

I didn't follow the prompt to the letter, but there's comforting and a cage so I think I got the important parts :D
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (Default)
I finished the first two prompts!

For [livejournal.com profile] anoneknewmoose who gave me MCR werewolves:
Werewolf!Frank )

For [livejournal.com profile] nasssty_slyth who gave me Joe, the mighty knight in search of his phone:
An unlikely hiding place )

More to follow! Probably after the [livejournal.com profile] bandom_hc deadline though, unless I grow another set of arms.
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (Default)
I finished my presentation and now I'm a nervous wreck trying to kill time until my dad's birthday dinner tonight. I already finished the lineart for my [livejournal.com profile] bandom_hc but another distraction would still be extremely welcome.

Give me some art prompts? Panic, MCR, FOB or any crossovers between those are ok, go wild!

Top 5 meme

Aug. 10th, 2009 05:54 pm
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (food - candy)
Top five (made-up) Ray/Mikey moments )

Top Five Songs Brendon sang to Spencer )

Top five people that Brendon wants to invite for a threesome with him and Spencer )

Top five AU's you love to read  )

I had a whole bunch of cauliflower left over that I needed to use up and wanted to make soup out of it. I was out of veggie broth though and not in the mood to make up a new batch so I tried to make up for the lack with lots of spices. The results were pretty awesome so I think this one's a keeper.

Cauliflower curry soup )
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (panic - brendon/spencer smiley)
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (panic - brendon/spencer smiley)
THERE IS NOT ENOUGH FLAIL IN THE WORLD FOR THIS VIDEO! Those two and a half minutes pretty much sum up all of my feelings about new!Panic and that song ♥_______♥

Yesterday I spent way too much time refreshing all of the internet trying to find a rip of the What a Catch video and then [livejournal.com profile] ashlein wrote Brendon/Spencer commentfic as a distraction and it was so awesome it made me break out my pencil. I said I'd try to do better than a five-minute sketch so that's what I spent my evening doing.

Brendon wraps his legs around Spencer's waist and Spencer is stumbling backwards, trying to kiss Brendon and stay standing )

This morning while I was rooting around in boxes trying to find my scanner I also found my mini stereo system and since my parents are on vacation and unable to complain about me moving stuff around I installed it in the kitchen. I can finally cook and clean while singing along to music at the top of my lungs again as it should be \o/
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (Default)
God, I feel like I've been gone forever! I got sick and then I moped around because everyone I know went on vacation and left me at home and somewhere in there I got used to lurking around and composing lj posts in the back of my head whenever something happened instead of actually writing them down and, you know, posting.

Not that I have much to share now either, because I have been the least productive ever. I'm currently using my sketchbook as a mouse pad instead of actual sketching and I haven't taken a look at my WIP folder (i.e. the heap of loose paper in the back of my sketchbook) for longer than I should really admit.

Everything exciting that happened this week has pretty much been posted and talked about to death but OMG MCR AND PANIC SHOWS AND PICTURES AND NEW MUSIC AND EVERYONE HAS REACHED NEW LEVELS OF HOT :DDD

I finally did some proper cooking though! Not my own recipes, but at least a step up from a steady diet of sandwiches and cereal. I tried this roasted carrot and avocado salad and watermelon lemonade. I can't remember who linked Smitten Kitchen in their lj and made me discover it, but thank you!
The salad was not quite my thing. I can see how others might like it but I wasn't a fan of the carrots and ended up picking them out and ate the rest of the avocado with some cherry tomatoes instead. The lemonade on the other hand is fantastic. I already tried it when the recipe was first posted and today I made it again substituting limes and brown sugar syrup. OM NOM NOM! I suspect I'll be making this a lot more this week because I bought a whole watermelon and it's perfect for the hot weather we've been having.
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (Default)
Every time I think I'm ok with the Panic split something else comes along and makes me upset all over again. When did I become such an oversensitive little snowflake? D:

I'm feeling restless this week too. I worked out the last two days and I have the urge to bust out the yoga mat today too. The only problem is that I'm already feeling sore and I don't have an actualfax yoga mat (parquet floors and a towel just don't cut it, the bruise on my back is proof).

The one awesome thing I did this week is finally figuring out a good approximation of the thai curry I liked so much. I think the secret was the right kind of curry paste and adding fish sauce. OMNOMNOM!

Curry picture and recipe )
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (misc - D:)
I had no idea yesterday afternoon just how ridiculously over-invested in Panic at the Disco I am, but I really really am ;___;

I just keep flipping back and forth between being happy that at least my OTP is not split up and went right on being adorable on twitter and giving us music, and moping all over the place because the thought that my favorite band of friends might not be stoner BFFs who love each other forever makes me DDDD:

And also another thought that I haven't seen brought up: If one or both of the separate bands end up less successful than before it might mean smaller intimate venue shows for the US, but that would probably also mean even fewer, if any, European shows D:

Sorry if I'm somewhat incoherent today. In addition to the over-investment I also caught a heaping dose of lol sensitive and tossed and turned all night and ended up watching TV in the middle of the night instead of sleeping because I couldn't turn my brain off.

This morning started out better than expected though. I was wishing I had a kitty to cuddle with last night and this morning a neighbour's kitty must have jumped over the balcony railing and came in the door to visit me in my apartment! I almost had a heart attack when I looked up from the computer and there was a black cat with a stumpy tail staring at me, but he was adorable :D He (or she, I suppose) explored my apartment and nuzzled my hand let me pet him before he went on his way again.

ETA: More blathering about the break-up, sorry! I just realised another reason why this is bothering me so much. I'm incredibly resistant to change and while I can reconcile myself with the thought that Brendon&Spencer and Ryan&Jon might make music separately, I absolutely cannot stand the thought of them adding any new band members. It's worst with Brendon and Spencer because they would really be replacing Ryan and Jon and that's just a sad thought. I'm hoping they will just continue as a duo and only hire extra people for live shows.
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (Default)

  • petewentz: going in to the studio to hear panic songs. coffee. trying not to get down with @ashsimpsonwentz sickness. feel better.
    OMG, NEW PANIC ALBUM :DDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD

  • Happy birthday [livejournal.com profile] spuzz! I hope you have a wonderful day :D

  • I wrote my second to last exam ever today! It was also the one I was most afraid of ever because it involved a lot of electrical engineering and I am seriously crap when it comes to formulas and measuring units and all that jazz. It still went better than expected so I hope I managed to pass.

  • Dinner tonight was amazingly good. I finally tried a recipe I bookmarked ages ago and I just wish I had made more of it so I could still be eating it!
    Lemon-egg ciabatta )
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (Default)
I don't know what it is about staying with my parents that does it, but I always feel like I have nothing at all to say and fall into a black whole of not updating.

My brother's birthday came and went and he liked his present, yay! Also, because I'm an awesome big sister I made him a sort of additional late present and installed Sims 3 on his computer after I managed to get my hands on it. It's even vaguely educational since it's an English version! And I feel better now that I'm not the only one in the family who is addicted to it and glued to her pc all the time.

I've been playing way too much myself. There were a couple of days were I didn't read a single fic because I was busy trying to get all my Panic sims to live in a tiny house together and getting Greta and Cassadee to fall in love.

In the meantime, both fics I did big bang art for got posted on the same day last week and they are both awesome and everyone should read them:

There's Nowhere to Move On by [livejournal.com profile] delicatelight (Brendon/Spencer, AU)

Death of a Musician by [livejournal.com profile] woollysocks (Spencer/Jon, AU)

Of course, now that everything's been posted and for once in my life I was still happy with what was posted, I notice that I forgot to paint Brendon's eyebrows in one picture /o\

Right now I should probably go back to working on my latest WIP because I've taken over my parents' entire kitchen table with art supplies.

ETA: OMG, LULLABY!!! *____________________*
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (food - cobra cake)
I keep underestimating how much dried chickpeas will expand if you soak them in water. I love hummus, but I didn't want to end up with a galleon of it and made chickpea stew out of half the peas. The idea came from soup recipe I found online ages ago and then promptly lost, but I remembered chickpeas, tomatoes, spinach and cinnamon and experimented with the rest. So delicious!

Picture and recipe )

I'm thinking about signing up for [livejournal.com profile] bandgirlsbang after all. The reasons I haven't so far still stand, but I really enjoyed the Twitter prompts I did thursday. None of them ended up being fit to post in public for various reasons, but it was still fun and I always want more femslash. Especially now that I started following Cassadee's twitter and she keeps being adorable!
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (panic - brendon/spencer smiley)
Apparently Dirty Dancing was on TV yesterday and [personal profile] saba1789 and [profile] nasssty_slyth were talking about it and are also bring filthy enablers and I started doodling.

The picture doesn't exactly scream Dirty Dancing AU, but I thought the general idea was ridiculous enough without putting anyone in a frilly white dress. Also the timing couldn't have been better, since the pictures from the Blink 182 thingy just confirmed again that silly prom picture poses are canon :D

Have another dance )

The one bit of this AU that I want so bad that I can taste it is the scene where they practice lifts. Spencer is seriously scared that he'll drop Brendon on his head and keeps clutching him to his chest instead of doing any actual lifting. Brendon really needs to teach him to get this right, but surely it won't hurt to stay cuddled up to Spencer just a little longer, right?
And then they go practice in the lake and there's wet boys, with almost see-through shirts clinging to them, splashing around in the water.
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (Default)
Today was my second field trip with the localization class and I liked the company even better than last time. My chances to get hired there probably wouldn't be great, since they only translate from German into English, and of course prefer native speakers. But it looked like an awesome place to work (for me at least) because it was like geek central! As I said to Nastja, the people who worked at SDL mostly looked like office drones while the Gameforge people looked like the guys I used to play D&D and go to metal shows with.

I'm a little more than halfway done with my BBB art \o/
Transferring a sketch to watercolor paper and coloring is all that's left and I hope I can get cracking on that tomorrow. [profile] nasssty_slyth has been an angel and has helped me out so much with everything. I'm almost tempted to claim another fic because things have been going so smoothly this time around, but I just know that the second I sign up for another story I'll lose all my artistic mojo and it'll be like pulling teeth all the way up to June 1st.
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (panic - brendon/spencer smiley)
Brendon/Spencer, rated G
The Bodyguard AU

Every step of the way )

Pose shamelessly copied from the movie poster, faily anatomy courtesy of yours truly :)
And sorry, but I couldn't not quote that song. The cheesiness was too much to resist!
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (Default)
I've had the most productive morning ever! Too bad I was being productive making art while I should have been paying attention to a lecture :)
I finished the rough draft for my first piece of BBB art as well as a sketch of Spencer in a corset that ended up looking more like always-a-girl!Spencer in a corset. I love always-a-girl stories and art so I'm not too sad about the changed direction apart from the fact that it shows where I lack drawing skills.

I stopped by a shopping center on the way home to pick up supplies for making peanut butter cups and that might have been a bit too much temptation. Walking past shoe stores without some window shopping at least is kind of impossible for me. And then Deichmann had heaps and heaps of gladiator sandals! I've been wanting a pair ever since they came up everywhere on the fashion blogs last year and I found a pair that fit just right. I wasn't sure if I actually had enough matching clothes to wear them, so I bought them and planned to take them back if I couldn't put at least one good outfit together with them. Rifling through my wardrobe got me a few maybes, but I think this one is the winner. Guess I have to keep the shoes after all :D

At least I restrained myself and didn't go for the very pretty matching plaid shirt I saw at another store. Nora and I are planning to go to the flea market saturday and I just saw a poster for another flea market in St. Ilgen on sunday and I'm hoping I might find some cheap shirts or dresses there instead.
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (panic - brendon/spencer heart)
I'm back home from my field trip and I'm so tempted to just fall into bed now! The visit to SDL itself wasn't even that tiring, but the car trip involved was kinda exhausting. The entire autobahn between Heidelberg and Stuttgart seemed to be riddled with construction sites and then there was an accident somewhere as well and it took forever to get there.

In addition to that, our professor was riding with me, since I have the biggest car and could fit the taller people in our group more comfortably than the others. He's a really nice guy, and definitely my favorite out of all my professors, but I'm already bad at casual conversation and particularly not very talkative when I'm driving so it was a bit awkward to have him in the passenger seat for almost three hours!

I dropped all my passengers off at the parking lot right next to the turkish grocery store and took the chance to have a look around. They always have different interesting produce on sale. Since the vegetable compartment of my fridge is already bursting at the seams I restricted myself to a fresh artichoke. The last time I tried one was so long ago I couldn't remember anything about it at all.

The artichoke ended up in my thermomix and got steamed with some lemon and garlic in the water. I wasn't very impressed with the results though. The meat from the leaves was very bitter. I had a dip made from yogurt and vinaigrette that didn't go well with it at all. Just the plain meat tasted fairly bad too. It turned out to be ok salted and with a bit of my radish pesto though. The one part that was super tasty was the bottom of the artichoke, but if I ever want to have that again I think I'll go for the canned version instead of bothering with the rest.

Now, I feel like I haven't said a single fannish thing in weeks and that's just not on. Time for a couple of recs I think! Here's the last three things I saved to my delicious:

Weekend Wars by [livejournal.com profile] icyanahita Bandom, ensemble with various pairings, AU, ~25,000 words

For the Public Good by [livejournal.com profile] blamebrampton Harry Potter, Harry/Draco, 23,500 words

And Maybe by [livejournal.com profile] reni_days Bandom, Brendon/Spencer, 6,500 words

One more thing...splitting commenting between LJ and DW is annoying me more than I thought it would, so I'm switching to disabling comments on LJ and redirecting everything to DW for now. I figure pretty much everyone I talk to regularly has a DW account by now so it shouldn't be a problem.
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (food - strawberry summer)
There's lots of exciting stuff going on in fandom land today and I had nothing better to do than camp out at home today and enjoy it all. I think I've broken some kind of personal records of most comments posted in one day.

In between the two billion times I refreshed the bandom big bang community waiting for summaries to go up and sharing all the bits and pieces of dreamwidth related trivia I've picked up, I made really fucking awesome lunch.

As much as I love making stuff from scratch, I've always bought spätzle pre-made from the store because I didn't think the homemade ones tasted different enough to warrant the extra effort. But the package of spätzle I bought yesterday turned out to be moldy (so disgusting D:) and I'd already made the vegetables that were supposed to go with them. Due to the holiday I couldn't go out to buy another package either, so I ended up calling my mom to beg for her recipe for homemade spätzle and made my own.

Spätzle with vegetables recipe with a bunch of pictures posted here.

They turned out really well and I think I'm gonna make these myself all the time now. My mom said she was invited to a tupperware party next week and that, she'd get me a spätzle maker as a late easter gift if I decided I liked her recipe so I won't have to deal with the messy board+knife method again. And then I can just make big batches and freeze a couple of portions for later \o/

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags