milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (Default)
HOLY SHIT, I'M DONE WITH SCHOOL!!!

I don't have my written grade yet due to a misunderstanding about the electronic copy of my thesis, but I got a 1,7 (A-) on my presentation today and the profs both liked the written version too :DDDD

I'm sitting in a parking lot in Heidelberg right now waiting for my hands to stop shaking and then I'm gonna drive home and celebrate and get stinking drunk tonight. SO MUCH YAY!
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (Default)
Hey there, I'm back! Mostly. I'm way too addicted to LJ and fandom to ever stop reading my friendslist but I've rediscovered the joys of being a lurker. Radio silence is really relaxing but it's also really boring so I think I'm done with it for now.

My thesis is handed in and all that's left to do is the colloquium to defend it on tuesday. I'm taking turns between being completely cool about it and being utterly terrified. Hopefully tuesday morning will fall into one of the completely cool phases.

What's keeping me in good spirits regardless is that I WILL BE IN ROME IN ONLY SIX MORE DAYS :DDD
And so far there haven't been any freak-outs about the flights, not even when I printed out my boarding passes today. I'm counting that as a major win!

And now meet the newest member of my family )

My mom found out one of our neighbours had a litter of six jack russel puppies and there were two of them still without a home and they're one of her favorite breed of dogs. Needless to say, my brother and I encouraged her even though she barely needed encouraging and now we finally have a dog again :D

I'm a little sad we didn't get to name him, but he and his sibling were so old the neighbour had gotten tired of calling them "dog" all the time and he already kind of listens to his name. And he is completely adorable, loves to play and also loves napping on my lap after he tires himself out playing around ♥
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (Default)
German people on my flist, I have a question for you guys. Would anyone be willing and able to beta my BA thesis? I'm planning to finish writing by tonight and I'd need it back sometime on saturday so I can get it printed. It's probably going to be 25-30 pages, 1.5pt-spaced, including screenshots.

You'd have my eternal gratitude, promise of first-borns etc. and cookies or cake next time we see each other!

ETA: I'M DONE WRITING \o/ \o/ \o/
Proof-reading, editing and formatting is all that's left. I'm gonna go out and get drunk now :D
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (cab - super cash)
I've started to get my shit together and did some actual work and I feel so much better about it already. Still vaguely terrified that I'll mess up somehow, but at least the sense of certain, inevitable doom is gone.

Also, apparently nothing makes me feel even better than spending lots of money in one go, so I ORDERED PLANE TICKETS AND I'M GOING TO ROME AND HANG OUT AND FINGERPAINT DRUNKENLY WITH [profile] nasssty_slyth IN OCTOBER :DDDDDDDD
JSYK, everyone better be prepared for two billion posts in which I freak out about flying. The last time I knew I had to step on a plane a couple of months in advance wasn't pretty /o\

In celebration, here's my favorite new pesto recipe, inspired by that roasted carrot salad from Smitten Kitchen.

Roasted carrot and hazelnut pesto )

.

Aug. 19th, 2009 12:08 pm
milenaa: Belle looking into a fractured mirror (b&b - beauty and beast mirror)
I've been staring at this sketch for the last week because I swore I was going to finish it, but I still don't know what to do with it and I'm afraid to mess it up because I really love it. When I started out (months ago actually /o\) it was supposed to be Spencer in a corset, but I mostly traced the pose from a picture of a girl, and no matter what I try to change I can't manage to make the shape of the body look more masculine. I'm hoping if I just post it as it is I can stop staring at it with a frowny face every day and if I ever do add color or a background and fuck it up at least I'll have the scan.

Corsets! )

That's probably going to be the last bit of fanart for a while. I've finally reached critical mass regarding school related freak-outs and started working on my thesis. I've avoided it for ridiculously long time because I'm terrified of failing and now I have a little less than a month to start and finish the entire thing. I'm even more terrified of that, but I need to stop my vicious circle of putting it off only to make the situation worse. So, sorry if I'm not around much in the next four weeks or am flighty and distracted!
milenaa: A girl faceplanting into a cake (food - headcake)
I arrived at my parents place yesterday and my mom and I got talking and then I had a chat with my dad and we decided that I'm going to move back in with them as soon as possible, for as long as it takes me to graduate and find a job. All my classes and exams are done, I was planning to stay mostly with them while I'm working on my thesis anyway and I'm almost certain that whatever job I eventually end up with won't be in Heidelberg so it makes sense to give up my apartment and save the rent.

I'm pretty excited to live closer to my friends again, even if it's just for a couple of months. And I'm so ridiculously relieved that I have at least the beginnings of a plan for the next few months. Thinking more than a few weeks ahead had been starting to freak me out and turn me into an anxious mess. I hate feeling like a failure because everyone else I know seems to have their future already planned out and everything ready to go.

Now I just have to hope that I'll manage to get out of my lease and find a new tenant for my apartment, preferably one that could be ready to move in by the beginning of august.
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (Default)
Today was my second field trip with the localization class and I liked the company even better than last time. My chances to get hired there probably wouldn't be great, since they only translate from German into English, and of course prefer native speakers. But it looked like an awesome place to work (for me at least) because it was like geek central! As I said to Nastja, the people who worked at SDL mostly looked like office drones while the Gameforge people looked like the guys I used to play D&D and go to metal shows with.

I'm a little more than halfway done with my BBB art \o/
Transferring a sketch to watercolor paper and coloring is all that's left and I hope I can get cracking on that tomorrow. [profile] nasssty_slyth has been an angel and has helped me out so much with everything. I'm almost tempted to claim another fic because things have been going so smoothly this time around, but I just know that the second I sign up for another story I'll lose all my artistic mojo and it'll be like pulling teeth all the way up to June 1st.
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (panic - brendon/spencer heart)
I'm back home from my field trip and I'm so tempted to just fall into bed now! The visit to SDL itself wasn't even that tiring, but the car trip involved was kinda exhausting. The entire autobahn between Heidelberg and Stuttgart seemed to be riddled with construction sites and then there was an accident somewhere as well and it took forever to get there.

In addition to that, our professor was riding with me, since I have the biggest car and could fit the taller people in our group more comfortably than the others. He's a really nice guy, and definitely my favorite out of all my professors, but I'm already bad at casual conversation and particularly not very talkative when I'm driving so it was a bit awkward to have him in the passenger seat for almost three hours!

I dropped all my passengers off at the parking lot right next to the turkish grocery store and took the chance to have a look around. They always have different interesting produce on sale. Since the vegetable compartment of my fridge is already bursting at the seams I restricted myself to a fresh artichoke. The last time I tried one was so long ago I couldn't remember anything about it at all.

The artichoke ended up in my thermomix and got steamed with some lemon and garlic in the water. I wasn't very impressed with the results though. The meat from the leaves was very bitter. I had a dip made from yogurt and vinaigrette that didn't go well with it at all. Just the plain meat tasted fairly bad too. It turned out to be ok salted and with a bit of my radish pesto though. The one part that was super tasty was the bottom of the artichoke, but if I ever want to have that again I think I'll go for the canned version instead of bothering with the rest.

Now, I feel like I haven't said a single fannish thing in weeks and that's just not on. Time for a couple of recs I think! Here's the last three things I saved to my delicious:

Weekend Wars by [livejournal.com profile] icyanahita Bandom, ensemble with various pairings, AU, ~25,000 words

For the Public Good by [livejournal.com profile] blamebrampton Harry Potter, Harry/Draco, 23,500 words

And Maybe by [livejournal.com profile] reni_days Bandom, Brendon/Spencer, 6,500 words

One more thing...splitting commenting between LJ and DW is annoying me more than I thought it would, so I'm switching to disabling comments on LJ and redirecting everything to DW for now. I figure pretty much everyone I talk to regularly has a DW account by now so it shouldn't be a problem.
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (Default)
My last final went much better than the first (now watch me fail them both - my luck has been just that shitty this week). I used monday morning to pick up a bunch of books from the library in Heidelberg and Mannheim. There were a couple that I really wanted that were out, so I put in a notice in case they get returned. And today I get a notice from Mannheim that the wordpress book I wanted is available and on hold for me. AIDHOIHFHFDIASHASHOIHSDIOSJDOIASDJ ONE DAY TOO LATE D:D:D:

I really, REALLY don't want to drive 200+ miles to get one stupid book out of the library :/
Actually, with the current gas prices I might as well buy it.

Things that made my day brighter this morning: Criss Angel being a douchebag. Thanks for the laugh, I do love to start my day with LOLing!

This morning I looked at cars with my mom. My dad brought up the idea of me getting a new car since my current one qualifies for the "Umweltprämie" (basically, the government gives you 2500€ if you trash your old car and get a brand new one instead). I'm still hesitant because my parents are already paying my way through school and my mom is making noises about paying for at least part of a potential new car. And I don't really feel like I need a new car right now since the other one is still running. On the other hand I will most likely need one in the next few years, and I'm probably not going to be able to get a brand new car as cheap as right now. I'm thinking if there's a way to get either a leasing contract or payment plan that I can pay off using the 2500€ for the monthly payments until I'm done with school and making money I could do it. IDK. I guess what it comes down to is that I just don't feel like I deserve something like this. I'm not a great student, I don't have a job, I feel like what I have right now is already so much more luxury than I really should have, you know?
milenaa: A girl faceplanting into a cake (food - headcake)
I'M AN IDIOT OF EPIC PROPORTIONS D:D:D:

The Good: I did not have to write my law final today!

The Bad: I had to write my building automation final instead! Which I hadn't studied for AT ALL, not even for a second, because I though it was on monday /o\

The Okay-ish: I might have a chance of barely scraping by anyway on partial credit because the building automation prof did a lot of reviewing at the beginning of each class, so I wasn't 100% clueless and could answer at least parts of most questions. Time will tell :/

Also on the plus side, I now have two full extra days to study for law. Oh joy.
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (Default)
Okay, picture meme results! And the day before yesterday's breakfast and dinner.

Pictures! )

I'm writing my law final today. I still need to mark paragraphs in my book, print out pages of privacy law and do some last minute cramming. I'm going to fail this exam so hard :/
It's my own damn fault though because I didn't study, so I don't expect any sympathy. I need to start caring about school again (beyond omgyesalmostfinished, that is) and maybe that would be exactly the kick in the ass it takes.

milenaa: Belle smiling with a caption saying "yay!!" (b&b - yay!)
I just installed Moveable Type and Wordpress for my thesis blog \o/

I was embarrassed into finally starting today when a classmate asked how my blog was coming along and I had to admit I hadn't even installed the damn software. But now I have!

On first glance I already hate Moveable Type. The interface makes me want to punch things and I'm already running into problems just trying to view the first blog entry that's automatically generated during the installation. That is some serious fail right there, and I don't even have a clue if it's my fault or MT's.

Today was also my last day of class in Heidelberg before break. I can't believe how few classes we had between christmas break and now! It feels like I just got back after christmas yesterday. Now I only have two more days of class in Mannheim and finals in Mannheim left.

In other news: I have no will power at all. Not even a little bit. When I read the announcement that Pretty.Odd. is up for pre-order on vinyl I told myself I wouldn't need a copy because then my collection of vinyls would still only be up to 2, and that's not enough to justify cluttering my apartment up even more with a giant record player. Hahahahaha, as if I could resist! It was only 13$ too, OF COURSE I ORDERED IT /o\

On the other hand, I never did end up buying an actual CD copy of the album so at least I won't have to admit to owning it in triplicate or something equally lame.
milenaa: A girl faceplanting into a cake (food - headcake)
I am the biggest failboat of all times, srsly! I was absolutely convinced that I didn't have to be in class until noon. WRONG! First class of the morning on tuesdays is at 8:30, so there's no way I can even make the last ten minutes of it now :/

I'd say fuck this, now I can just drive home earlier but I'm meeting my partner for a team project after school. At least I'm missing out on more stupefying presentation and I can use the extra time to pack.
milenaa: Belle smiling with a caption saying "yay!!" (b&b - yay!)
So I had a meeting with my advisor today. I think I have a topic for my thesis?! And it's something I hadn't thought of before at all!?

Unless I change my mind within the next two weeks, I'll be developing a blog for the SUED's upcoming alumni platform.

Right now I'm poking around wordpress and moveable type and freaking out just a little bit. I don't even know what I got myself into yet and how I ended up there. But it's certainly going to be interesting!

And tomorrow I am finally going home for the holidays \o/
I really should have been cleaning my apartment and packing this afternoon. Instead I spent almost two hours on the phone with friends. Maybe someday I'll learn how to get my shit ready early instead of at the last possible second, but I fear it's not gonna be today. There's long fic waiting instead that sounds so much better than doing the dishes :)
milenaa: Belle looking into a fractured mirror (b&b - beauty and beast mirror)
Instead of regular class, I got to listen to a girl defend her bachelor thesis today and it was a) boring as hell and b) hitting my embarrassment squick so hard, because she really didn't do a good job at all. I was feeling completely uninspired to draw though, so I had Nora give me prompts. She'd draw a line or two and made me finish a picture out of them. The results were cute and funny so I thought I'd share.

beware, these are pretty huge pictures! )

The red parts are Nora's prompts.

Also, this is pretty much the first time since I let my host parents know about fandom that I've given anyone in RL a link to my lj. If I freak out tomorrow and suddenly go on a friendslocking frenzy you now know why :)
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (panic b/s smiley)
Sometimes I think I need a nanny. It is so way past my bedtime, but I have dishes to wash and a bag to pack and a computer networking final at 8AM tomorrow.

Mostly I spend the entire day in a Panic at the disco haze. How did I ever manage to procrastinate so effectively before I had Youtube? I have no idea.

I did manage to drag myself to the university computer pool to finish some group project for monday. And I found out from my partner that the results of last friday's final were in and I PASSED! WHOOOOOOO :D
I did have the worst score (3,3 or about a C-) out of the entire class, but I find I can't really find it in me to care because I'm just so relieved to be DONE.

Ok, one more interview clip and then I'm finishing the dishes. Really!

ETA: Has lj been eating comments like crazy for anyone else today?
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (gerard sweaty)
I just woke up from a twelve hour nap and I still feel tired. What the hell? Completely failing at my building automation final must have been more exhausting than expected. I just laid down to listen to some music last evening and then I woke up just now confused and wondering how and when I went to bed.

This week is going to be stupid busy too. Between translation assignments, studying for final number two and traveling all over the place. I'm going to Franfurt to see Panic at the Disco on wednesday, then back to Heidelberg for the damn final, and then up to my parents for the weekend right after that for a friend's birthday. I want to figure out if I can take the train for at least one of those trips because gas is so damn expensive.

On the plus side, I finally figured out where the Golden Compass dvd I'd ordered for my little brother was. Lost in the mail x_X They're sending a new one though so thank god I don't have to buy another copy.

And, even better than that: Apparently the release date for The Black Parade is Dead wasn't pushed back to july in Germany and Amazon tells me my copy shipped the day before yesterday and will most likely get here in a couple of hours. Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyy!
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (yay!)
ALL DONE!

*crawls into bed*
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (Default)
Dragging yourself out of bed after just three hours of already interrupted sleep is cruel :(
The only thing that's keeping me running right now is my unshakeable belief in my powers of bullshitting my way through presentations, because the stupid US legal system still does not make as much sense to me as it probably should. And knowing that after today I'm all done with presenting crap for this semester and can faceplant into bed and sleep straight through to wednesday if I want to this afternoon.
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (fucktards)
Urgh, the gods of uni have not been smiling down on me this week and it's only monday.

cut for excessive whining )

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags