milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (Default)
A couple of days ago I called the registrar's office to ask about my thesis grade because the professor still hasn't e-mailed me back. According to the lady on the phone, the university officially has until October 19th to cough up a grade for me so I have until monday to sit around and wait. This bureaucracy bullshit is driving me crazy and makes me really glad I'm not staying on for an MA.

Yesterday I went shopping for some dressy clothes and today I wore them to get pictures for job applications done. Right now I have so much hate for the fact that in Germany it's still pretty much expected to have a picture on applications. I am already the most unphotogenic person in the world and reading up on helpful tips for application pictures only managed to make me more insecure /o\
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (Default)
Hey there, I'm back! Mostly. I'm way too addicted to LJ and fandom to ever stop reading my friendslist but I've rediscovered the joys of being a lurker. Radio silence is really relaxing but it's also really boring so I think I'm done with it for now.

My thesis is handed in and all that's left to do is the colloquium to defend it on tuesday. I'm taking turns between being completely cool about it and being utterly terrified. Hopefully tuesday morning will fall into one of the completely cool phases.

What's keeping me in good spirits regardless is that I WILL BE IN ROME IN ONLY SIX MORE DAYS :DDD
And so far there haven't been any freak-outs about the flights, not even when I printed out my boarding passes today. I'm counting that as a major win!

And now meet the newest member of my family )

My mom found out one of our neighbours had a litter of six jack russel puppies and there were two of them still without a home and they're one of her favorite breed of dogs. Needless to say, my brother and I encouraged her even though she barely needed encouraging and now we finally have a dog again :D

I'm a little sad we didn't get to name him, but he and his sibling were so old the neighbour had gotten tired of calling them "dog" all the time and he already kind of listens to his name. And he is completely adorable, loves to play and also loves napping on my lap after he tires himself out playing around ♥

.

Aug. 19th, 2009 12:08 pm
milenaa: Belle looking into a fractured mirror (b&b - beauty and beast mirror)
I've been staring at this sketch for the last week because I swore I was going to finish it, but I still don't know what to do with it and I'm afraid to mess it up because I really love it. When I started out (months ago actually /o\) it was supposed to be Spencer in a corset, but I mostly traced the pose from a picture of a girl, and no matter what I try to change I can't manage to make the shape of the body look more masculine. I'm hoping if I just post it as it is I can stop staring at it with a frowny face every day and if I ever do add color or a background and fuck it up at least I'll have the scan.

Corsets! )

That's probably going to be the last bit of fanart for a while. I've finally reached critical mass regarding school related freak-outs and started working on my thesis. I've avoided it for ridiculously long time because I'm terrified of failing and now I have a little less than a month to start and finish the entire thing. I'm even more terrified of that, but I need to stop my vicious circle of putting it off only to make the situation worse. So, sorry if I'm not around much in the next four weeks or am flighty and distracted!
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (Default)
Every time I think I'm ok with the Panic split something else comes along and makes me upset all over again. When did I become such an oversensitive little snowflake? D:

I'm feeling restless this week too. I worked out the last two days and I have the urge to bust out the yoga mat today too. The only problem is that I'm already feeling sore and I don't have an actualfax yoga mat (parquet floors and a towel just don't cut it, the bruise on my back is proof).

The one awesome thing I did this week is finally figuring out a good approximation of the thai curry I liked so much. I think the secret was the right kind of curry paste and adding fish sauce. OMNOMNOM!

Curry picture and recipe )
milenaa: A girl faceplanting into a cake (food - headcake)
I arrived at my parents place yesterday and my mom and I got talking and then I had a chat with my dad and we decided that I'm going to move back in with them as soon as possible, for as long as it takes me to graduate and find a job. All my classes and exams are done, I was planning to stay mostly with them while I'm working on my thesis anyway and I'm almost certain that whatever job I eventually end up with won't be in Heidelberg so it makes sense to give up my apartment and save the rent.

I'm pretty excited to live closer to my friends again, even if it's just for a couple of months. And I'm so ridiculously relieved that I have at least the beginnings of a plan for the next few months. Thinking more than a few weeks ahead had been starting to freak me out and turn me into an anxious mess. I hate feeling like a failure because everyone else I know seems to have their future already planned out and everything ready to go.

Now I just have to hope that I'll manage to get out of my lease and find a new tenant for my apartment, preferably one that could be ready to move in by the beginning of august.
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (Default)
In fours years of going out in Heidelberg I never managed to be this stupid, but today I actually had to take a cab home because I managed to miss the last tram /o\

I had a nice night out though. I went for drinks with a couple of classmates to celebrate finishing our last exam and it was a surprisingly good time. It always surprises me that I can have a good time when I do hang out with these guys, but somehow I never manage to make plans to do it more often so after two years of being around the same people every week, I still don't have any real friends over here. Why so socially awkward, self?
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (Default)
It's only 12:40 and the has already felt so unbelievably wrong. I caught up on LJ and DW and read one of the longer BBB fics posted last night and it feels like the day should be as good as over instead of just barely starting. Being epically drunk yesterday seems to have fucked up my sense of time.

I had a really good time yesterday hanging out with my friends Kadda and Franzi and then going out to the new bar in town with another friend. I'm just getting more and more frustrated because we never seem to really go out anymore to parties or clubs or anywhere else but Nastätten. Instead almost every evening on the last few weekends I've been here we just sat around and any ideas for something interesting to do were shot down because it was just so much more comfortable to just buy a bottle of vodka and get drunk on Franzi's couch and then maybe head out to her mom's new bar later if someone was feeling adventurous. Basically, that re-occuring scene in the cobracam clips where everyone is like 'now let's get wasted!' is what my friends have been like for months and it's horrible.

Now I know I sound like a hypocrite because I was drinking too last night and ended up having fun after all, but for me that's the exception to the rule because I don't usually go out in Heidelberg and play designated driver a lot. I know Kadda and Franzi are doing this at least once every weekend, if not more and it's so fucking pointless. Yesterday there was some free live-music by some baby bands a couple of towns over that sounded fun but no one except me wanted to go and after another round of bored staring it was the same old 'let's buy a bottle of vodka and get wasted here!' plan.

I just have no idea how to bring this up with them. I don't see my friends enough as it is and I don't want to start fighting with them, but this is making me resentful to the point where I almost decided to go home and spend my evening reading yesterday instead of hanging out with people that I usually like hanging out with.
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (Default)
I found something for my brother! It turns out he already has an Avatar game for his DS and all accessories he could ever want and my parents are giving him another game as well. But I found a book on rivers and creeks as biotopes and all the creatures that live there that looks really cool.

He's in a club at school that deals with this sort of thing and they wade around in ponds and look at tiny aquatic life under microscopes and stuff so I hope he'll like it. I'm worried it's a bit too geeky, but he really enjoys that club and he didn't mind non-fiction when he was reading about bearded dragons in every spare minute he had.

Now I've spend almost an hour online again instead of just checking my e-mail quickly. I wish I had more self-control than that. Gotta get back to that presentation :/
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (Default)
I'm have a presentation for class to prepare for tomorrow, so of course I'm busy procrastinating as much as I possibly can. I already played Zelda for an hour, read two and a half big bang fics (omg, finally \o/\o/\o/), did the dishes and sorted out the pictures from the zoo last weekend.

Cute animals! )

I'm going to visit my family wednesday and it's my brother's birthday. I need help! I'm looking for a present for an eleven year old boy who likes reading, video games, the internet, Spongebob and Avatar the Last Airbender and I have a budget of maybe 10-15€. I don't just want to get him a gift certificate for the local bookstore because that's what everyone always does and I know my mom also bought him a book already, but I'm completely out of ideas.
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (Default)
Fuck you, Fossil, for producing shitty glasses that can't take the strain of cleaning!

A story in (mostly) pictures - because I love taking pictures of and laughing at myself :) )

Anyway, replacing glasses because they're broken is always a stupid hassle because I have to deal with inferior replacements until the new ones are done. Not to mention I hate it because they're always so damn expensive. On the other hand, I've been unhappy with those Fossil frames for a while now, if not always, because I prefer solid colored black frames and I don't like having brand names visible. If I'm lucky I can find something similar to the first pair with the bigger lenses. I &heart; nerd glasses!
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (Default)
My mom and and my brother are probably going to be here in half an hour and I should probably get dressed and do some last-minute dishes. But I need to share the best shaving tip ever that will make my summer of short skirts and dresses so much less annoying: Conditioner!

Seriously, using simple hair conditioner (it works great with my 70 cent Aldi brand) instead of shaving cream is awesome!

I'm going to have to make myself stop petting my shins every two seconds before I leave the house because that would be slightly creepy and embarrasing in company, but they're so smooth.

Sorry if that was TMI, but I don't think it was bad enough to put it behind a cut :)
milenaa: A girl faceplanting into a cake (food - headcake)
I've been back from the Netherlands since sunday and back in Heidelberg since yesterday, but being around the internet semi-silent, reading and commenting but not posting has been kinda relaxing. I really need to take a step back and concentrate more on school, but I hate being away and out of touch so this might be how I'm going to be around for a bit if I feel like LJ is taking up too much time.

I'm also much too lazy right now to write anythig substantial about my vacation, so here's pictures instead!



Pictures from Breskens )

[personal profile] nasssty and [personal profile] wethepainted have posted pictures of their awesomely organized art supplies/desks and made me facepalm at my own mess. Still, I love sharing pictures, so here's one of my desk.

Beware of clutter! )

It's actually less messy than usual, since my watercolor stuff is still mostly packed away from traveling! And there's somewhat distinct heaps of stuff instead of one giant pile!

ETA: ♥___________♥
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (Default)
Today was my second field trip with the localization class and I liked the company even better than last time. My chances to get hired there probably wouldn't be great, since they only translate from German into English, and of course prefer native speakers. But it looked like an awesome place to work (for me at least) because it was like geek central! As I said to Nastja, the people who worked at SDL mostly looked like office drones while the Gameforge people looked like the guys I used to play D&D and go to metal shows with.

I'm a little more than halfway done with my BBB art \o/
Transferring a sketch to watercolor paper and coloring is all that's left and I hope I can get cracking on that tomorrow. [profile] nasssty_slyth has been an angel and has helped me out so much with everything. I'm almost tempted to claim another fic because things have been going so smoothly this time around, but I just know that the second I sign up for another story I'll lose all my artistic mojo and it'll be like pulling teeth all the way up to June 1st.
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (panic - brendon/spencer heart)
I'm back home from my field trip and I'm so tempted to just fall into bed now! The visit to SDL itself wasn't even that tiring, but the car trip involved was kinda exhausting. The entire autobahn between Heidelberg and Stuttgart seemed to be riddled with construction sites and then there was an accident somewhere as well and it took forever to get there.

In addition to that, our professor was riding with me, since I have the biggest car and could fit the taller people in our group more comfortably than the others. He's a really nice guy, and definitely my favorite out of all my professors, but I'm already bad at casual conversation and particularly not very talkative when I'm driving so it was a bit awkward to have him in the passenger seat for almost three hours!

I dropped all my passengers off at the parking lot right next to the turkish grocery store and took the chance to have a look around. They always have different interesting produce on sale. Since the vegetable compartment of my fridge is already bursting at the seams I restricted myself to a fresh artichoke. The last time I tried one was so long ago I couldn't remember anything about it at all.

The artichoke ended up in my thermomix and got steamed with some lemon and garlic in the water. I wasn't very impressed with the results though. The meat from the leaves was very bitter. I had a dip made from yogurt and vinaigrette that didn't go well with it at all. Just the plain meat tasted fairly bad too. It turned out to be ok salted and with a bit of my radish pesto though. The one part that was super tasty was the bottom of the artichoke, but if I ever want to have that again I think I'll go for the canned version instead of bothering with the rest.

Now, I feel like I haven't said a single fannish thing in weeks and that's just not on. Time for a couple of recs I think! Here's the last three things I saved to my delicious:

Weekend Wars by [livejournal.com profile] icyanahita Bandom, ensemble with various pairings, AU, ~25,000 words

For the Public Good by [livejournal.com profile] blamebrampton Harry Potter, Harry/Draco, 23,500 words

And Maybe by [livejournal.com profile] reni_days Bandom, Brendon/Spencer, 6,500 words

One more thing...splitting commenting between LJ and DW is annoying me more than I thought it would, so I'm switching to disabling comments on LJ and redirecting everything to DW for now. I figure pretty much everyone I talk to regularly has a DW account by now so it shouldn't be a problem.
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (sga - shit)
I'm cleaning and came across my old diary. I've never managed to keep a diary over any amount of time so it's mostly a collection of just a few of entries spaced out over several years starting in '98 and ending '02. It's a mix of random inconsequential rambling whenever I remembered that I had a diary and thought I should write in it more, and sprawling and potentially tear-stained rambling when I wrote in it because I was actually upset about something.

I started reading parts of it and it is making me facepalm so hard, omg! The absolute gem is the entry where I finally clued in to the gigantic crush I had on my best friend from when I was 15. Emo all over the place! And then the follow up entry musing about whether I should just get drunk to tell her and comparing us to Willow and Tara from Buffy. I'm giving myself the motts here D:
I know I'm still pretty lame these days, but I can't believe I was ever THAT BAD /o\

I think I already had my first online journal at diaryland around that time too. Maybe I should find and reread some of my old posts there to make the ultimate facepalming experience complete.
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (misc - DIY)
Oh sweet procrastination, the things you make me do to avoid schoolwork! I have the rest of the week off until monday, because apparently the uni in Mannheim has a two week easter break so I only had to show up to class on one day this week in Heidelberg. I should really be using the rest of the time for homework and reading, but in an effort to avoid all that without feeling too lazy I started cleaning up my balcony.

I never sit out there, partly because I feel under scrutiny from all the neighbours whose windows face it, but also because it's a giant mess. I stored some crap out there when I first moved in and then set up a bunch of flowerpots and stuff, but everything started getting dirty out there, the flowers all died and it mostly became a place to dump crap that was too messy to keep inside my apartment. I tried cleaning it up several times before and I managed to get as far as getting rid of all the boxes from moving. But because it's outside I always ran into tons of spiderwebs and both living and dead spiders and got too grossed out to finish cleaning. This time I think I might finally get it done.

Mostly my plan is to throw away all the dead flowers and soil, rinse the pots off so I can store them in the pantry or basement and then vacuum outside to get rid of all the spiderwebs and srub the floor and outdoor furniture. Maybe by the weekend I'll be able to sit outside and not feel embarrased by my messy balcony :D
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (food - asparagus)
I'm so freaking tired today, holy crap! I only had two classes today and a four hour break in between them, but I spent most of that time running errands in the city and doing homework.

Then on the way back from the library to the institute my bike's chain came loose from the sprockets while I shifted gears and I had to stop and fumble it back onto them. So messy, OMG! I think I got oil everywhere. There's a big load of laundry and lots of scrubbing in my future today :)

I'm way too lazy for proper cooking this evening so the current plan is mashed potatoes with peas and carrots. But I have a recipe from a couple of days ago that was really good. I love red beans and rice dishes with tomatoes and darker beans as a main ingredient. This was an attempt at a white beans and rice dish and I was extremely happy with the way it turned out. While I was making this I also found out that soaking the beans for a full 24h instead of overnight makes them so much better! I only cooked them for maybe 30-45 minutes afterward and they were all wonderfully tender.

White beans and rice )

Next time I make this, green pepper might be a nice touch to add some color and vegetables.

ETA: Sorry for the lj-cut fail!

milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (cobra - cake)
Happy easter everyone!

I'm spending easter the way I like to spend a lot of my time. Lounging around reading fanfic and cooking and I may go for a bit of a walk later if some of the clouds I can see disappear. My parents are spending the holidays in their vacation home in the netherlands. I would have come too, but I have to be back in class tuesday and it would have been stupid to take a second car up there for only three days. I'm not particularly sad though, my family doesn't really celebrate easter beyond some colored eggs and an extra elaborate breakfast sunday morning so I'm not missing much.

Yesterday I went to the castle gardens in Schwetzingen with [livejournal.com profile] slashbabe, her husband, daughter and her daughter's boyfriend. The gardens were gorgeous! It was already a bit too late to see the cherry blossoms in their full glory but it was still very pretty.

Some pictures I took in the gardens )

The day before yesterday I made bread and a bunch of smaller bread rolls. I followed this recipe, which is originally meant for a bread machine. I substituted whole wheat flour for the regular and divided the dough to make one small loaf and ten rolls. The texture of the bread was pretty crumbly, but I liked the slightly sweet taste. Maybe I'll try adding an egg white or some more water to make it less crumbly next time.

I also looked at a couple different food blogs to find a recipe for homemade granola bars. In the end I didn't find one that convinced me 100% so I used a few ideas out of all of them and created my own. The results didn't stay in their bar shape for so much as a second before breaking apart, but they still tasted amazing. Instead of in bars, I ate my granola crumbles over some plain yogurt. Delicious! As soon as I can afford to splurge I'm planning to go back to the asian grocery I found last week to buy some different types of dried fruit. I think dried cherries, pineapple or even ginger would be delicious added to the granola mix.

pictures and granola recipe )

I also have some more cooking from today and a meme from [livejournal.com profile] nasssty_slyth to share, but I think this post is long enough as it is so they'll need to wait a bit :)

milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (cobra - cake)
I love the bandom twitters a ridiculous amount but OMG, SPENCER DON'T ASK FOR YOUR SISTER'S TWITTER IN PUBLIC DDD:

I already broke a speed record in hitting the back button last week when I was reading along and suddenly realised he was talking to his other sister. DNW! So creepy! I've never wanted a fourth wall so bad before D:

Today I've vowed to get some actual work done. I've already started the dishes and as soon as I have space to work I'm making bread. The urge to run outside and lie in the sunshine doing nothing all day is strong though. Maybe I'll go for a walk later. Mostly I can't wait until sunday when the heated public pool in Heidelberg opens. It's not that hot outside yet, but last year I went swimming there while it was maybe 20°C and it was awesome.

And I just made plans to go to the gardens of Schloss Schwetzingen with [livejournal.com profile] slashbabe tomorrow \o/

Now I'm trying to come up with a way to pack a picnic lunch without having to shop for extra groceries first. I just started soaking black-eyed peas for some sort of spread and I'm thinking maybe some homemade granola bars, if I can manage to find a good recipe. It's obvious I'm on vacation, I could spend ages in the kitchen!
milenaa: Captain America standing on a taxi with his head bowed (food - cobra cake)
Today had the potential to be so good, but the little annoyances just kept piling on.

I had to run a couple of errands in the city and got to walk around in the sun a whole lot (without buning! Sunscreen FTW!). That part as well as discovering a new asian grocery store with a great selection of dried fruits and grains was nice.

However I also: Waited forever at the institute for gerontolgy library so I could get at the copier (guy in front of me needed to copy a whole book), had to leave two books to be copied tomorrow because the copier needed cash and I only had 1,80€ on me, waited forever again at my institute to copy some more stuff because one copier was broken, got my period, forgot my driver's license at the institute for gerontology which was already closed by then and felt like I was starving most of the time. adjasjfsjafjasfljsdfjd

At least the period thing explains why I've been starving all day. I was hungry when I started to walk back home this afternoon so I bought and ate two big pretzels and when I reached my apartment an hour later I was already starving again! I'm currently munching on a huge plate of raw veggies and yogurt dip because I couldn't wait until my actual dinner finishes cooking. *stomach rumbles*

And while I'm talking about food... I own about a gazillion tupperware containers and it's still not enough! Okay, so my pantry is ridiculously well-stocked for someone who is a) a pretty frugal cook and b) cooks for one person only most of the time but I just got a whole bunch of new containers and they're already all in use. Maybe I should learn how to limit myself to keeping only one type of flour/dried beans/rice etc. at once but I like having variety!

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags