starwatcher: Western windmill, clouds in background, trees around base. (Default)
 

A while back, [personal profile] princessofgeeks warned her reading list NOT to update iPhones to 26.2, that the changes in appearance and message were very unpleasant.

I appreciated her warning, and have refused the update 2 or 3 times. But I knew it would keep bugging me, so I went looking for a way to avoid the update permanently.

I found this article, which explains how. The guy says that switching to the "18" track will avoid the "26" track permanently. And if you've already updated, and dislike it as much as PrincessofGeeks does -- if I'm reading it right, setting your iPhone on the "18" track will delete the 26.2 update.

There are probably plenty of people who will like the update. But if not, now there's a remedy. I already have an uneasy relationship with my iPhone. I don't need an update that makes me change how I do old stuff, and learn new stuff, so I've rejected it sight unseen.

If any of your peeps have been unhappy about this latest update, feel free to link to this post.

 
starwatcher: Western windmill, clouds in background, trees around base. (Default)
 

I was quite surprised when my journal switched to another layout / color scheme without warning. Then frustrated -- I went to settings and tried to do a reset of my journal... but the "style" page would only show me 12 samples, no matter how I toggled and clicked. I tried one of the styles from that 12 but, no matter how I tried to tweak the colors and module sizes, nothing changed.

Then I realized -- I used the same base-style for my fic-journal; I could get the style-name from there, and rebuild my journal here! And once my brain got working, I got smart. I suspected that there might be a glitch in my normal browser (Firefox), so I accessed my fic-journal with MS Edge, which I don't like, but sometimes it gives me access when Firefox doesn't.

So I went to settings in my fic-journal, discovered that my style is "Basic" by Yvonne. I left the fic-page open in Edge so I could refer to it for color codes, and opened my main journal in Firefox. Went to settings, typed in "Basic" for journal style, clicked on the correct one (3 choices with 'basic' in the name). Clicked "apply", opened my reading page to see if it had changed this time... and everything was back! Layout, color-scheme... it was like nothing ever happened.

I'm scratching my head. I mean, I thought (hoped) DW had my preferences saved if I could access them... but I don't know why my journal switched in the first place. It was like, when I posted in Fandom_checkin, the system said, "Oh, she wants to see this style now!" But I could only see it, not manipulate it. I have my journal set to show me all pages in my style, so I only see the original style if I deliberately click that selection; this accidental 'see original style' has never happened before. Worse, it didn't change back when I clicked the "view in my style" button. Just totally weird.

But I've learned my lesson. I have a folder on my desktop -- "Computer How-To Stuff." I have all kinds of stuff in there -- my format for my MS Word Ribbon Access bar (which I have to recreate when I switch to a new computer), a list of emoji codes, the serial numbers and service tag numbers for both laptops, and other computer tips and tricks. If I find anything computer-related that might be useful, it goes in there.

So now I have a new folder within the folder -- "Journal Setup." I have a saved version of every single setup page -- display, fonts, modules, text, links, and especially colors. The saved colors page only showed the color-codes, which isn't the kind of feedback I need. So I did a "print-screen" of that page -- 4 times to get the whole list in -- put them in photoshop, and made charts that show me the actual colors as well as the codes.

I'm all set; if this ever happens again (I sincerely hope not!), I have all the info I need to restore my preferred setup quickly and easily.

But I find my reaction to recovering MY setup sort of interesting/amusing. The other journal layout wasn't bad, and not difficult to read -- but it was psychologically uncomfortable. As soon as my familiar, fairly plain, yellow-and-green was back on my screen, my whole body relaxed. I actually felt a subliminal tenseness disappear. It's weird how the little things can affect us.

 
starwatcher: Western windmill, clouds in background, trees around base. (Default)
 
So, the computer tech has come and gone (yesterday evening) and replaced the mousepad; we'll see if this one lasts longer.

While he was here, I asked about an idea I had. The thing is, [a] I have a bad habit of resting the edge of my right hand on the edge of the laptop, right next to the mousepad when I'm scrolling, and [b] this pad is much larger than the pad on my previous laptop; it extends about an inch farther to the right of the keyboard, with a 'lip' (non-responsive casing) at the bottom edge that's teensy, barely one-third the width of what I'm used to. Consequently, [c] I often find that my palm-edge is resting -- or at least brushing -- the bottom right edge of the pad without my realizing it.

That's obviously a bad habit -- the mousepad will get competing signals if part of my palm is touching the corner while my finger(s) are scrolling. I'm trying very hard to [a] be aware of where my hand is resting and [b] rest my hand farther away from the pad. But, as well as the pad being much larger than the previous model, the drop-off from casing to pad is also much thinner than earlier models; it's easy to overlook the difference in height/feel that would tell me move your hand! (Especially since the edge of the palm isn't as sensitive as the fingertips.)

So, I had a bright idea, and asked the tech-guy if it was okay to try -- I planned to tape a narrow piece of paper (about 1/2-inch wide {1 cm for those of metric persuasion}) to the bottom edge and right edge of my touchpad, so that area would be 'dead' and wouldn't notice if my hand rested in that bottom-right corner. He said sure, that should work without damaging anything.

So, I spent an hour this morning. Pulled out a piece of typing paper (don't know what 'weight' it is, but it's thicker/stiffer than the average), carefully cut it into strips, laid it on electrical tape (thicker than Scotch (cello) tape, easier to handle then duct tape), and put it all together. It took three attempts to get it as accurate and as neat as I wanted, but it's done, and looks pretty good.

Aaanndd...

It doesn't work! The mousepad can feel/read my finger-movements through two layers of paper + electrical tape!!! How? Why? I thought mousepads and/or screens worked with the electrical impulses of body-moisture. Shouldn't two layers of non-body material insulate from that? I don't even have to press; the pad reads/feels my finger moving over the paper&tape with the lightest pressure I can give it.

*pouts* Also, *sighs*

Well, when I was cleaning up yesterday, I put a paperboard box (thicker than paper, thinner than cardboard) box in the trash. I'll go dig it out and see if that's thick enough to disrupt the signal. But later -- it's lunchtime.

Y'know, I really think it's possible for technology to be too responsive. I want the old days, when things weren't as sensitive as a drop of dew balanced on the edge of a blade of grass. Grr...
 
starwatcher: Western windmill, clouds in background, trees around base. (Default)
 
THIS:   I'm settling in to my new laptop... and I have just learned that I can scroll the screen up/down/sideways (webpage or Word doc) with two fingers on the touchpad. HOW DID I NOT KNOW THIS?!?!? SO much easier than hitting the correct up/down/side arrow. Yep, I just checked on the old laptop; two fingers works on it, too. FIVE YEARS I've been making things harder for myself than I had to!!!

BUT! I'm having to train myself to go the right direction. Way back when I first started using a mouse, my subconscious was convinced that cursor-movement would be the opposite of mouse-movement. IE, if I wanted the cursor to move up, I moved the mouse down; if I wanted the cursor to move right, I moved the mouse left. I have no idea how that idea got so firmly entrenched in my psyche, but it took weeks to break that reflex.

So here I am again, doing the same damn thing. I move two fingers down, I expect the page to go up. I move two fingers left, I expect the page to go right. Hopefully, since I've been through this once, it won't take me so long to break the reflex this time. But still, I go the wrong way about 25% - 30% of the time. Brains are weird.

Also... I keep the spellchecker turned on when typing online or in Word to alert me when my fumble-fingers transpose letters. (It helps for things like Telya instead of Teyla, but does nothing for god instead of dog. <g>) But reading/writing in fandom as I do... there are so many names/terms that I have right-clicked and added to both dictionaries over the years. Think about the Stargate verses, Harry Potter, the Old Guard... even NCIS. LOL, without my help, the dictionary doesn't recognize stargate, or apparate, or habibi, or DiNozzo, or literally dozens of others. Over five years (since the last new computer) I've forgotten about it, and the Harry Potter and Old Guard words have been added piecemeal during that time, so I didn't really notice. Now they're hitting me all at once, and the numbers are astonishing as I right-click-add, right-click-add, right-click-add...


THAT:   My newest fixit -- and it only took me a day to figure it out!

Last year I bought a giant rain gauge so that I could read it from inside the house. It works; I can stand in the living room, about 30 feet away, and see how much rain has fallen. (Granted, given my eyesight -- and need for a new glasses prescription -- I need to use my binoculars, but I don't have to go outside.)

Unfortunately, those pretty yellow numbers fade with enough sun -- and we get approximately 300 days of sun per year. I thought about buying a new one, since it's not very expensive, but it hurts my frugal soul; you just don't throw away things that aren't broken or can't be fixed. So, how could I fix this? Easy! Mark over the faded yellow lines with black Sharpie.

Oops! Not quite. The plastic holder is black, and the tube is transparent; it's hard (darn near impossible) to see the black numbers against the black background. Ah! I have a roll of white contact paper in the house; cut a piece and cover the flat part of the holder. Mm... much better, can see the numbers against the white -- but the holder only goes halfway up the tube, and the top numbers are hard to see against the brushy, weedy background behind the gauge. (Of course, we rarely get anything close to 2.5 inches of rain, let alone more, but it's the principle of the thing.) So a couple of hours later, I brought the tube in again, cut a strip of white contact paper, and put it on the back half of the tube, top to bottom. Yay! All fixed, numbers are visible, and I'm puffed.

Don't I live an exciting life? <g>

Four recs behind the cut. )

 
starwatcher: Western windmill, clouds in background, trees around base. (Default)
 
A while back, I posted about my a talent for "fixing" things -- basically making things work for me when they fit don't the way I need them too.

My sis just emailed about a new fridge -- bigger than her old one, with less shelf space; she's pretty pissed. She wrote a long email (she can't do short emails like I can't do short posts) detailing all of the design deficiencies that make it have less shelf space. One of those is the door shelves which can hold a gallon of milk... but she doesn't use gallons, and "the stuff I normally put on the door--ketchup bottles, salad dressing bottles, etc.--will slide around and fall over in that huge space because I just don't have enough door stuff to pack the door shelf full enough to prevent sliding and tipping."

I immediately saw the solution I'd use, and started an email --
Idea for filling the door shelves to leave less space for your ketchup, etc, to fall over -- empty boxes. Something skinny like a box that laundry additives come in. I have a couple of empty boxes of Borax that I haven't thrown away yet; I can bring them next time I come. But maybe you already have something like that.

But then I thought maybe she doesn't have boxes the right size, and it'll be a couple of months before I see her again. So my brain started churning out more ideas --
Or measure the thickness you'd like, then go to Walmart (take your ruler/measuring tape) and buy a couple of cheapie (sterlite - ugh!) flat food-storage containers of the right height to tuck back behind your bottles. (When I say 'height', if you need to fill a two-inch gap, you'll get a two-inch high container, and set it on its side behind the bottles.)

Or if you get a lot of junk mail -- keep all the long (9 inch) packets, put them in a plastic produce bag or shopping bag to keep them from sliding all over. Within a week or so, you'll probably have enough thickness to fill up the empty space.

Or if you have extra towels -- fold one to the thickness/size you need, put it in a plastic shopping bag so it won't get grody. Cut a piece of cardboard box to put in there with it so it won't slump and hang over your bottles, tape over the outside to keep it all together, and use that.

Wow -- I started with one empty box, and then the other ideas popped into my head. That's what you get when you're short, and used to figuring out ways to make the world work for you. (grin) Hopefully, #2, 3, or 4 will work for you. If you need me to save my Borax boxes, let me know; otherwise I'll eventually throw them away before I see you again.

<g> I'm a little puffed; I hope she can use one of those ideas. (Sis tends to decide, "No, that won't work," and not even try to experiment.) But maybe she'll be motivated to try one of them; it's a real pain in the butt when something you're looking forward to turns out to be such a disappointment.

She's also pissed that it's stainless steel instead of white or cream. BUT -- she's just had her floors redone with wood-look vinyl (after a flood a few months ago) -- and the people have been very accommodating with some small "honey-do" jobs in her house. They're not done yet -- she'll have the bathrooms done with a marble-look; I'm going to write and suggest that they might put the vinyl on the outside of the fridge -- or be able to suggest an alternative covering.


As for me... I'm having my furnace replaced, so the gas is off, so my planned grilled cheese sandwiches for lunch aren't happening. Poot. I guess it'll be canned beef stew, that I can put in the microwave. Well, at least I have a microwave. Cheese sandwiches tomorrow.

 
starwatcher: Western windmill, clouds in background, trees around base. (Default)
 


In semi-desert southeast New Mexico, we sometimes have enough rain for frogs/toads to come out and breed -- but the water often doesn’t last long enough for the tadpoles to develop.*** (I think the adults are frogs, but I’m not sure.) When I first discovered tadpoles on my land I started helping, first by using a hose to maintain a large puddle beside the barn, then deepening the puddle and making a wall around it, and finally by making a permanent (although very small) pond. This is the story of the journey from puddle to pond. I’ve put in dates, as best I can recreate them, but it was always (and still is) a work in progress. Like, one year the puddle was sufficient, then another year I deepened it a little, then another year built walls to deepen it more, later added stepping-stones. Then I decided a different location would be better, and went through the gradual improvements again -- first making the natural puddle deeper, then walls, then deeper with better walls, and finally a permanent, actual pond. The development was complicated by the fact that we don’t get enough rain for tadpoles every year; there may be two to four years between tadpole broods, and I generally made the ‘improvements’ during the wet years, just slapping things together as part of the normal upkeep around the place and not posting about it. So my memory is foggy -- the changes just didn’t stand out -- and many of the dates may well be inaccurate by two or three years on either side. But it gives you an idea...

***Ahem... I’ve just discovered that that assumption may be wrong. After all our rain, my neighbor had a big puddle between his house and livestock pasture. He told me it had tadpoles in it, and I went out a couple of evenings to collect them and transfer them to my pond. The last time (a week ago) I still didn’t get them all, but there was enough water to hold them for two or three more days. I went out two evenings later and there wasn’t one single tadpole in the puddle... but I did see a couple of teeny tiny froglets or toadlets hopping around the edges. Meanwhile, all the taddies in my pond are still taddies -- though I have seen one or two toadlets/froglets. So maybe they develop faster when the water is diminishing? And maybe I’ve actually hindered Mother Nature by making a pond? <sigh> Oh, well, they’ll change eventually, and I like my pond; I’m not going to fill it in.***

Back to our story --

I’ve mentioned my ‘pond’ so many times over the years, always promising a post about it ‘one of these days’. Well, today’s the day. I’ve been working on this for about three weeks -- describing the alt-text for all the pictures required time and a lot of trying to formulate the right words to explain each picture, and I’m revising The Old Guard transcript in another document, and get sucked in by that. Today’s just the day you get to see the finished product.

Cut to the end first -- it’s 8 feet long on 3 sides, about 10 feet on the fourth, and 15 inches (38 cm) deep when it’s full to the top. It doesn’t have fish or plants; fish would eat tadpoles when they happen. I’ve considered planting a water-lily, but I know they can take over unless managed; maybe someday I’ll decide I’m willing to undertake the bother.

But getting to that had a lot of interim steps, and I’ve had to go back in LJ to try to reconstruct them all. I posted about some of the interim steps at the time, but often I just did something while planning to post about it, but never did. As best I can figure, it all began the summer of 2003, and... well, it’s not finished; I’m still making improvements, but it got to a permanent state in the summer of 2018.

Cut for much explanation and LOTS of pictures. )


 
starwatcher: Western windmill, clouds in background, trees around base. (Default)
 

After I made my post about the oriole, I wondered if there was a way to keep him or them around. Some research and an online question pointed me to an oriole feeder -- like a hummingbird feeder, but with holes big enough for their beaks to fit into. So I ordered it and another thingy, with a cup in the middle for grape jelly and two spikes for impaling half an orange, both of which orioles (and other birds) apparently like. But the order won't be delivered 'til Friday or Saturday. How to keep them around until then?

Put on my thinking cap. They can't get to the nectar in the hummingbird feeder, but how about a... bowl or a cup? But that would tip over unless... I anchored it with mounting tape! (Thick strips that are sticky on both sides.)

Dad made my honeysuckle planters very large with a trellis on two sides. I measured the distance from corner to corner, then went to my 'leftover wood' in the barn and found a 2x6 board the right length. I placed it on the trellis slats and tied it down with string so the wind couldn't blow it over. I have a number of sturdy, yellow plastic cups from a local BBQ place. I don't eat there, but Nancy does, and she 'donated' a dozen or so to me a while back. She asked first -- they were taking up space -- and I said yes. Didn't know what I'd do with them, but when you're into 'fixing things', you never know what will be useful.

Turns out, one of the smaller cups (there are two sizes), cut down so it's only 2 inches (5 cm) deep, and affixed to the 2x6 with mounting tape, makes a perfect nectar-holder. (And there's room for a 2nd cup when I get to town to buy jelly.) I put everything together Monday evening, filled the cup half full of nectar. Got up Tuesday morning and looked out the window just in time to see Mr. Oriole finish a snack. He lifted his head, I saw his beak glistening with wetness, and he flew away; no time to grab the camera. But he/they must have visited several times, by Tuesday evening, the nectar was 80% gone. So I added more nectar for Wednesday (today).

Last night, we had a wicked storm -- heavy downpour with hail. It actually woke me up -- and I've been known to sleep through a fire alarm. (In college, and we had so many fake bomb scares in the middle of the night that I started sleeping through them; my roomie had to wake me.) This morning there was 1.1 inches in the rain gauge -- I thought it would be 3 inches, at least -- and the (small) pea-sized hail was lying in drifts like snow. As I suspected, the nectar-cup was full of pink-tinged water; I suppose the falling hail bounced the nectar right out. So I unstuck it from the board, brought it in to clean it, put on another piece of mounting tape, stuck it back on the board, and filled it half full with nectar.

Then I looked around and... whoa! The area in front of my porch -- about 50 feet out to some bushes I have planted -- looks bare! I leave the bottle of nectar on the little side table I have next to the front door (very handy for holding packages as I unlock the door) and went to examine the situation.

We had good growth last spring, but then a long, very hot summer with no rain, so of course everything dried up and turned brown. But those brown stems-and-leaves were still sticking up, creating a fuzzy layer over the dirt and softening the outlines. No more. I guess the hail broke all the dead stuff and pounded it into bits; now there's an expanse of bare wet dirt leading to the bushes, that looks so much bigger. It's kind of weird; I almost don't recognize the area.

As I'm walking back to the house, I see movement on the porch -- a bird, but I'm too far away to tell if it's the oriole. I s-l-o-w-l-y ease forward -- don't want to scare it -- until I can see clearly. Yes, it's Mr. Oriole -- and he's on my side-table, hopping around the nectar bottle, trying to figure out a way to get a drink. After quite a long time -- at least a full minute or a little more -- he gave that up as a bad job and flew to the hummingbird feeder. That still didn't work, so he didn't stay long; he finally flew to the nectar-cup, hopped onto the edge (good thing I used the mounting tape; I thought they'd stand on the board), and took a drink. Six sips (yes, I counted), then he flew away.

And as I said -- I didn't have my camera! ARGH!!!

Well, there'll be other chances -- I hope. I did clean my front door windows, so I won't have to focus through the spots.

In other news, there's a big brown duck swimming in my pond. I don't know if it's a wild animal, blown here during the storm, or belongs to the neighbor. They used to have one white and one brown duck, but I haven't seen the brown one in some time, and this one seems bigger... Logically, I'd expect that if one duck got out from the neighbor's pen, the other would follow, but animals don't need to follow human logic. <shrug> It'll stay or go without my input, but it's fun to see it.

ETA: An hour later, the duck is still there, ducking its head underwater to look for food. Poor thing -- nothing there except for some underwater bugs; no fish, no plants. I'll toss out some milo seed later; I don't have any cracked corn. I suppose I could get a bag when I go to town tomorrow... but the duck will have to compete with the chickens to get any.

 

Mask-fix

Jan. 23rd, 2021 07:11 pm
starwatcher: Western windmill, clouds in background, trees around base. (Default)
.

One of these days I'm planning to talk about my talent for "fixing" things, with multiple subsequent posts showcasing the various workarounds I've made. But, in the interest of getting to the point, I'll just drop this here, now.

When wearing a mask, the top edges press into the bottom fold of my eyelids. It's vastly uncomfortable, and it happens with all the masks I've bought except one type. I have three of that, but it's kind of ugly, and the fabric is rough, chaps my lips if I wear it too long. So I needed a fix for the other masks. (I have 16 or 18, looking for the 'perfect' one. If I find it, I'll buy a couple of dozen.)

I started to turn the top edge over -- forming a shallow "scoop" shape -- and sewing that into place. But [a] I'm not dexterous at hand-sewing, [b] it requires really tiny stitches, and [c] it takes so long to finish a mask. So far, I have one finished, and another half-finished... and I prefer to take off a mask when I get to the car, then put on a fresh one when I go into another place, so I need three per trip.

But then I realized an easier fix:   take the side edge of the mask (between the top and bottom ear-elastics) and make a trifold, like a collapsed Z. Sew that together; the stitches can be bigger and less finicky, and there are fewer needed.

Tip:   I use waxed dental floss for the sewing. One strand is stronger than sewing thread even when that's doubled, and it doesn't snarl as easily.

Why did it take me eight months to figure this out?

Anyway, if mask-in-the-eye is a problem for you, this might help. You could test it with a safety-pin first, to see if it works before you spend your time sewing.

Even with the vaccine, it looks like we'll be masking till August or September, and every little bit of comfort helps.


.

Tags

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags